
The Smart Device Compare comparison
Meross EM16P vs Sonoff MINI PM Matter Over WiFi Power Meter (Non-Switch)
Understand the differences. Decide what matters to your home.
Build another comparison →Before you compare every specification
Key differences between Meross EM16P and Sonoff MINI PM Matter Over WiFi Power Meter (Non-Switch)
A summary of selected recorded differences between these energy monitors. Check the full specification table below for details and conditions.
- Time Of Use Rates (data monitoring): Meross EM16P — No; Sonoff MINI PM Matter Over WiFi Power Meter (Non-Switch) — Yes (Fixed or time-of-use pricing, with consumption shown per rate band).
- Load Management (features): Meross EM16P — Yes (Solar surplus automations through Home Assistant); Sonoff MINI PM Matter Over WiFi Power Meter (Non-Switch) — No (With no relay it can raise a threshold alert but cannot shed the load itself).
- Alexa (integrations): Meross EM16P — No (Alexa has no energy meter device type and this meter has no relay to expose as a switch, so a skill has nothing to publish); Sonoff MINI PM Matter Over WiFi Power Meter (Non-Switch) — Yes (Reached by adding the meter to eWeLink and linking the account, the path SONOFF documents for this model).
- Google Home (integrations): Meross EM16P — No; Sonoff MINI PM Matter Over WiFi Power Meter (Non-Switch) — Yes (Reached by adding the meter to eWeLink and linking the account, the path SONOFF documents for this model).
- Data History (data monitoring): Meross EM16P — 5 years (Charts by minute, hour, day, month and year); Sonoff MINI PM Matter Over WiFi Power Meter (Non-Switch) — 1 year (Up to one year of energy data, and going offline does not interrupt the recording).
- Power Supply (installation): Meross EM16P — Mains (breaker panel); Sonoff MINI PM Matter Over WiFi Power Meter (Non-Switch) — Mains (100-240 V).
- Apple Home (integrations): Meross EM16P — No; Sonoff MINI PM Matter Over WiFi Power Meter (Non-Switch) — Upcoming platform support (The meter is a Matter over Wi-Fi device, but SONOFF's own platform table marks Apple Home as not yet able to add it: the Home app still does not accept the Matter energy meter device type. Nothing on SONOFF's side is missing, so the meter gets in once Apple supports that type.).
- Monitored Circuits (metering): Meross EM16P — 18; Sonoff MINI PM Matter Over WiFi Power Meter (Non-Switch) — 1 (One circuit, the load wired through its L and L Out terminals).
- 7 of 39 comparison fields lack a resolved value for at least one selected device. Missing information is not evidence that a feature is absent.
- Check the full table and manufacturer documentation before ruling out a device.
These observations are derived from recorded catalog data and have not all been independently verified. Confirm details with the manufacturer before purchasing.
Compare capabilities, compatibility and setup requirements.


Option 2 · Sonoff
Sonoff MINI PM Matter Over WiFi Power Meter (Non-Switch)
Last updated October 2026
View full device profileWhat the catalog tells us
Understand the tradeoffs.
These counts describe the available data, not a quality score. More features do not automatically make a better device.
Consider your setup
Apple Home
- Meross EM16PNo
- Sonoff MINI PM Matter Over WiFi Power Meter (Non-Switch)Upcoming platform support
Confirm which features appear in Apple Home and whether extra hardware or a subscription is needed for your intended use.
Inspect the specificationsConsider your setup
Matter
- Meross EM16PNo
- Sonoff MINI PM Matter Over WiFi Power Meter (Non-Switch)Yes
Confirm the exact device type and the features exposed in your chosen platform. Protocol support does not establish feature parity across apps.
Inspect the specificationsYour priorities, side by side
Focus on what changes.
Mark the specifications you care about. Open manufacturer sources for verification scope; fields without citations remain catalog data. Expand notes for other qualifications.
Showing 39 of 39 rows. “Not recorded” does not mean “No”.
