The Smart Device Compare comparison

NodOn 3CT Zigbee Energy Meter vs Shelly Pro EM-50

Understand the differences. Decide what matters to your home.

Build another comparison →

Before you compare every specification

Key differences between NodOn 3CT Zigbee Energy Meter and Shelly Pro EM-50

A summary of selected recorded differences between these energy monitors. Check the full specification table below for details and conditions.

Feature differences among your selected devices
  • 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi (connectivity): NodOn 3CT Zigbee Energy Meter — No (The 2.4 GHz radio is Zigbee (IEEE 802.15.4), not Wi-Fi); Shelly Pro EM-50 — Yes.
  • Bluetooth (connectivity): NodOn 3CT Zigbee Energy Meter — No; Shelly Pro EM-50 — Yes (Bluetooth 4.2, also works as a Bluetooth gateway).
  • Ethernet (connectivity): NodOn 3CT Zigbee Energy Meter — No; Shelly Pro EM-50 — Yes.
  • Data Export (data monitoring): NodOn 3CT Zigbee Energy Meter — No (Not a native NodOn feature. Exporting the readings is a function of the home automation platform.); Shelly Pro EM-50 — Yes (CSV export of the consumption chart).
Specifications to check side by side
  • Other (connectivity): NodOn 3CT Zigbee Energy Meter — Modbus RTU (RS-485) (The datasheet and user guide document a Modbus RTU interface on RS-485 communication terminals, alongside the Zigbee radio); Shelly Pro EM-50 — Modbus.
  • Zigbee (connectivity): NodOn 3CT Zigbee Energy Meter — Zigbee Hub required (Zigbee 3.0 certified, 2.4 GHz, maximum radio power +10 dBm, so it joins an existing Zigbee network and needs a compatible coordinator or gateway | NodOn lists Home Assistant, Jeedom, Zigbee2MQTT and Edalso as compatible gateways for this model); Shelly Pro EM-50 — No.
  • Power Supply (installation): NodOn 3CT Zigbee Energy Meter — Mains (220-240 V / 380-415 V); Shelly Pro EM-50 — Mains (100-260 V).
  • Included Ct Sensors (metering): NodOn 3CT Zigbee Energy Meter — 3 (Three split-core current transformers, rated 70 A (SEM-4-3-20_70A) or 120 A (SEM-4-3-20_120A) depending on the variant | The clamps snap around the phase conductors, so no circuit has to be rewired through the meter); Shelly Pro EM-50 — 2 (2 x 50 A current transformers).
Information still to confirm
  • 3 of 39 comparison fields lack a resolved value for at least one selected device. Missing information is not evidence that a feature is absent.
  • Check the full table and manufacturer documentation before ruling out a device.

These observations are derived from recorded catalog data and have not all been independently verified. Confirm details with the manufacturer before purchasing.

Compare capabilities, compatibility and setup requirements.

What the catalog tells us

Understand the tradeoffs.

These counts describe the available data, not a quality score. More features do not automatically make a better device.

20differences with recorded values for every device
3rows with missing or unspecified information

Your priorities, side by side

Focus on what changes.

Mark the specifications you care about. Open manufacturer sources for verification scope; fields without citations remain catalog data. Expand notes for other qualifications.

Showing 39 of 39 rows. “Not recorded” does not mean “No”.

Connectivity

NodOn 3CT Zigbee Energy Meter
No
Catalog note

The 2.4 GHz radio is Zigbee (IEEE 802.15.4), not Wi-Fi

Shelly Pro EM-50
Yes
NodOn 3CT Zigbee Energy Meter
No
Shelly Pro EM-50
No
NodOn 3CT Zigbee Energy Meter
No
Shelly Pro EM-50
Yes
Catalog note

Bluetooth 4.2, also works as a Bluetooth gateway

NodOn 3CT Zigbee Energy Meter
No
Shelly Pro EM-50
Yes
NodOn 3CT Zigbee Energy Meter
Modbus RTU (RS-485)
Catalog note

The datasheet and user guide document a Modbus RTU interface on RS-485 communication terminals, alongside the Zigbee radio

Shelly Pro EM-50
Modbus
NodOn 3CT Zigbee Energy Meter
No
Shelly Pro EM-50
No
NodOn 3CT Zigbee Energy Meter
No
Shelly Pro EM-50
No
NodOn 3CT Zigbee Energy Meter
Zigbee Hub required
Catalog note

Zigbee 3.0 certified, 2.4 GHz, maximum radio power +10 dBm, so it joins an existing Zigbee network and needs a compatible coordinator or gateway | NodOn lists Home Assistant, Jeedom, Zigbee2MQTT and Edalso as compatible gateways for this model

Shelly Pro EM-50
No

Data Monitoring

NodOn 3CT Zigbee Energy Meter
No
Catalog note

Not a native NodOn feature. Exporting the readings is a function of the home automation platform.

