
The Smart Device Compare comparison
Shelly Pro EM-50 vs Sonoff MINI PM Zigbee Power Meter (Non-Switch)
Understand the differences. Decide what matters to your home.
Build another comparison →Before you compare every specification
Key differences between Shelly Pro EM-50 and Sonoff MINI PM Zigbee Power Meter (Non-Switch)
A summary of selected recorded differences between these energy monitors. Check the full specification table below for details and conditions.
- 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi (connectivity): Shelly Pro EM-50 — Yes; Sonoff MINI PM Zigbee Power Meter (Non-Switch) — No (The Wi-Fi version of this meter is a separate model, the MINI-1GP).
- Ethernet (connectivity): Shelly Pro EM-50 — Yes; Sonoff MINI PM Zigbee Power Meter (Non-Switch) — No.
- Load Management (features): Shelly Pro EM-50 — Yes (Configurable load control to divert surplus PV production); Sonoff MINI PM Zigbee Power Meter (Non-Switch) — No (With no relay it can raise a threshold alert or trigger a separate smart device to cut the load, but it cannot shed the circuit it measures).
- Relay Output (features): Shelly Pro EM-50 — Yes (Integrated switch with potential-free contacts, 2 A at 240 V); Sonoff MINI PM Zigbee Power Meter (Non-Switch) — No (SONOFF states this is a non-switch product that does not support device control, and its own comparison leaves the On/Off row empty for this model).
- Other (connectivity): Shelly Pro EM-50 — Modbus; Sonoff MINI PM Zigbee Power Meter (Non-Switch) — No.
- Zigbee (connectivity): Shelly Pro EM-50 — No; Sonoff MINI PM Zigbee Power Meter (Non-Switch) — Zigbee Hub required (Zigbee 3.0 over IEEE 802.15.4 on an EFR32MG21, and it joins as a Zigbee router, so it repeats the mesh for other devices | SONOFF rates the link to the gateway at 180 metres by default and 250 metres with Turbo mode on).
- Data History (data monitoring): Shelly Pro EM-50 — 60 days (At least 60 days of 1-minute data stored on the device); Sonoff MINI PM Zigbee Power Meter (Non-Switch) — 1 year (Cloud storage of up to one year of energy data, and an offline device keeps recording locally and re-syncs once it reconnects. SONOFF's own specs tab states 180 days in one paragraph, against one year in the knowledge center, on the feature graphic and on the Amazon listing.).
- Power Supply (installation): Shelly Pro EM-50 — Mains (100-260 V); Sonoff MINI PM Zigbee Power Meter (Non-Switch) — Mains (100-240 V).
- 5 of 39 comparison fields lack a resolved value for at least one selected device. Missing information is not evidence that a feature is absent.
- Check the full table and manufacturer documentation before ruling out a device.
These observations are derived from recorded catalog data and have not all been independently verified. Confirm details with the manufacturer before purchasing.
Compare capabilities, compatibility and setup requirements.


Option 2 · Sonoff
Sonoff MINI PM Zigbee Power Meter (Non-Switch)
Last updated October 2026
View full device profileWhat the catalog tells us
Understand the tradeoffs.
These counts describe the available data, not a quality score. More features do not automatically make a better device.
Consider your setup
Apple Home
- Shelly Pro EM-50No
- Sonoff MINI PM Zigbee Power Meter (Non-Switch)SONOFF Hub required
Confirm which features appear in Apple Home and whether extra hardware or a subscription is needed for your intended use.
Inspect the specificationsConsider your setup
Matter
- Shelly Pro EM-50No
- Sonoff MINI PM Zigbee Power Meter (Non-Switch)SONOFF Hub required
Confirm the exact device type and the features exposed in your chosen platform. Protocol support does not establish feature parity across apps.
Inspect the specificationsYour priorities, side by side
Focus on what changes.
Mark the specifications you care about. Open manufacturer sources for verification scope; fields without citations remain catalog data. Expand notes for other qualifications.
Showing 39 of 39 rows. “Not recorded” does not mean “No”.
