
The Smart Device Compare comparison
NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor vs SONOFF POWCT
Understand the differences. Decide what matters to your home.
Build another comparison →Before you compare every specification
Key differences between NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor and SONOFF POWCT
A summary of selected recorded differences between these energy monitors. Check the full specification table below for details and conditions.
- 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi (connectivity): NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor — No (The 2.4 GHz radio is Zigbee (IEEE 802.15.4), not Wi-Fi); SONOFF POWCT — Yes (External antenna on a lead so it can sit outside the panel).
- Data Export (data monitoring): NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor — No (Not a native NodOn feature. Exporting the readings is a function of the home automation platform.); SONOFF POWCT — Yes (History can be exported to a file from the eWeLink app).
- Usage Alerts (data monitoring): NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor — No (Not a native NodOn feature. Usage alerts are built in the home automation platform from the readings.); SONOFF POWCT — Yes (Overload alerts and protection thresholds).
- Relay Output (features): NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor — No (No switching output: the meter measures only and has no relay to cut a load); SONOFF POWCT — Yes (Dry contact rated 2 A for contactor control).
- Zigbee (connectivity): NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor — Zigbee Hub required (Zigbee 3.0 certified, 2.4 GHz, maximum radio power +10 dBm, so it joins an existing Zigbee network and needs a compatible coordinator or gateway | NodOn lists Home Assistant, SmartThings, Jeedom and Zigbee2MQTT as compatible gateways for this model); SONOFF POWCT — No.
- Power Supply (installation): NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor — Mains (110-240 V); SONOFF POWCT — Mains (100-240 V).
- Apple Home (integrations): NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor — No (Not compatible with Apple Home.); SONOFF POWCT — SONOFF Hub required (SONOFF lists this model among the eWeLink Wi-Fi devices its Matter bridges (Zigbee Bridge Ultra, iHost, NSPanel Pro) publish to Matter, which is how it reaches the Apple Home app.).
- Matter (integrations): NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor — No (The radio is Zigbee 3.0 only, with no Matter certification or Matter path documented for this model); SONOFF POWCT — SONOFF Hub required (The device is not Matter itself: SONOFF lists it among the eWeLink Wi-Fi models its Matter bridges (Zigbee Bridge Ultra, iHost, NSPanel Pro) republish into Matter.).
- 8 of 39 comparison fields lack a resolved value for at least one selected device. Missing information is not evidence that a feature is absent.
- Check the full table and manufacturer documentation before ruling out a device.
These observations are derived from recorded catalog data and have not all been independently verified. Confirm details with the manufacturer before purchasing.
Compare capabilities, compatibility and setup requirements.


What the catalog tells us
Understand the tradeoffs.
These counts describe the available data, not a quality score. More features do not automatically make a better device.
Consider your setup
Apple Home
- NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy MonitorNo
- SONOFF POWCTSONOFF Hub required
Confirm which features appear in Apple Home and whether extra hardware or a subscription is needed for your intended use.
Inspect the specificationsConsider your setup
Matter
- NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy MonitorNo
- SONOFF POWCTSONOFF Hub required
Confirm the exact device type and the features exposed in your chosen platform. Protocol support does not establish feature parity across apps.
Inspect the specificationsYour priorities, side by side
Focus on what changes.
Mark the specifications you care about. Open manufacturer sources for verification scope; fields without citations remain catalog data. Expand notes for other qualifications.
Showing 39 of 39 rows. “Not recorded” does not mean “No”.
Connectivity
- NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor
- No
Catalog note
The 2.4 GHz radio is Zigbee (IEEE 802.15.4), not Wi-Fi
- SONOFF POWCT
- Yes
Catalog note
External antenna on a lead so it can sit outside the panel
- NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor
- No
- SONOFF POWCT
- No
- NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor
- No
- SONOFF POWCT
- No
- NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor
- No
- SONOFF POWCT
- No
- NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor
- No
- SONOFF POWCT
- No
- NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor
- No
- SONOFF POWCT
- No
- NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor
- No
- SONOFF POWCT
- No
- NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor
- Zigbee Hub required
Catalog note
Zigbee 3.0 certified, 2.4 GHz, maximum radio power +10 dBm, so it joins an existing Zigbee network and needs a compatible coordinator or gateway | NodOn lists Home Assistant, SmartThings, Jeedom and Zigbee2MQTT as compatible gateways for this model
- SONOFF POWCT
- No
Data Monitoring
- NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor
- No
Catalog note
Not a native NodOn feature. Exporting the readings is a function of the home automation platform.
