Device profile · Specifications & compatibility

SwitchBot Contact Sensor

SwitchBot · Door & Window Sensors · Model W1201500

We may earn a commission from qualifying purchases through these links.

Prices and stock change often on Amazon, so we do not show them here. The button opens the current listing.

  • SwitchBot Contact Sensor lists Home Assistant; Battery Life: 3 years; Bluetooth.
  • Check the exact integration and firmware.
  • A catalog integration label does not establish local control, official support or available entities.

Browse more from SwitchBot or explore all door & window sensors in our catalog.

Recorded year
2021
Recorded warranty
1 year
Weight
43g

The details that shape your choice

SwitchBot Contact Sensor Quick Features

Start with these specifications, then check the full details and conditions below.

All specifications →
Tamper Alerts
No
Thread
No
Door Window Alerts
SwitchBot Hub required
Motion Alerts
SwitchBot Hub required
Bluetooth
Yes
Automations
SwitchBot Hub required

Make the differences clear

Which device fits your setup?

Choose another model to compare features, connections and requirements side by side.

From specification to decision

SwitchBot Contact Sensor: Capabilities And Limitations

Based on listed specifications, not hands-on testing. Manufacturer sources are linked where checked.

What it offers

  • A Home Assistant integration is listed, providing an integration path to verify for the exact model. Check the exact integration and firmware. A catalog integration label does not establish local control, official support or available entities.

    View Home Assistant details →

About our sources and comparison method →

Questions About SwitchBot Contact Sensor

Does SwitchBot Contact Sensor report tamper alerts?

No, according to the listed specifications. Check the event that triggers the alert and how the notification reaches the controller.

View Tamper Alerts specifications →

Does SwitchBot Contact Sensor support Thread connectivity?

No, according to the listed specifications. Thread connectivity alone does not establish Matter support or a border-router role. Check those requirements separately.

View Thread specifications →

Does SwitchBot Contact Sensor support Matter?

Matter is listed as “SwitchBot Hub required”. The stated condition applies to this feature. Verify the exact device type, firmware and features exposed in your chosen platform. Matter support is not proof of feature parity.

View Matter specifications →

Does SwitchBot Contact Sensor work with Home Assistant?

Yes, according to the listed specifications. Check the exact integration and firmware. A catalog integration label does not establish local control, official support or available entities.

View Home Assistant specifications →

Does SwitchBot Contact Sensor work with Apple Home?

Apple Home is listed as “SwitchBot Hub required”. The stated condition applies to this feature. Check the model, firmware, exposed controls and any additional hardware requirements. The Hub 2 and Hub 3 bridge the Contact Sensor to Matter, which is how it shows up in the Apple Home app.

View Apple Home specifications →

Explore the full picture

SwitchBot Contact Sensor Specifications

Recorded catalog values. Expand notes for qualifications; unknown values are not treated as missing features.

2 of 30 fields matched to manufacturer documentation. Source checks apply only to the named model and stated scope. Other fields remain catalog data. How we verify specifications →

30 of 30 specifications · 6 sections

Alerts5 fields
Alerts specifications
Door Window AlertsSwitchBot Hub required
Motion AlertsSwitchBot Hub required
Temperature AlertsNo
Tamper AlertsNo
Low Battery AlertsNot recorded
Connectivity7 fields
Connectivity specifications
2.4 GHz Wi-FiNo
5 GHz Wi-FiNo
BluetoothYes
Z WaveNo
ZigbeeNo
ThreadNo
OtherNo
Features5 fields
Features specifications
Minimum Detection DistanceNot recorded
SensitivityNo
AutomationsSwitchBot Hub required
History RecordsYes
OtaNot recorded
Integrations6 fields
Integrations specifications
Google HomeSwitchBot Hub required
AlexaSwitchBot Hub required
Apple HomeSwitchBot Hub required
Details & conditions

The Hub 2 and Hub 3 bridge the Contact Sensor to Matter, which is how it shows up in the Apple Home app.

SmartThingsSwitchBot Hub required
Home AssistantYes
MatterSwitchBot Hub required
Power2 fields
Power specifications
Battery Type2x AAA
Battery Life3 years
Sensors5 fields
Sensors specifications
Door WindowYes
Manufacturer source

The sensor detects door or window opening.

SwitchBot Contact Sensor manufacturer product page →
Source section
Product description
Model
SwitchBot Contact Sensor
Region
Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
Firmware
Not specified by this source
Checked

Remote alerts and ecosystem automations require a compatible SwitchBot hub.

Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.

LightYes
Manufacturer source

A built-in light sensor can guide automations.

SwitchBot Contact Sensor manufacturer product page →
Source section
Product description
Model
SwitchBot Contact Sensor
Region
Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
Firmware
Not specified by this source
Checked

Remote alerts and ecosystem automations require a compatible SwitchBot hub.

Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.

MotionYes
OccupancyNo
TemperatureNo

How this device compares

SwitchBot Contact Sensor vs Other Similar Models

Statistical context from 28 door & window sensors in this catalog. These figures describe our recorded data, not independent measurements.

Recorded feature coverage

Motion: 2 of 28 known answers are Yes

Sensors: 7% among explicit Yes/No answers; 0 of 28 devices have no resolved answer. Check the specifications for this model’s conditions.

Recorded feature coverage

Light: 3 of 28 known answers are Yes

Sensors: 11% among explicit Yes/No answers; 0 of 28 devices have no resolved answer. Check the specifications for this model’s conditions.

Recorded feature coverage

Home Assistant: 25 of 26 known answers are Yes

Integrations: 96% among explicit Yes/No answers; 2 of 28 devices have no resolved answer. Check the specifications for this model’s conditions.

Brand representation in this directory

1 of 28 models are from SwitchBot

Counts door & window sensors listed here, not sales or market share. Catalog inclusion does not imply a recommendation.

What Should You Verify Before Buying SwitchBot Contact Sensor?

These checks describe door & window sensors requirements. Confirm each one against the exact model’s current manufacturer documentation and your installation.

  1. Measure the gap and mounting space on the frame.
  2. Check battery type and low-battery reporting.
  3. Verify which hub or alarm system accepts the sensor.
  4. Test the automation behavior for open, closed and offline states.

Side-by-side specification comparison

Compare SwitchBot Contact Sensor vs Similar Door & Window Sensors

See how SwitchBot Contact Sensor stacks up against other door & window sensors in this catalog. Compare specifications, compatibility and pricing.

Catalog specifications have not all been independently checked against manufacturer sources. Read our data and evidence methodology.