Connectivity
- Shelly Pro EM-50
- Yes
- Sonoff MINI PM Zigbee Power Meter (Non-Switch)
- No
Catalog note
The Wi-Fi version of this meter is a separate model, the MINI-1GP
- Shelly Pro EM-50
- No
- Sonoff MINI PM Zigbee Power Meter (Non-Switch)
- No
- Shelly Pro EM-50
- Yes
Catalog note
Bluetooth 4.2, also works as a Bluetooth gateway
- Sonoff MINI PM Zigbee Power Meter (Non-Switch)
- Yes
Catalog note
SONOFF's own comparison lists the connectivity as Zigbee 3.0/BLE, and the knowledge center documents a Bluetooth pairing mode on the button, available once the meter is paired with a Zigbee gateway
- Shelly Pro EM-50
- Yes
- Sonoff MINI PM Zigbee Power Meter (Non-Switch)
- No
- Shelly Pro EM-50
- Modbus
- Sonoff MINI PM Zigbee Power Meter (Non-Switch)
- No
- Shelly Pro EM-50
- No
- Sonoff MINI PM Zigbee Power Meter (Non-Switch)
- No
- Shelly Pro EM-50
- No
- Sonoff MINI PM Zigbee Power Meter (Non-Switch)
- No
- Shelly Pro EM-50
- No
- Sonoff MINI PM Zigbee Power Meter (Non-Switch)
- Zigbee Hub required
Catalog note
Zigbee 3.0 over IEEE 802.15.4 on an EFR32MG21, and it joins as a Zigbee router, so it repeats the mesh for other devices | SONOFF rates the link to the gateway at 180 metres by default and 250 metres with Turbo mode on
Data Monitoring
- Shelly Pro EM-50
- Yes
Catalog note
CSV export of the consumption chart
- Sonoff MINI PM Zigbee Power Meter (Non-Switch)
- Yes
Manufacturer source
Energy data export is described.
Sonoff MINI PM Zigbee Power Meter (Non-Switch) — manufacturer product description →- Source section
- Product description / feature descriptions
- Model
- MINI-ZB1GP
- Region
- Manufacturer listing for the named model/variant; regional equivalence has not been established
- Firmware
- Not specified by this source
- Checked
This product measures energy and does not switch the attached load.
Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.
Catalog note
Energy data and electricity bills export to a spreadsheet from the app
- Shelly Pro EM-50
- 60 days
Catalog note
At least 60 days of 1-minute data stored on the device
- Sonoff MINI PM Zigbee Power Meter (Non-Switch)
- 1 year
Catalog note
Cloud storage of up to one year of energy data, and an offline device keeps recording locally and re-syncs once it reconnects. SONOFF's own specs tab states 180 days in one paragraph, against one year in the knowledge center, on the feature graphic and on the Amazon listing.
- Shelly Pro EM-50
- Yes
- Sonoff MINI PM Zigbee Power Meter (Non-Switch)
- Yes
Catalog note
Custom currency and electricity rate, with the bill broken down in charts in the eWeLink app
- Shelly Pro EM-50
- Not recorded
- Sonoff MINI PM Zigbee Power Meter (Non-Switch)
- Not recorded
Catalog note
SONOFF advertises real-time voltage, current and power but publishes no reporting interval, and the Zigbee2MQTT converter does not state one either
- Shelly Pro EM-50
- Yes
Catalog note
Cost periods and tariff distribution in the Shelly Smart Control app
- Sonoff MINI PM Zigbee Power Meter (Non-Switch)
- Yes
Manufacturer source
Time-of-use tariff calculations are described.
Sonoff MINI PM Zigbee Power Meter (Non-Switch) — manufacturer product description →- Source section
- Product description / feature descriptions
- Model
- MINI-ZB1GP
- Region
- Manufacturer listing for the named model/variant; regional equivalence has not been established
- Firmware
- Not specified by this source
- Checked
This product measures energy and does not switch the attached load.
Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.