- SONOFF POWCT
- Yes
Manufacturer source
Historical data can be exported.
SONOFF POWCT manufacturer product page →- Source section
- Product description
- Model
- SONOFF POWCT
- Region
- Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
- Firmware
- Not specified by this source
- Checked
The dry contact is not a 100 A load-switching output. Follow the electrical installation instructions.
Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.
Catalog note
History can be exported to a file from the eWeLink app
- NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor
- Not applicable / unspecified
Catalog note
The meter keeps no history of its own beyond its cumulative energy registers, and NodOn ships no app: retention is whatever the host gateway or Home Assistant keeps
- SONOFF POWCT
- 6 months
Manufacturer source
Hourly history is available for up to six months.
SONOFF POWCT manufacturer product page →- Source section
- Product description
- Model
- SONOFF POWCT
- Region
- Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
- Firmware
- Not specified by this source
- Checked
The dry contact is not a 100 A load-switching output. Follow the electrical installation instructions.
Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.
Catalog note
Hour-by-hour records kept on the device, survives power cuts
- NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor
- No
Catalog note
Not a native NodOn feature. Any cost figure is calculated by the home automation platform from the readings.
- SONOFF POWCT
- Not recorded
- NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor
- Yes
Catalog note
NodOn advertises real-time monitoring of voltage, current, power and energy but publishes no reporting interval for this model
- SONOFF POWCT
- Not recorded
- NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor
- No
Catalog note
Not a native NodOn feature. Time-of-use pricing is a function of the home automation platform.
- SONOFF POWCT
- Not recorded
- NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor
- No
Catalog note
Not a native NodOn feature. Usage alerts are built in the home automation platform from the readings.
- SONOFF POWCT
- Yes
Catalog note
Overload alerts and protection thresholds
Features
- NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor
- Yes
Catalog note
Through the compatible Zigbee gateway or Home Assistant, not on the device itself
- SONOFF POWCT
- Yes
- NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor
- Yes
Catalog note
NodOn lists load shedding on overconsumption among the meter's uses, driven by its readings | The switching itself is done by the compatible gateway or home automation system, not by the meter, which has no relay
- SONOFF POWCT
- Yes
Catalog note
Overload protection switches the contactor off above the configured threshold
- NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor
- No
Catalog note
No switching output: the meter measures only and has no relay to cut a load
- SONOFF POWCT
- Yes
Manufacturer source
A 2 A dry-contact output can control an external contactor.
SONOFF POWCT manufacturer product page →- Source section
- Product description
- Model
- SONOFF POWCT
- Region
- Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
- Firmware
- Not specified by this source
- Checked
The dry contact is not a 100 A load-switching output. Follow the electrical installation instructions.
Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.
Catalog note
Dry contact rated 2 A for contactor control
Installation
- NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor
- Yes
Catalog note
Installed in-line inside the electrical panel on an existing circuit, next to the upstream protection device
- SONOFF POWCT
- Yes
- NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor
- Yes
Catalog note
One 17.8 mm wide DIN module that clips onto the standard 35 mm rail inside the switchboard
- SONOFF POWCT
- Yes
- NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor
- Mains (110-240 V)
- SONOFF POWCT
- Mains (100-240 V)
- NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor
- No
- SONOFF POWCT
- No
Integrations
- NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor
- No
Catalog note
Not compatible with Amazon Alexa.
- SONOFF POWCT
- Yes
- NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor
- No
Catalog note
Not compatible with Apple Home.
- SONOFF POWCT
- SONOFF Hub required
Catalog note
SONOFF lists this model among the eWeLink Wi-Fi devices its Matter bridges (Zigbee Bridge Ultra, iHost, NSPanel Pro) publish to Matter, which is how it reaches the Apple Home app.
- NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor
- No
Catalog note
Not compatible with Google Home.
- SONOFF POWCT
- Yes
- NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor
- Yes
Catalog note
Zigbee2MQTT supports this exact model, the SEM-4-1-00, and exposes power, voltage, current, AC frequency, power factor, apparent power and both consumed and produced energy | NodOn also lists Home Assistant among the compatible gateways for this model | Works with Home Assistant through ZHA and through Zigbee2MQTT.
- SONOFF POWCT
- Yes
- NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor
- No
Catalog note
The radio is Zigbee 3.0 only, with no Matter certification or Matter path documented for this model
- SONOFF POWCT
- SONOFF Hub required
Catalog note
The device is not Matter itself: SONOFF lists it among the eWeLink Wi-Fi models its Matter bridges (Zigbee Bridge Ultra, iHost, NSPanel Pro) republish into Matter.
- NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor
- Yes
Catalog note
NodOn lists SmartThings among the compatible gateways for this model, so it pairs with a SmartThings hub as a standard Zigbee 3.0 device
- SONOFF POWCT
- Yes
Local Control
- NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor
- No
Catalog note
A Zigbee end device with no IP stack and no documented serial interface, so there is nothing on the module itself to call directly; the data path belongs to whichever gateway hosts it
- SONOFF POWCT
- No
Catalog note
eWeLink LAN mode keeps control working without internet, but there is no documented device API
- NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor
- No
Catalog note
Nothing runs on the module itself: it is paired and configured from the Zigbee gateway, and it has only a status LED and a reset/pairing button
- SONOFF POWCT
- No
- NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor
- No
Catalog note
No native MQTT, though Zigbee2MQTT republishes the readings
- SONOFF POWCT
- No
Metering
- NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor
- ±1%
Manufacturer source
The stated energy-measurement tolerance is one percent.
NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor manufacturer product page →- Source section
- SEM-4-1-00 features and technical data
- Model
- NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor
- Region
- Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
- Firmware
- Not specified by this source
- Checked
Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.
Catalog note
Class 1.0 to IEC 61557-12, stated as a 1% tolerance, over a measurement range of 50 mA to 63 A and a base current of 10 A
- SONOFF POWCT
- Not recorded
- NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor
- Yes
Manufacturer source
Bidirectional measurement is specified.
NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor manufacturer product page →- Source section
- SEM-4-1-00 features and technical data
- Model
- NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor
- Region
- Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
- Firmware
- Not specified by this source
- Checked
Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.
Catalog note
Bidirectional measurement reports consumption and production separately, which is what makes solar self-consumption and export readable | Zigbee2MQTT exposes the consumed total as energy and the production side as produced_energy for this exact model
- SONOFF POWCT
- Yes
Manufacturer source
The meter measures imported and exported energy.
SONOFF POWCT manufacturer product page →- Source section
- Product description
- Model
- SONOFF POWCT
- Region
- Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
- Firmware
- Not specified by this source
- Checked
The dry contact is not a 100 A load-switching output. Follow the electrical installation instructions.
Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.
Catalog note
Separate counter for exported energy
- NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor
- Not applicable / unspecified
- SONOFF POWCT
- Not applicable / unspecified
- NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor
- Not applicable / unspecified
Catalog note
Inline measurement through the module's own terminals, with no current transformer involved
- SONOFF POWCT
- 1
Catalog note
One split-core 100 A clamp
- NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor
- Not applicable / unspecified
Catalog note
Rated up to 63 A directly on the circuit, without a current transformer
- SONOFF POWCT
- 100 A
Manufacturer source
The split-core current transformer measures up to 100 A.
SONOFF POWCT manufacturer product page →- Source section
- Product description
- Model
- SONOFF POWCT
- Region
- Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
- Firmware
- Not specified by this source
- Checked
The dry contact is not a 100 A load-switching output. Follow the electrical installation instructions.
Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.
- NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor
- 1
Manufacturer source
The meter monitors one circuit.
NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor manufacturer product page →- Source section
- SEM-4-1-00 features and technical data
- Model
- NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor
- Region
- Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
- Firmware
- Not specified by this source
- Checked
Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.
