The Smart Device Compare comparison

Meross EM16P vs Shelly Pro EM-50

Understand the differences. Decide what matters to your home.

Build another comparison →

Before you compare every specification

Key differences between Meross EM16P and Shelly Pro EM-50

A summary of selected recorded differences between these energy monitors. Check the full specification table below for details and conditions.

Feature differences among your selected devices
  • Ethernet (connectivity): Meross EM16P — No; Shelly Pro EM-50 — Yes.
  • Time Of Use Rates (data monitoring): Meross EM16P — No; Shelly Pro EM-50 — Yes (Cost periods and tariff distribution in the Shelly Smart Control app).
  • Relay Output (features): Meross EM16P — No; Shelly Pro EM-50 — Yes (Integrated switch with potential-free contacts, 2 A at 240 V).
  • Din Rail Mount (installation): Meross EM16P — No; Shelly Pro EM-50 — Yes (One DIN module wide).
Specifications to check side by side
  • Other (connectivity): Meross EM16P — No; Shelly Pro EM-50 — Modbus.
  • Data History (data monitoring): Meross EM16P — 5 years (Charts by minute, hour, day, month and year); Shelly Pro EM-50 — 60 days (At least 60 days of 1-minute data stored on the device).
  • Power Supply (installation): Meross EM16P — Mains (breaker panel); Shelly Pro EM-50 — Mains (100-260 V).
  • Accuracy (metering): Meross EM16P — ±2%; Shelly Pro EM-50 — ±1% (Accuracy Class B for active energy, ±1% from 5 A to 50 A).
Information still to confirm
  • 4 of 39 comparison fields lack a resolved value for at least one selected device. Missing information is not evidence that a feature is absent.
  • Check the full table and manufacturer documentation before ruling out a device.

These observations are derived from recorded catalog data and have not all been independently verified. Confirm details with the manufacturer before purchasing.

Compare capabilities, compatibility and setup requirements.

What the catalog tells us

Understand the tradeoffs.

These counts describe the available data, not a quality score. More features do not automatically make a better device.

16differences with recorded values for every device
4rows with missing or unspecified information

Your priorities, side by side

Focus on what changes.

Mark the specifications you care about. Open manufacturer sources for verification scope; fields without citations remain catalog data. Expand notes for other qualifications.

Showing 39 of 39 rows. “Not recorded” does not mean “No”.

Connectivity

Meross EM16P
Yes
Shelly Pro EM-50
Yes
Meross EM16P
No
Shelly Pro EM-50
No
Meross EM16P
Not recorded
Shelly Pro EM-50
Yes
Catalog note

Bluetooth 4.2, also works as a Bluetooth gateway

Meross EM16P
No
Shelly Pro EM-50
Yes
Meross EM16P
No
Shelly Pro EM-50
Modbus
Meross EM16P
No
Shelly Pro EM-50
No
Meross EM16P
No
Shelly Pro EM-50
No
Meross EM16P
No
Shelly Pro EM-50
No

Data Monitoring

Meross EM16P
Yes
Manufacturer source

Historical data can be exported.

Meross EM16P manufacturer product page →
Source section
Product description
Model
Meross EM16P
Region
Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
Firmware
Not specified by this source
Checked

Five years describes daily cloud history, not five years of minute-level local records.

Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.

Catalog note

Exportable hourly reports

Shelly Pro EM-50
Yes
Catalog note

CSV export of the consumption chart

Meross EM16P
5 years
Manufacturer source

Daily historical records can be retained for up to five years.

Meross EM16P manufacturer product page →
Source section
Product description
Model
Meross EM16P
Region
Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
Firmware
Not specified by this source
Checked

Five years describes daily cloud history, not five years of minute-level local records.

Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.