Connectivity
- Meross EM16P
- Yes
- Sonoff MINI PM Matter Over WiFi Power Meter (Non-Switch)
- Yes
Catalog note
IEEE 802.11 b/g/n on 2.4 GHz, from an ESP32-C6
- Meross EM16P
- No
- Sonoff MINI PM Matter Over WiFi Power Meter (Non-Switch)
- No
- Meross EM16P
- Not recorded
- Sonoff MINI PM Matter Over WiFi Power Meter (Non-Switch)
- Not recorded
Catalog note
The spec sheet lists Wi-Fi only, while the FCC grant authorises a second 2402-2480 MHz transmitter, so the radio is there but SONOFF never documents it as a feature
- Meross EM16P
- No
- Sonoff MINI PM Matter Over WiFi Power Meter (Non-Switch)
- No
- Meross EM16P
- No
- Sonoff MINI PM Matter Over WiFi Power Meter (Non-Switch)
- No
- Meross EM16P
- No
- Sonoff MINI PM Matter Over WiFi Power Meter (Non-Switch)
- No
- Meross EM16P
- No
- Sonoff MINI PM Matter Over WiFi Power Meter (Non-Switch)
- No
- Meross EM16P
- No
- Sonoff MINI PM Matter Over WiFi Power Meter (Non-Switch)
- No
Catalog note
The Zigbee version of this meter is a separate model, the MINI-ZB1GP
Data Monitoring
- Meross EM16P
- Yes
Manufacturer source
Historical data can be exported.
Meross EM16P manufacturer product page →- Source section
- Product description
- Model
- Meross EM16P
- Region
- Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
- Firmware
- Not specified by this source
- Checked
Five years describes daily cloud history, not five years of minute-level local records.
Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.
Catalog note
Exportable hourly reports
- Sonoff MINI PM Matter Over WiFi Power Meter (Non-Switch)
- Yes
Catalog note
Energy data and electricity bills export to a spreadsheet, from the app and from the local console
- Meross EM16P
- 5 years
Manufacturer source
Daily historical records can be retained for up to five years.
Meross EM16P manufacturer product page →- Source section
- Product description
- Model
- Meross EM16P
- Region
- Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
- Firmware
- Not specified by this source
- Checked
Five years describes daily cloud history, not five years of minute-level local records.
Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.
Catalog note
Charts by minute, hour, day, month and year
- Sonoff MINI PM Matter Over WiFi Power Meter (Non-Switch)
- 1 year
Catalog note
Up to one year of energy data, and going offline does not interrupt the recording
- Meross EM16P
- Yes
- Sonoff MINI PM Matter Over WiFi Power Meter (Non-Switch)
- Yes
Catalog note
Custom currency and electricity rate, with the bill broken down in charts
- Meross EM16P
- Not recorded
- Sonoff MINI PM Matter Over WiFi Power Meter (Non-Switch)
- Not recorded
- Meross EM16P
- No
- Sonoff MINI PM Matter Over WiFi Power Meter (Non-Switch)
- Yes
Catalog note
Fixed or time-of-use pricing, with consumption shown per rate band
- Meross EM16P
- Yes
Catalog note
Custom alerts for usage spikes and threshold breaches
- Sonoff MINI PM Matter Over WiFi Power Meter (Non-Switch)
- Yes
Catalog note
Overcurrent, overpower, overvoltage and undervoltage thresholds, plus a run completion alert and a maintenance reminder based on accumulated runtime
Features
- Meross EM16P
- Yes
- Sonoff MINI PM Matter Over WiFi Power Meter (Non-Switch)
- Yes
Catalog note
Quick Scenes in eWeLink, and its readings drive automations in Home Assistant
- Meross EM16P
- Yes
Catalog note
Solar surplus automations through Home Assistant
- Sonoff MINI PM Matter Over WiFi Power Meter (Non-Switch)
- No
Catalog note
With no relay it can raise a threshold alert but cannot shed the load itself
- Meross EM16P
- No
- Sonoff MINI PM Matter Over WiFi Power Meter (Non-Switch)
- No
Catalog note
SONOFF states this is a non-switch product that cannot control the load it measures
Installation
- Meross EM16P
- Yes
- Sonoff MINI PM Matter Over WiFi Power Meter (Non-Switch)
- Yes
Catalog note
Wires into live and neutral behind a socket or inside a junction box, and SONOFF recommends a wall box at least 60 mm deep
- Meross EM16P
- No
- Sonoff MINI PM Matter Over WiFi Power Meter (Non-Switch)
- No
Catalog note
Indoor flush mounting only, with no rail clip
- Meross EM16P
- Mains (breaker panel)
- Sonoff MINI PM Matter Over WiFi Power Meter (Non-Switch)
- Mains (100-240 V)
- Meross EM16P
- No
- Sonoff MINI PM Matter Over WiFi Power Meter (Non-Switch)
- No
Integrations
- Meross EM16P
- No
Catalog note
Alexa has no energy meter device type and this meter has no relay to expose as a switch, so a skill has nothing to publish
- Sonoff MINI PM Matter Over WiFi Power Meter (Non-Switch)
- Yes
Catalog note
Reached by adding the meter to eWeLink and linking the account, the path SONOFF documents for this model
- Meross EM16P
- No
- Sonoff MINI PM Matter Over WiFi Power Meter (Non-Switch)
- Upcoming platform support
Catalog note
The meter is a Matter over Wi-Fi device, but SONOFF's own platform table marks Apple Home as not yet able to add it: the Home app still does not accept the Matter energy meter device type. Nothing on SONOFF's side is missing, so the meter gets in once Apple supports that type.