Catalog note
One 1P+N circuit: the line is wired through the meter's own terminals and the neutral passes alongside, so it meters a single circuit up to 63 A
- SONOFF POWCT
- 1
- NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor
- Yes
Catalog note
Reports voltage, current, active power, apparent power, power factor and AC frequency alongside the energy totals | Zigbee2MQTT exposes power_factor, power_apparent and ac_frequency for this exact model
- SONOFF POWCT
- No
Catalog note
Reports voltage, current, power and energy, but no power factor
- NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor
- No
Catalog note
Rated 110-240 V AC 50/60 Hz as a 1P+N single-phase meter, so a 120/240 V North American split-phase service with two hot legs is out of scope
- SONOFF POWCT
- No
Catalog note
Single clamp and one voltage input, so a 120/240 V split-phase service is out of scope
- NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor
- No
- SONOFF POWCT
- No
| Specification | NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor | SONOFF POWCT |
|---|---|---|
| Connectivity | ||
NoCatalog noteThe 2.4 GHz radio is Zigbee (IEEE 802.15.4), not Wi-Fi | YesCatalog noteExternal antenna on a lead so it can sit outside the panel | |
| No | No | |
| No | No | |
| No | No | |
| No | No | |
| No | No | |
| No | No | |
Zigbee Hub requiredCatalog noteZigbee 3.0 certified, 2.4 GHz, maximum radio power +10 dBm, so it joins an existing Zigbee network and needs a compatible coordinator or gateway | NodOn lists Home Assistant, SmartThings, Jeedom and Zigbee2MQTT as compatible gateways for this model | No | |
| Data Monitoring | ||
NoCatalog noteNot a native NodOn feature. Exporting the readings is a function of the home automation platform. | YesManufacturer sourceHistorical data can be exported. SONOFF POWCT manufacturer product page →
The dry contact is not a 100 A load-switching output. Follow the electrical installation instructions. Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant. Catalog noteHistory can be exported to a file from the eWeLink app | |
Not applicable / unspecifiedCatalog noteThe meter keeps no history of its own beyond its cumulative energy registers, and NodOn ships no app: retention is whatever the host gateway or Home Assistant keeps | 6 monthsManufacturer sourceHourly history is available for up to six months. SONOFF POWCT manufacturer product page →
The dry contact is not a 100 A load-switching output. Follow the electrical installation instructions. Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant. Catalog noteHour-by-hour records kept on the device, survives power cuts | |
NoCatalog noteNot a native NodOn feature. Any cost figure is calculated by the home automation platform from the readings. | Not recorded | |
YesCatalog noteNodOn advertises real-time monitoring of voltage, current, power and energy but publishes no reporting interval for this model | Not recorded | |
NoCatalog noteNot a native NodOn feature. Time-of-use pricing is a function of the home automation platform. | Not recorded | |
NoCatalog noteNot a native NodOn feature. Usage alerts are built in the home automation platform from the readings. | YesCatalog noteOverload alerts and protection thresholds | |
| Features | ||
YesCatalog noteThrough the compatible Zigbee gateway or Home Assistant, not on the device itself | Yes | |
YesCatalog noteNodOn lists load shedding on overconsumption among the meter's uses, driven by its readings | The switching itself is done by the compatible gateway or home automation system, not by the meter, which has no relay | YesCatalog noteOverload protection switches the contactor off above the configured threshold | |
NoCatalog noteNo switching output: the meter measures only and has no relay to cut a load | YesManufacturer sourceA 2 A dry-contact output can control an external contactor. SONOFF POWCT manufacturer product page →
The dry contact is not a 100 A load-switching output. Follow the electrical installation instructions. Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant. Catalog noteDry contact rated 2 A for contactor control | |
| Installation | ||
YesCatalog noteInstalled in-line inside the electrical panel on an existing circuit, next to the upstream protection device | Yes | |
YesCatalog noteOne 17.8 mm wide DIN module that clips onto the standard 35 mm rail inside the switchboard | Yes | |
| Mains (110-240 V) | Mains (100-240 V) | |
| No | No | |
| Integrations | ||
NoCatalog noteNot compatible with Amazon Alexa. | Yes | |