Catalog note
Fixed or time-of-use tariffs, with consumption and cost shown per pricing period
- Shelly Pro EM-50
- Yes
- Sonoff MINI PM Zigbee Power Meter (Non-Switch)
- Yes
Catalog note
Overcurrent, overpower, overvoltage and undervoltage thresholds, plus a run completion alert with a delay that ignores a washer's fill and drain dips, and a maintenance reminder based on accumulated runtime above a power threshold | Zigbee2MQTT exposes the same thresholds as a settable power_protector object and reports the overload alarm
Features
- Shelly Pro EM-50
- Yes
- Sonoff MINI PM Zigbee Power Meter (Non-Switch)
- Yes
Catalog note
Smart Scene in eWeLink, and SONOFF's hub table keeps scenes working through Zigbee2MQTT, ZHA and SmartThings as well
- Shelly Pro EM-50
- Yes
Catalog note
Configurable load control to divert surplus PV production
- Sonoff MINI PM Zigbee Power Meter (Non-Switch)
- No
Catalog note
With no relay it can raise a threshold alert or trigger a separate smart device to cut the load, but it cannot shed the circuit it measures
- Shelly Pro EM-50
- Yes
Catalog note
Integrated switch with potential-free contacts, 2 A at 240 V
- Sonoff MINI PM Zigbee Power Meter (Non-Switch)
- No
Catalog note
SONOFF states this is a non-switch product that does not support device control, and its own comparison leaves the On/Off row empty for this model
Installation
- Shelly Pro EM-50
- Yes
- Sonoff MINI PM Zigbee Power Meter (Non-Switch)
- Yes
Catalog note
Indoor concealed installation: it wires into live and neutral behind a socket or inside an embedded box, and SONOFF recommends a wall box at least 60 mm deep
- Shelly Pro EM-50
- Yes
Catalog note
One DIN module wide
- Sonoff MINI PM Zigbee Power Meter (Non-Switch)
- No
Catalog note
Indoor concealed installation only, with no rail clip
- Shelly Pro EM-50
- Mains (100-260 V)
- Sonoff MINI PM Zigbee Power Meter (Non-Switch)
- Mains (100-240 V)
- Shelly Pro EM-50
- No
- Sonoff MINI PM Zigbee Power Meter (Non-Switch)
- No
Integrations
- Shelly Pro EM-50
- Yes
- Sonoff MINI PM Zigbee Power Meter (Non-Switch)
- Yes
Catalog note
SONOFF's platform table lists Alexa three ways for this model: through eWeLink account linking, through a SONOFF Matter bridge, or directly on an Echo with a built-in Zigbee hub
- Shelly Pro EM-50
- No
- Sonoff MINI PM Zigbee Power Meter (Non-Switch)
- SONOFF Hub required
Catalog note
SONOFF's platform table marks Apple Home as available only via a Matter bridge (ZBBridge-U, iHost or eWeLink CUBE with a SONOFF Zigbee dongle). Apple Home has no Zigbee radio of its own.
- Shelly Pro EM-50
- Yes
- Sonoff MINI PM Zigbee Power Meter (Non-Switch)
- Yes
Catalog note
SONOFF's platform table lists Google Home for this model, reached by adding the meter to eWeLink through a SONOFF Zigbee gateway and linking the account, or through a SONOFF Matter bridge
- Shelly Pro EM-50
- Yes
- Sonoff MINI PM Zigbee Power Meter (Non-Switch)
- Yes
Catalog note
Zigbee2MQTT supports this exact model from version 2.11.0 and exposes power, current, voltage, daily, monthly and total energy in both directions, the overload alarm, the protection thresholds, the network indicator and turbo mode | ZHA works through the setup script SONOFF publishes in its knowledge center while the native support pull request is still pending review
- Shelly Pro EM-50
- No
- Sonoff MINI PM Zigbee Power Meter (Non-Switch)
- SONOFF Hub required
Catalog note
The meter itself is Zigbee, not Matter: SONOFF republishes it into Matter through its own bridges (ZBBridge-U, iHost, eWeLink CUBE with a SONOFF Zigbee dongle).