Catalog note

Charts by minute, hour, day, month and year

Shelly Pro EM-50
60 days
Catalog note

At least 60 days of 1-minute data stored on the device

Meross EM16P
Yes
Shelly Pro EM-50
Yes
Meross EM16P
Not recorded
Shelly Pro EM-50
Not recorded
Meross EM16P
No
Shelly Pro EM-50
Yes
Catalog note

Cost periods and tariff distribution in the Shelly Smart Control app

Meross EM16P
Yes
Catalog note

Custom alerts for usage spikes and threshold breaches

Shelly Pro EM-50
Yes

Features

Meross EM16P
Yes
Shelly Pro EM-50
Yes
Meross EM16P
Yes
Catalog note

Solar surplus automations through Home Assistant

Shelly Pro EM-50
Yes
Catalog note

Configurable load control to divert surplus PV production

Meross EM16P
No
Shelly Pro EM-50
Yes
Catalog note

Integrated switch with potential-free contacts, 2 A at 240 V

Installation

Meross EM16P
Yes
Shelly Pro EM-50
Yes
Meross EM16P
No
Shelly Pro EM-50
Yes
Catalog note

One DIN module wide

Meross EM16P
Mains (breaker panel)
Shelly Pro EM-50
Mains (100-260 V)
Meross EM16P
No
Shelly Pro EM-50
No

Integrations

Meross EM16P
No
Catalog note

Alexa has no energy meter device type and this meter has no relay to expose as a switch, so a skill has nothing to publish

Shelly Pro EM-50
Yes
Meross EM16P
No
Shelly Pro EM-50
No
Meross EM16P
No
Shelly Pro EM-50
Yes
Meross EM16P
Yes
Manufacturer source

Home Assistant integration is documented.

Meross EM16P manufacturer product page →
Source section
Product description
Model
Meross EM16P
Region
Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
Firmware
Not specified by this source
Checked

Five years describes daily cloud history, not five years of minute-level local records.

Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.

Catalog note

Official integration, no firmware flashing

Shelly Pro EM-50
Yes
Meross EM16P
No
Shelly Pro EM-50
No
Meross EM16P
No
Shelly Pro EM-50
Yes
Catalog note

Via the official Shelly Cloud integration

Local Control

Meross EM16P
Yes
Catalog note

Open API, energy data stays on the local network

Shelly Pro EM-50
Yes
Catalog note

RPC over HTTPS and WebSocket, UDP, webhooks, scripting and Modbus TCP

Meross EM16P
Yes
Shelly Pro EM-50
Yes
Meross EM16P
Not recorded
Shelly Pro EM-50
Yes

Metering

Meross EM16P
±2%
Manufacturer source

The stated measurement error is within two percent.

Meross EM16P manufacturer product page →
Source section
Product description
Model
Meross EM16P
Region
Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
Firmware
Not specified by this source
Checked

Five years describes daily cloud history, not five years of minute-level local records.

Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.

Shelly Pro EM-50
±1%
Catalog note

Accuracy Class B for active energy, ±1% from 5 A to 50 A

Meross EM16P
Yes
Shelly Pro EM-50
Yes
Catalog note

4 quadrant measurement with a returned energy counter

Meross EM16P
60 A
Shelly Pro EM-50
Not applicable / unspecified
Meross EM16P
18
Catalog note

2 x 200 A mains and 16 x 60 A branch sensors

Shelly Pro EM-50
2
Catalog note

2 x 50 A current transformers

Meross EM16P
200 A
Shelly Pro EM-50
50 A
Meross EM16P
18
Manufacturer source

Up to 18 circuits can be monitored.

Meross EM16P manufacturer product page →
Source section
Product description
Model
Meross EM16P
Region
Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
Firmware
Not specified by this source
Checked

Five years describes daily cloud history, not five years of minute-level local records.

Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.