Shelly Pro EM-50
Yes
Catalog note

CSV export of the consumption chart

NodOn 3CT Zigbee Energy Meter
Not applicable / unspecified
Catalog note

The meter keeps no history of its own beyond its cumulative energy registers, and NodOn ships no app: retention is whatever the host gateway or Home Assistant keeps

Shelly Pro EM-50
60 days
Catalog note

At least 60 days of 1-minute data stored on the device

NodOn 3CT Zigbee Energy Meter
No
Catalog note

Not a native NodOn feature. Any cost figure is calculated by the home automation platform from the readings.

Shelly Pro EM-50
Yes
NodOn 3CT Zigbee Energy Meter
Yes
Catalog note

NodOn advertises real-time monitoring of voltage, current, power and energy but publishes no reporting interval for this model

Shelly Pro EM-50
Not recorded
NodOn 3CT Zigbee Energy Meter
No
Catalog note

Not a native NodOn feature. Time-of-use pricing is a function of the home automation platform.

Shelly Pro EM-50
Yes
Catalog note

Cost periods and tariff distribution in the Shelly Smart Control app

NodOn 3CT Zigbee Energy Meter
No
Catalog note

Not a native NodOn feature. Usage alerts are built in the home automation platform from the readings.

Shelly Pro EM-50
Yes

Features

NodOn 3CT Zigbee Energy Meter
Yes
Catalog note

Through the compatible Zigbee gateway or Home Assistant, not on the device itself

Shelly Pro EM-50
Yes
NodOn 3CT Zigbee Energy Meter
Yes
Catalog note

NodOn lists load shedding on overconsumption, PV surplus diversion and EV-charge control among the meter's uses, driven by its readings | The switching itself is done by the compatible gateway or home automation system, not by the meter, which has no relay

Shelly Pro EM-50
Yes
Catalog note

Configurable load control to divert surplus PV production

NodOn 3CT Zigbee Energy Meter
No
Catalog note

No switching output: the meter measures only and has no relay to cut a load

Shelly Pro EM-50
Yes
Catalog note

Integrated switch with potential-free contacts, 2 A at 240 V

Installation

NodOn 3CT Zigbee Energy Meter
Yes
Catalog note

Fits inside the electrical panel next to the upstream protection device, with the clamps around the phase conductors

Shelly Pro EM-50
Yes
NodOn 3CT Zigbee Energy Meter
Yes
Manufacturer source

The unit occupies one 18 mm DIN rail slot.

NodOn 3CT Zigbee Energy Meter manufacturer product page →
Source section
SEM-4-3-20 technical data
Model
NodOn 3CT Zigbee Energy Meter
Region
Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
Firmware
Not specified by this source
Checked

Separate 70 A and 120 A variants are listed; select the matching current transformers.

Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.

Catalog note

One 18 mm DIN module, with the snap-in split-core clamps closing around the phase wires

Shelly Pro EM-50
Yes
Catalog note

One DIN module wide

NodOn 3CT Zigbee Energy Meter
Mains (220-240 V / 380-415 V)
Shelly Pro EM-50
Mains (100-260 V)
NodOn 3CT Zigbee Energy Meter
No
Shelly Pro EM-50
No

Integrations

NodOn 3CT Zigbee Energy Meter
No
Catalog note

Not compatible with Amazon Alexa.

Shelly Pro EM-50
Yes
NodOn 3CT Zigbee Energy Meter
No
Catalog note

Not compatible with Apple Home.

Shelly Pro EM-50
No
NodOn 3CT Zigbee Energy Meter
No
Catalog note

Not compatible with Google Home.

Shelly Pro EM-50
Yes
NodOn 3CT Zigbee Energy Meter
Yes
Catalog note

Zigbee2MQTT supports this exact model, the SEM-4-3-20, and exposes per-phase voltage, current, active, reactive and apparent power, power factor, AC frequency and consumed and produced energy | NodOn also lists Home Assistant among the compatible gateways for this model | Works with Home Assistant through ZHA and through Zigbee2MQTT.