NoCatalog noteNot compatible with Apple Home. | SONOFF Hub requiredCatalog noteSONOFF lists this model among the eWeLink Wi-Fi devices its Matter bridges (Zigbee Bridge Ultra, iHost, NSPanel Pro) publish to Matter, which is how it reaches the Apple Home app. | |
NoCatalog noteNot compatible with Google Home. | Yes | |
YesCatalog noteZigbee2MQTT supports this exact model, the SEM-4-1-00, and exposes power, voltage, current, AC frequency, power factor, apparent power and both consumed and produced energy | NodOn also lists Home Assistant among the compatible gateways for this model | Works with Home Assistant through ZHA and through Zigbee2MQTT. | Yes | |
NoCatalog noteThe radio is Zigbee 3.0 only, with no Matter certification or Matter path documented for this model | SONOFF Hub requiredCatalog noteThe device is not Matter itself: SONOFF lists it among the eWeLink Wi-Fi models its Matter bridges (Zigbee Bridge Ultra, iHost, NSPanel Pro) republish into Matter. | |
YesCatalog noteNodOn lists SmartThings among the compatible gateways for this model, so it pairs with a SmartThings hub as a standard Zigbee 3.0 device | Yes | |
| Local Control | ||
NoCatalog noteA Zigbee end device with no IP stack and no documented serial interface, so there is nothing on the module itself to call directly; the data path belongs to whichever gateway hosts it | NoCatalog noteeWeLink LAN mode keeps control working without internet, but there is no documented device API | |
NoCatalog noteNothing runs on the module itself: it is paired and configured from the Zigbee gateway, and it has only a status LED and a reset/pairing button | No | |
NoCatalog noteNo native MQTT, though Zigbee2MQTT republishes the readings | No | |
| Metering | ||
±1%Manufacturer sourceThe stated energy-measurement tolerance is one percent. NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor manufacturer product page →
Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant. Catalog noteClass 1.0 to IEC 61557-12, stated as a 1% tolerance, over a measurement range of 50 mA to 63 A and a base current of 10 A | Not recorded | |
YesManufacturer sourceBidirectional measurement is specified. NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor manufacturer product page →
Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant. Catalog noteBidirectional measurement reports consumption and production separately, which is what makes solar self-consumption and export readable | Zigbee2MQTT exposes the consumed total as energy and the production side as produced_energy for this exact model | YesManufacturer sourceThe meter measures imported and exported energy. SONOFF POWCT manufacturer product page →
The dry contact is not a 100 A load-switching output. Follow the electrical installation instructions. Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant. Catalog noteSeparate counter for exported energy | |
| Not applicable / unspecified | Not applicable / unspecified | |
Not applicable / unspecifiedCatalog noteInline measurement through the module's own terminals, with no current transformer involved | 1Catalog noteOne split-core 100 A clamp | |
Not applicable / unspecifiedCatalog noteRated up to 63 A directly on the circuit, without a current transformer | 100 AManufacturer sourceThe split-core current transformer measures up to 100 A. SONOFF POWCT manufacturer product page →
The dry contact is not a 100 A load-switching output. Follow the electrical installation instructions. Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant. | |
1Manufacturer sourceThe meter monitors one circuit. NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor manufacturer product page →
Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant. Catalog noteOne 1P+N circuit: the line is wired through the meter's own terminals and the neutral passes alongside, so it meters a single circuit up to 63 A | 1 | |
YesCatalog noteReports voltage, current, active power, apparent power, power factor and AC frequency alongside the energy totals | Zigbee2MQTT exposes power_factor, power_apparent and ac_frequency for this exact model | NoCatalog noteReports voltage, current, power and energy, but no power factor | |
NoCatalog noteRated 110-240 V AC 50/60 Hz as a 1P+N single-phase meter, so a 120/240 V North American split-phase service with two hot legs is out of scope | NoCatalog noteSingle clamp and one voltage input, so a 120/240 V split-phase service is out of scope | |
| No | No | |
Know what’s behind the comparison.
The table matches specifications by section and field. It preserves notes, separates missing data from explicit “No” values, and keeps qualifications attached to their values. No overall winner is assigned from feature counts.
Read our comparison methodology