- Meross EM16P
- No
- Sonoff MINI PM Matter Over WiFi Power Meter (Non-Switch)
- Yes
Catalog note
Reached by adding the meter to eWeLink and linking the account, the path SONOFF documents for this model
- Meross EM16P
- Yes
Manufacturer source
Home Assistant integration is documented.
Meross EM16P manufacturer product page →- Source section
- Product description
- Model
- Meross EM16P
- Region
- Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
- Firmware
- Not specified by this source
- Checked
Five years describes daily cloud history, not five years of minute-level local records.
Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.
Catalog note
Official integration, no firmware flashing
- Sonoff MINI PM Matter Over WiFi Power Meter (Non-Switch)
- Yes
Catalog note
SONOFF's platform table gives Home Assistant two routes, Matter and MQTT discovery, and both carry the voltage, current, power and energy readings
- Meross EM16P
- No
- Sonoff MINI PM Matter Over WiFi Power Meter (Non-Switch)
- Yes
Catalog note
Matter over Wi-Fi: the device carries a Matter QR code and is commissioned by scanning it from a Matter app | Home Assistant is the one Matter controller that accepts it today, because the energy meter device type is not yet handled by the other ecosystems
- Meross EM16P
- No
- Sonoff MINI PM Matter Over WiFi Power Meter (Non-Switch)
- Yes
Catalog note
Reached through eWeLink account linking, and SONOFF notes SmartThings also reads the power consumption figures
Local Control
- Meross EM16P
- Yes
Catalog note
Open API, energy data stays on the local network
- Sonoff MINI PM Matter Over WiFi Power Meter (Non-Switch)
- Yes
Catalog note
JSON-RPC 2.0 over HTTP and WebSocket, documented as an open API
- Meross EM16P
- Yes
- Sonoff MINI PM Matter Over WiFi Power Meter (Non-Switch)
- Yes
Manufacturer source
A local browser console is provided.
Sonoff MINI PM Matter Over WiFi Power Meter (Non-Switch) — manufacturer product description →- Source section
- Product description / feature descriptions
- Model
- MINI-1GP
- Region
- Manufacturer listing for the named model/variant; regional equivalence has not been established
- Firmware
- Not specified by this source
- Checked
This product measures energy and does not switch the attached load.
Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.
Catalog note
The OpenEdge web console runs on the device and needs no app and no account
- Meross EM16P
- Not recorded
- Sonoff MINI PM Matter Over WiFi Power Meter (Non-Switch)
- Yes
Manufacturer source
MQTT access is listed.
Sonoff MINI PM Matter Over WiFi Power Meter (Non-Switch) — manufacturer product description →- Source section
- Product description / feature descriptions
- Model
- MINI-1GP
- Region
- Manufacturer listing for the named model/variant; regional equivalence has not been established
- Firmware
- Not specified by this source
- Checked
This product measures energy and does not switch the attached load.
Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.
Catalog note
MQTT is configured from the device itself and is how Home Assistant reads the meter with no cloud in the path
Metering
- Meross EM16P
- ±2%
Manufacturer source
The stated measurement error is within two percent.
Meross EM16P manufacturer product page →- Source section
- Product description
- Model
- Meross EM16P
- Region
- Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
- Firmware
- Not specified by this source
- Checked
Five years describes daily cloud history, not five years of minute-level local records.
Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.
- Sonoff MINI PM Matter Over WiFi Power Meter (Non-Switch)
- Not recorded
- Meross EM16P
- Yes
- Sonoff MINI PM Matter Over WiFi Power Meter (Non-Switch)
- Yes
Manufacturer source
Bidirectional energy metering is supported.