- Shelly Pro EM-50
- Yes
Catalog note
Via the official Shelly Cloud integration
- Sonoff MINI PM Zigbee Power Meter (Non-Switch)
- Yes
Catalog note
SONOFF's compatible hub table lists SmartThings through the Aeotec Smart Home Hub (V3), which pairs the meter as a standard Zigbee device and reads power; a SmartThings driver has to be imported manually to see the energy figures
Local Control
- Shelly Pro EM-50
- Yes
Catalog note
RPC over HTTPS and WebSocket, UDP, webhooks, scripting and Modbus TCP
- Sonoff MINI PM Zigbee Power Meter (Non-Switch)
- No
Catalog note
A Zigbee end device with no IP stack, so there is nothing on the module to call directly; the API belongs to whichever gateway hosts it
- Shelly Pro EM-50
- Yes
- Sonoff MINI PM Zigbee Power Meter (Non-Switch)
- No
Catalog note
Nothing runs on the module itself: it is configured from the eWeLink app or from the Zigbee gateway
- Shelly Pro EM-50
- Yes
- Sonoff MINI PM Zigbee Power Meter (Non-Switch)
- No
Catalog note
No native MQTT, though Zigbee2MQTT republishes the readings
Metering
- Shelly Pro EM-50
- ±1%
Catalog note
Accuracy Class B for active energy, ±1% from 5 A to 50 A
- Sonoff MINI PM Zigbee Power Meter (Non-Switch)
- Not recorded
Catalog note
SONOFF publishes measurement ranges (100-240 V, 0-16 A, 0-3840 W) but no accuracy figure for this model, on the product page or in the knowledge center
- Shelly Pro EM-50
- Yes
Catalog note
4 quadrant measurement with a returned energy counter
- Sonoff MINI PM Zigbee Power Meter (Non-Switch)
- Yes
Catalog note
SONOFF's FAQ confirms bi-directional metering and lets the app record generation as a negative value, which is what makes a balcony solar circuit readable | Zigbee2MQTT exposes the export side separately as output_energy_today, output_energy_month and total_output_energy
- Shelly Pro EM-50
- Not applicable / unspecified
- Sonoff MINI PM Zigbee Power Meter (Non-Switch)
- Not applicable / unspecified
- Shelly Pro EM-50
- 2
Catalog note
2 x 50 A current transformers
- Sonoff MINI PM Zigbee Power Meter (Non-Switch)
- Not applicable / unspecified
Catalog note
Inline measurement through the module's own terminals, with no current transformer involved
- Shelly Pro EM-50
- 50 A
- Sonoff MINI PM Zigbee Power Meter (Non-Switch)
- Not applicable / unspecified
- Shelly Pro EM-50
- 2
- Sonoff MINI PM Zigbee Power Meter (Non-Switch)
- 1
Catalog note
One circuit, the line wired through its L and L Out terminals
- Shelly Pro EM-50
- Yes
Catalog note
Active and apparent power, power factor, frequency and voltage
- Sonoff MINI PM Zigbee Power Meter (Non-Switch)
- No
Catalog note
SONOFF documents real-time voltage, current, power and accumulated energy, and the Zigbee2MQTT expose list carries no power factor attribute
- Shelly Pro EM-50
- No
Catalog note
Single-phase device with two current channels
- Sonoff MINI PM Zigbee Power Meter (Non-Switch)
- No
Catalog note
Rated 100-240V~ 50/60Hz on a single line, so a 120/240 V split-phase service is out of scope
- Shelly Pro EM-50
- No
- Sonoff MINI PM Zigbee Power Meter (Non-Switch)
- No
| Specification | Shelly Pro EM-50 | Sonoff MINI PM Zigbee Power Meter (Non-Switch) |
|---|---|---|
| Connectivity | ||
| Yes | NoCatalog noteThe Wi-Fi version of this meter is a separate model, the MINI-1GP | |
| No | No | |
YesCatalog noteBluetooth 4.2, also works as a Bluetooth gateway | YesCatalog noteSONOFF's own comparison lists the connectivity as Zigbee 3.0/BLE, and the knowledge center documents a Bluetooth pairing mode on the button, available once the meter is paired with a Zigbee gateway | |
| Yes | No | |
| Modbus | No | |
| No | No | |
| No | No | |
| No | Zigbee Hub requiredCatalog noteZigbee 3.0 over IEEE 802.15.4 on an EFR32MG21, and it joins as a Zigbee router, so it repeats the mesh for other devices | SONOFF rates the link to the gateway at 180 metres by default and 250 metres with Turbo mode on | |
| Data Monitoring | ||
YesCatalog noteCSV export of the consumption chart | YesManufacturer sourceEnergy data export is described. Sonoff MINI PM Zigbee Power Meter (Non-Switch) — manufacturer product description →
This product measures energy and does not switch the attached load. Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant. Catalog noteEnergy data and electricity bills export to a spreadsheet from the app | |
60 daysCatalog noteAt least 60 days of 1-minute data stored on the device | 1 yearCatalog noteCloud storage of up to one year of energy data, and an offline device keeps recording locally and re-syncs once it reconnects. SONOFF's own specs tab states 180 days in one paragraph, against one year in the knowledge center, on the feature graphic and on the Amazon listing. | |