Shelly Pro EM-50
Yes
NodOn 3CT Zigbee Energy Meter
No
Catalog note

The radio is Zigbee 3.0 only, with no Matter certification or Matter path documented for this model

Shelly Pro EM-50
No
NodOn 3CT Zigbee Energy Meter
No
Catalog note

Not compatible with Samsung SmartThings.

Shelly Pro EM-50
Yes
Catalog note

Via the official Shelly Cloud integration

Local Control

NodOn 3CT Zigbee Energy Meter
Yes
Catalog note

A documented Modbus RTU interface over RS-485 serves the readings straight from the device terminals, with no cloud account in the path

Shelly Pro EM-50
Yes
Catalog note

RPC over HTTPS and WebSocket, UDP, webhooks, scripting and Modbus TCP

NodOn 3CT Zigbee Energy Meter
No
Catalog note

Nothing runs on the module itself: it is paired and configured from the Zigbee gateway, and it has only a status LED and a reset/pairing button

Shelly Pro EM-50
Yes
NodOn 3CT Zigbee Energy Meter
No
Catalog note

No native MQTT, though Zigbee2MQTT republishes the readings

Shelly Pro EM-50
Yes

Metering

NodOn 3CT Zigbee Energy Meter
±1%
Manufacturer source

The stated energy-measurement tolerance is one percent.

NodOn 3CT Zigbee Energy Meter manufacturer product page →
Source section
SEM-4-3-20 technical data
Model
NodOn 3CT Zigbee Energy Meter
Region
Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
Firmware
Not specified by this source
Checked

Separate 70 A and 120 A variants are listed; select the matching current transformers.

Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.

Catalog note

Class 1.0 to IEC 61557-12, stated as a 1% tolerance, with a measurement range of 50 mA to 70 A/120 A per phase

Shelly Pro EM-50
±1%
Catalog note

Accuracy Class B for active energy, ±1% from 5 A to 50 A

NodOn 3CT Zigbee Energy Meter
Yes
Manufacturer source

It measures both consumption and generation.

NodOn 3CT Zigbee Energy Meter manufacturer product page →
Source section
SEM-4-3-20 technical data
Model
NodOn 3CT Zigbee Energy Meter
Region
Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
Firmware
Not specified by this source
Checked

Separate 70 A and 120 A variants are listed; select the matching current transformers.

Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.

Catalog note

Bidirectional measurement reports consumption and production separately, which is what makes solar self-consumption and export readable | Zigbee2MQTT exposes total and per-phase consumed and produced energy

Shelly Pro EM-50
Yes
Catalog note

4 quadrant measurement with a returned energy counter

NodOn 3CT Zigbee Energy Meter
Not applicable / unspecified
Shelly Pro EM-50
Not applicable / unspecified
NodOn 3CT Zigbee Energy Meter
3
Catalog note

Three split-core current transformers, rated 70 A (SEM-4-3-20_70A) or 120 A (SEM-4-3-20_120A) depending on the variant | The clamps snap around the phase conductors, so no circuit has to be rewired through the meter

Shelly Pro EM-50
2
Catalog note

2 x 50 A current transformers

NodOn 3CT Zigbee Energy Meter
70 / 120 A
Catalog note

120 A per phase on the SEM-4-3-20_120A variant, or 70 A on the SEM-4-3-20_70A variant

Shelly Pro EM-50
50 A
NodOn 3CT Zigbee Energy Meter
3
Manufacturer source

The meter provides three measurement channels.

NodOn 3CT Zigbee Energy Meter manufacturer product page →
Source section
SEM-4-3-20 technical data
Model
NodOn 3CT Zigbee Energy Meter
Region
Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
Firmware
Not specified by this source
Checked

Separate 70 A and 120 A variants are listed; select the matching current transformers.

Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.

Catalog note

Three phases on one 3P+N supply, or three independent single-phase circuits

Shelly Pro EM-50
2
NodOn 3CT Zigbee Energy Meter
Yes
Catalog note

Voltage, current, active and reactive power, apparent power and power factor per phase, plus AC frequency | Zigbee2MQTT exposes power_factor, power_reactive and power_apparent for phases A, B and C

Shelly Pro EM-50
Yes
Catalog note

Active and apparent power, power factor, frequency and voltage

NodOn 3CT Zigbee Energy Meter
No
Catalog note

Rated 220-240 V single-phase and 380-415 V three-phase, so a 120/240 V North American split-phase service is out of scope

Shelly Pro EM-50
No
Catalog note

Single-phase device with two current channels

NodOn 3CT Zigbee Energy Meter
Yes
Manufacturer source

The meter supports three-phase installations.