Sonoff MINI PM Matter Over WiFi Power Meter (Non-Switch) — manufacturer product description →- Source section
- Product description / feature descriptions
- Model
- MINI-1GP
- Region
- Manufacturer listing for the named model/variant; regional equivalence has not been established
- Firmware
- Not specified by this source
- Checked
This product measures energy and does not switch the attached load.
Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.
Catalog note
Bi-directional metering separates what the load consumes from what a balcony solar array produces, which the app can record as a negative value
- Meross EM16P
- 60 A
- Sonoff MINI PM Matter Over WiFi Power Meter (Non-Switch)
- Not applicable / unspecified
- Meross EM16P
- 18
Catalog note
2 x 200 A mains and 16 x 60 A branch sensors
- Sonoff MINI PM Matter Over WiFi Power Meter (Non-Switch)
- Not applicable / unspecified
Catalog note
Inline measurement, no current transformer involved
- Meross EM16P
- 200 A
- Sonoff MINI PM Matter Over WiFi Power Meter (Non-Switch)
- Not applicable / unspecified
- Meross EM16P
- 18
Manufacturer source
Up to 18 circuits can be monitored.
Meross EM16P manufacturer product page →- Source section
- Product description
- Model
- Meross EM16P
- Region
- Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
- Firmware
- Not specified by this source
- Checked
Five years describes daily cloud history, not five years of minute-level local records.
Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.
- Sonoff MINI PM Matter Over WiFi Power Meter (Non-Switch)
- 1
Catalog note
One circuit, the load wired through its L and L Out terminals
- Meross EM16P
- Yes
Catalog note
Power, voltage, current and power factor
- Sonoff MINI PM Matter Over WiFi Power Meter (Non-Switch)
- No
Catalog note
SONOFF documents real-time voltage, current, power and accumulated energy, with no power factor reading
- Meross EM16P
- Yes
- Sonoff MINI PM Matter Over WiFi Power Meter (Non-Switch)
- No
Catalog note
Rated 100-240V~ 50/60Hz on a single line, so a 120/240 V split-phase service is out of scope
- Meross EM16P
- Yes
Catalog note
3-phase 4-wire Wye with earthed neutral, no Delta
- Sonoff MINI PM Matter Over WiFi Power Meter (Non-Switch)
- No
| Specification | Meross EM16P | Sonoff MINI PM Matter Over WiFi Power Meter (Non-Switch) |
|---|---|---|
| Connectivity | ||
| Yes | YesCatalog noteIEEE 802.11 b/g/n on 2.4 GHz, from an ESP32-C6 | |
| No | No | |
| Not recorded | Not recordedCatalog noteThe spec sheet lists Wi-Fi only, while the FCC grant authorises a second 2402-2480 MHz transmitter, so the radio is there but SONOFF never documents it as a feature | |
| No | No | |
| No | No | |
| No | No | |
| No | No | |
| No | NoCatalog noteThe Zigbee version of this meter is a separate model, the MINI-ZB1GP | |
| Data Monitoring | ||
YesManufacturer sourceHistorical data can be exported. Meross EM16P manufacturer product page →
Five years describes daily cloud history, not five years of minute-level local records. Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant. Catalog noteExportable hourly reports | YesCatalog noteEnergy data and electricity bills export to a spreadsheet, from the app and from the local console | |
5 yearsManufacturer sourceDaily historical records can be retained for up to five years. Meross EM16P manufacturer product page →
Five years describes daily cloud history, not five years of minute-level local records. Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant. Catalog noteCharts by minute, hour, day, month and year | 1 yearCatalog noteUp to one year of energy data, and going offline does not interrupt the recording | |
| Yes | YesCatalog noteCustom currency and electricity rate, with the bill broken down in charts | |
| Not recorded | Not recorded | |
| No | YesCatalog noteFixed or time-of-use pricing, with consumption shown per rate band | |
YesCatalog noteCustom alerts for usage spikes and threshold breaches | YesCatalog noteOvercurrent, overpower, overvoltage and undervoltage thresholds, plus a run completion alert and a maintenance reminder based on accumulated runtime | |
| Features | ||
| Yes | YesCatalog noteQuick Scenes in eWeLink, and its readings drive automations in Home Assistant | |
YesCatalog noteSolar surplus automations through Home Assistant | NoCatalog noteWith no relay it can raise a threshold alert but cannot shed the load itself | |
| No | NoCatalog noteSONOFF states this is a non-switch product that cannot control the load it measures | |
| Installation | ||
| Yes | YesCatalog noteWires into live and neutral behind a socket or inside a junction box, and SONOFF recommends a wall box at least 60 mm deep | |