Shelly Pro EM-50
2
Meross EM16P
Yes
Catalog note

Power, voltage, current and power factor

Shelly Pro EM-50
Yes
Catalog note

Active and apparent power, power factor, frequency and voltage

Meross EM16P
Yes
Shelly Pro EM-50
No
Catalog note

Single-phase device with two current channels

Meross EM16P
Yes
Catalog note

3-phase 4-wire Wye with earthed neutral, no Delta

Shelly Pro EM-50
No
Specifications for Meross EM16P versus Shelly Pro EM-50
SpecificationMeross EM16PShelly Pro EM-50
Connectivity
YesYes
NoNo
Not recordedYes
Catalog note

Bluetooth 4.2, also works as a Bluetooth gateway

NoYes
NoModbus
NoNo
NoNo
NoNo
Data Monitoring
Yes
Manufacturer source

Historical data can be exported.

Meross EM16P manufacturer product page →
Source section
Product description
Model
Meross EM16P
Region
Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
Firmware
Not specified by this source
Checked

Five years describes daily cloud history, not five years of minute-level local records.

Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.

Catalog note

Exportable hourly reports

Yes
Catalog note

CSV export of the consumption chart

5 years
Manufacturer source

Daily historical records can be retained for up to five years.

Meross EM16P manufacturer product page →
Source section
Product description
Model
Meross EM16P
Region
Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
Firmware
Not specified by this source
Checked

Five years describes daily cloud history, not five years of minute-level local records.

Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.

Catalog note

Charts by minute, hour, day, month and year

60 days
Catalog note

At least 60 days of 1-minute data stored on the device

YesYes
Not recordedNot recorded
NoYes
Catalog note

Cost periods and tariff distribution in the Shelly Smart Control app

Yes
Catalog note

Custom alerts for usage spikes and threshold breaches

Yes
Features
YesYes
Yes
Catalog note

Solar surplus automations through Home Assistant

Yes
Catalog note

Configurable load control to divert surplus PV production

NoYes
Catalog note

Integrated switch with potential-free contacts, 2 A at 240 V

Installation
YesYes
NoYes
Catalog note

One DIN module wide

Mains (breaker panel)Mains (100-260 V)
NoNo
Integrations
No
Catalog note

Alexa has no energy meter device type and this meter has no relay to expose as a switch, so a skill has nothing to publish

Yes
NoNo
NoYes
Yes
Manufacturer source

Home Assistant integration is documented.

Meross EM16P manufacturer product page →
Source section
Product description
Model
Meross EM16P
Region
Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
Firmware
Not specified by this source
Checked

Five years describes daily cloud history, not five years of minute-level local records.

Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.

Catalog note

Official integration, no firmware flashing

Yes
NoNo
NoYes
Catalog note

Via the official Shelly Cloud integration

Local Control
Yes
Catalog note

Open API, energy data stays on the local network

Yes
Catalog note

RPC over HTTPS and WebSocket, UDP, webhooks, scripting and Modbus TCP

YesYes
Not recordedYes
Metering
±2%
Manufacturer source

The stated measurement error is within two percent.

Meross EM16P manufacturer product page →
Source section
Product description
Model
Meross EM16P
Region
Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
Firmware
Not specified by this source
Checked

Five years describes daily cloud history, not five years of minute-level local records.

Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.

±1%
Catalog note

Accuracy Class B for active energy, ±1% from 5 A to 50 A

YesYes
Catalog note

4 quadrant measurement with a returned energy counter

60 ANot applicable / unspecified
18
Catalog note

2 x 200 A mains and 16 x 60 A branch sensors

2
Catalog note

2 x 50 A current transformers

200 A50 A
18
Manufacturer source

Up to 18 circuits can be monitored.

Meross EM16P manufacturer product page →
Source section
Product description
Model
Meross EM16P
Region
Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
Firmware
Not specified by this source
Checked

Five years describes daily cloud history, not five years of minute-level local records.

Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.

2
Yes
Catalog note

Power, voltage, current and power factor

Yes
Catalog note

Active and apparent power, power factor, frequency and voltage

YesNo
Catalog note

Single-phase device with two current channels

Yes
Catalog note

3-phase 4-wire Wye with earthed neutral, no Delta

No

Know what’s behind the comparison.

The table matches specifications by section and field. It preserves notes, separates missing data from explicit “No” values, and keeps qualifications attached to their values. No overall winner is assigned from feature counts.

Read our comparison methodology