NodOn 3CT Zigbee Energy Meter manufacturer product page →
Source section
SEM-4-3-20 technical data
Model
NodOn 3CT Zigbee Energy Meter
Region
Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
Firmware
Not specified by this source
Checked

Separate 70 A and 120 A variants are listed; select the matching current transformers.

Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.

Catalog note

3P+N wiring with one current clamp per phase (IA, IB, IC) and phase-to-neutral or phase-to-phase voltage taps

Shelly Pro EM-50
No
Specifications for NodOn 3CT Zigbee Energy Meter versus Shelly Pro EM-50
SpecificationNodOn 3CT Zigbee Energy MeterShelly Pro EM-50
Connectivity
No
Catalog note

The 2.4 GHz radio is Zigbee (IEEE 802.15.4), not Wi-Fi

Yes
NoNo
NoYes
Catalog note

Bluetooth 4.2, also works as a Bluetooth gateway

NoYes
Modbus RTU (RS-485)
Catalog note

The datasheet and user guide document a Modbus RTU interface on RS-485 communication terminals, alongside the Zigbee radio

Modbus
NoNo
NoNo
Zigbee Hub required
Catalog note

Zigbee 3.0 certified, 2.4 GHz, maximum radio power +10 dBm, so it joins an existing Zigbee network and needs a compatible coordinator or gateway | NodOn lists Home Assistant, Jeedom, Zigbee2MQTT and Edalso as compatible gateways for this model

No
Data Monitoring
No
Catalog note

Not a native NodOn feature. Exporting the readings is a function of the home automation platform.

Yes
Catalog note

CSV export of the consumption chart

Not applicable / unspecified
Catalog note

The meter keeps no history of its own beyond its cumulative energy registers, and NodOn ships no app: retention is whatever the host gateway or Home Assistant keeps

60 days
Catalog note

At least 60 days of 1-minute data stored on the device

No
Catalog note

Not a native NodOn feature. Any cost figure is calculated by the home automation platform from the readings.

Yes
Yes
Catalog note

NodOn advertises real-time monitoring of voltage, current, power and energy but publishes no reporting interval for this model

Not recorded
No
Catalog note

Not a native NodOn feature. Time-of-use pricing is a function of the home automation platform.

Yes
Catalog note

Cost periods and tariff distribution in the Shelly Smart Control app

No
Catalog note

Not a native NodOn feature. Usage alerts are built in the home automation platform from the readings.

Yes
Features
Yes
Catalog note

Through the compatible Zigbee gateway or Home Assistant, not on the device itself

Yes
Yes
Catalog note

NodOn lists load shedding on overconsumption, PV surplus diversion and EV-charge control among the meter's uses, driven by its readings | The switching itself is done by the compatible gateway or home automation system, not by the meter, which has no relay

Yes
Catalog note

Configurable load control to divert surplus PV production

No
Catalog note

No switching output: the meter measures only and has no relay to cut a load

Yes
Catalog note

Integrated switch with potential-free contacts, 2 A at 240 V

Installation
Yes
Catalog note

Fits inside the electrical panel next to the upstream protection device, with the clamps around the phase conductors

Yes
Yes
Manufacturer source

The unit occupies one 18 mm DIN rail slot.

NodOn 3CT Zigbee Energy Meter manufacturer product page →
Source section
SEM-4-3-20 technical data
Model
NodOn 3CT Zigbee Energy Meter
Region
Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
Firmware
Not specified by this source
Checked

Separate 70 A and 120 A variants are listed; select the matching current transformers.

Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.

Catalog note

One 18 mm DIN module, with the snap-in split-core clamps closing around the phase wires

Yes
Catalog note

One DIN module wide

Mains (220-240 V / 380-415 V)Mains (100-260 V)
NoNo
Integrations
No
Catalog note

Not compatible with Amazon Alexa.

Yes
No
Catalog note

Not compatible with Apple Home.

No
No
Catalog note

Not compatible with Google Home.