| No | NoCatalog noteIndoor flush mounting only, with no rail clip | |
| Mains (breaker panel) | Mains (100-240 V) | |
| No | No | |
| Integrations | ||
NoCatalog noteAlexa has no energy meter device type and this meter has no relay to expose as a switch, so a skill has nothing to publish | YesCatalog noteReached by adding the meter to eWeLink and linking the account, the path SONOFF documents for this model | |
| No | Upcoming platform supportCatalog noteThe meter is a Matter over Wi-Fi device, but SONOFF's own platform table marks Apple Home as not yet able to add it: the Home app still does not accept the Matter energy meter device type. Nothing on SONOFF's side is missing, so the meter gets in once Apple supports that type. | |
| No | YesCatalog noteReached by adding the meter to eWeLink and linking the account, the path SONOFF documents for this model | |
YesManufacturer sourceHome Assistant integration is documented. Meross EM16P manufacturer product page →
Five years describes daily cloud history, not five years of minute-level local records. Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant. Catalog noteOfficial integration, no firmware flashing | YesCatalog noteSONOFF's platform table gives Home Assistant two routes, Matter and MQTT discovery, and both carry the voltage, current, power and energy readings | |
| No | YesCatalog noteMatter over Wi-Fi: the device carries a Matter QR code and is commissioned by scanning it from a Matter app | Home Assistant is the one Matter controller that accepts it today, because the energy meter device type is not yet handled by the other ecosystems | |
| No | YesCatalog noteReached through eWeLink account linking, and SONOFF notes SmartThings also reads the power consumption figures | |
| Local Control | ||
YesCatalog noteOpen API, energy data stays on the local network | YesCatalog noteJSON-RPC 2.0 over HTTP and WebSocket, documented as an open API | |
| Yes | YesManufacturer sourceA local browser console is provided. Sonoff MINI PM Matter Over WiFi Power Meter (Non-Switch) — manufacturer product description →
This product measures energy and does not switch the attached load. Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant. Catalog noteThe OpenEdge web console runs on the device and needs no app and no account | |
| Not recorded | YesManufacturer sourceMQTT access is listed. Sonoff MINI PM Matter Over WiFi Power Meter (Non-Switch) — manufacturer product description →
This product measures energy and does not switch the attached load. Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant. Catalog noteMQTT is configured from the device itself and is how Home Assistant reads the meter with no cloud in the path | |
| Metering | ||
±2%Manufacturer sourceThe stated measurement error is within two percent. Meross EM16P manufacturer product page →
Five years describes daily cloud history, not five years of minute-level local records. Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant. | Not recorded | |
| Yes | YesManufacturer sourceBidirectional energy metering is supported. Sonoff MINI PM Matter Over WiFi Power Meter (Non-Switch) — manufacturer product description →
This product measures energy and does not switch the attached load. Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant. Catalog noteBi-directional metering separates what the load consumes from what a balcony solar array produces, which the app can record as a negative value | |
| 60 A | Not applicable / unspecified | |
18Catalog note2 x 200 A mains and 16 x 60 A branch sensors | Not applicable / unspecifiedCatalog noteInline measurement, no current transformer involved | |
| 200 A | Not applicable / unspecified | |
18Manufacturer sourceUp to 18 circuits can be monitored. Meross EM16P manufacturer product page →
Five years describes daily cloud history, not five years of minute-level local records. Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant. | 1Catalog noteOne circuit, the load wired through its L and L Out terminals | |
YesCatalog notePower, voltage, current and power factor | NoCatalog noteSONOFF documents real-time voltage, current, power and accumulated energy, with no power factor reading | |
| Yes | NoCatalog noteRated 100-240V~ 50/60Hz on a single line, so a 120/240 V split-phase service is out of scope | |
YesCatalog note3-phase 4-wire Wye with earthed neutral, no Delta | No | |
Know what’s behind the comparison.
The table matches specifications by section and field. It preserves notes, separates missing data from explicit “No” values, and keeps qualifications attached to their values. No overall winner is assigned from feature counts.
Read our comparison methodology