Yes
Yes
Catalog note

Zigbee2MQTT supports this exact model, the SEM-4-3-20, and exposes per-phase voltage, current, active, reactive and apparent power, power factor, AC frequency and consumed and produced energy | NodOn also lists Home Assistant among the compatible gateways for this model | Works with Home Assistant through ZHA and through Zigbee2MQTT.

Yes
No
Catalog note

The radio is Zigbee 3.0 only, with no Matter certification or Matter path documented for this model

No
No
Catalog note

Not compatible with Samsung SmartThings.

Yes
Catalog note

Via the official Shelly Cloud integration

Local Control
Yes
Catalog note

A documented Modbus RTU interface over RS-485 serves the readings straight from the device terminals, with no cloud account in the path

Yes
Catalog note

RPC over HTTPS and WebSocket, UDP, webhooks, scripting and Modbus TCP

No
Catalog note

Nothing runs on the module itself: it is paired and configured from the Zigbee gateway, and it has only a status LED and a reset/pairing button

Yes
No
Catalog note

No native MQTT, though Zigbee2MQTT republishes the readings

Yes
Metering
±1%
Manufacturer source

The stated energy-measurement tolerance is one percent.

NodOn 3CT Zigbee Energy Meter manufacturer product page →
Source section
SEM-4-3-20 technical data
Model
NodOn 3CT Zigbee Energy Meter
Region
Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
Firmware
Not specified by this source
Checked

Separate 70 A and 120 A variants are listed; select the matching current transformers.

Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.

Catalog note

Class 1.0 to IEC 61557-12, stated as a 1% tolerance, with a measurement range of 50 mA to 70 A/120 A per phase

±1%
Catalog note

Accuracy Class B for active energy, ±1% from 5 A to 50 A

Yes
Manufacturer source

It measures both consumption and generation.

NodOn 3CT Zigbee Energy Meter manufacturer product page →
Source section
SEM-4-3-20 technical data
Model
NodOn 3CT Zigbee Energy Meter
Region
Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
Firmware
Not specified by this source
Checked

Separate 70 A and 120 A variants are listed; select the matching current transformers.

Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.

Catalog note

Bidirectional measurement reports consumption and production separately, which is what makes solar self-consumption and export readable | Zigbee2MQTT exposes total and per-phase consumed and produced energy

Yes
Catalog note

4 quadrant measurement with a returned energy counter

Not applicable / unspecifiedNot applicable / unspecified
3
Catalog note

Three split-core current transformers, rated 70 A (SEM-4-3-20_70A) or 120 A (SEM-4-3-20_120A) depending on the variant | The clamps snap around the phase conductors, so no circuit has to be rewired through the meter

2
Catalog note

2 x 50 A current transformers

70 / 120 A
Catalog note

120 A per phase on the SEM-4-3-20_120A variant, or 70 A on the SEM-4-3-20_70A variant

50 A
3
Manufacturer source

The meter provides three measurement channels.

NodOn 3CT Zigbee Energy Meter manufacturer product page →
Source section
SEM-4-3-20 technical data
Model
NodOn 3CT Zigbee Energy Meter
Region
Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
Firmware
Not specified by this source
Checked

Separate 70 A and 120 A variants are listed; select the matching current transformers.

Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.

Catalog note

Three phases on one 3P+N supply, or three independent single-phase circuits

2
Yes
Catalog note

Voltage, current, active and reactive power, apparent power and power factor per phase, plus AC frequency | Zigbee2MQTT exposes power_factor, power_reactive and power_apparent for phases A, B and C

Yes
Catalog note

Active and apparent power, power factor, frequency and voltage

No
Catalog note

Rated 220-240 V single-phase and 380-415 V three-phase, so a 120/240 V North American split-phase service is out of scope

No
Catalog note

Single-phase device with two current channels

Yes
Manufacturer source

The meter supports three-phase installations.

NodOn 3CT Zigbee Energy Meter manufacturer product page →
Source section
SEM-4-3-20 technical data
Model
NodOn 3CT Zigbee Energy Meter
Region
Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
Firmware
Not specified by this source
Checked

Separate 70 A and 120 A variants are listed; select the matching current transformers.

Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.

Catalog note

3P+N wiring with one current clamp per phase (IA, IB, IC) and phase-to-neutral or phase-to-phase voltage taps

No

Know what’s behind the comparison.

The table matches specifications by section and field. It preserves notes, separates missing data from explicit “No” values, and keeps qualifications attached to their values. No overall winner is assigned from feature counts.

Read our comparison methodology