| Yes | YesCatalog noteCustom currency and electricity rate, with the bill broken down in charts in the eWeLink app | |
| Not recorded | Not recordedCatalog noteSONOFF advertises real-time voltage, current and power but publishes no reporting interval, and the Zigbee2MQTT converter does not state one either | |
YesCatalog noteCost periods and tariff distribution in the Shelly Smart Control app | YesManufacturer sourceTime-of-use tariff calculations are described. Sonoff MINI PM Zigbee Power Meter (Non-Switch) — manufacturer product description →
This product measures energy and does not switch the attached load. Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant. Catalog noteFixed or time-of-use tariffs, with consumption and cost shown per pricing period | |
| Yes | YesCatalog noteOvercurrent, overpower, overvoltage and undervoltage thresholds, plus a run completion alert with a delay that ignores a washer's fill and drain dips, and a maintenance reminder based on accumulated runtime above a power threshold | Zigbee2MQTT exposes the same thresholds as a settable power_protector object and reports the overload alarm | |
| Features | ||
| Yes | YesCatalog noteSmart Scene in eWeLink, and SONOFF's hub table keeps scenes working through Zigbee2MQTT, ZHA and SmartThings as well | |
YesCatalog noteConfigurable load control to divert surplus PV production | NoCatalog noteWith no relay it can raise a threshold alert or trigger a separate smart device to cut the load, but it cannot shed the circuit it measures | |
YesCatalog noteIntegrated switch with potential-free contacts, 2 A at 240 V | NoCatalog noteSONOFF states this is a non-switch product that does not support device control, and its own comparison leaves the On/Off row empty for this model | |
| Installation | ||
| Yes | YesCatalog noteIndoor concealed installation: it wires into live and neutral behind a socket or inside an embedded box, and SONOFF recommends a wall box at least 60 mm deep | |
YesCatalog noteOne DIN module wide | NoCatalog noteIndoor concealed installation only, with no rail clip | |
| Mains (100-260 V) | Mains (100-240 V) | |
| No | No | |
| Integrations | ||
| Yes | YesCatalog noteSONOFF's platform table lists Alexa three ways for this model: through eWeLink account linking, through a SONOFF Matter bridge, or directly on an Echo with a built-in Zigbee hub | |
| No | SONOFF Hub requiredCatalog noteSONOFF's platform table marks Apple Home as available only via a Matter bridge (ZBBridge-U, iHost or eWeLink CUBE with a SONOFF Zigbee dongle). Apple Home has no Zigbee radio of its own. | |
| Yes | YesCatalog noteSONOFF's platform table lists Google Home for this model, reached by adding the meter to eWeLink through a SONOFF Zigbee gateway and linking the account, or through a SONOFF Matter bridge | |
| Yes | YesCatalog noteZigbee2MQTT supports this exact model from version 2.11.0 and exposes power, current, voltage, daily, monthly and total energy in both directions, the overload alarm, the protection thresholds, the network indicator and turbo mode | ZHA works through the setup script SONOFF publishes in its knowledge center while the native support pull request is still pending review | |
| No | SONOFF Hub requiredCatalog noteThe meter itself is Zigbee, not Matter: SONOFF republishes it into Matter through its own bridges (ZBBridge-U, iHost, eWeLink CUBE with a SONOFF Zigbee dongle). | |
YesCatalog noteVia the official Shelly Cloud integration | YesCatalog noteSONOFF's compatible hub table lists SmartThings through the Aeotec Smart Home Hub (V3), which pairs the meter as a standard Zigbee device and reads power; a SmartThings driver has to be imported manually to see the energy figures | |
| Local Control | ||
YesCatalog noteRPC over HTTPS and WebSocket, UDP, webhooks, scripting and Modbus TCP | NoCatalog noteA Zigbee end device with no IP stack, so there is nothing on the module to call directly; the API belongs to whichever gateway hosts it | |
| Yes | NoCatalog noteNothing runs on the module itself: it is configured from the eWeLink app or from the Zigbee gateway | |
| Yes | NoCatalog noteNo native MQTT, though Zigbee2MQTT republishes the readings | |
| Metering | ||
±1%Catalog noteAccuracy Class B for active energy, ±1% from 5 A to 50 A | Not recordedCatalog noteSONOFF publishes measurement ranges (100-240 V, 0-16 A, 0-3840 W) but no accuracy figure for this model, on the product page or in the knowledge center | |
YesCatalog note4 quadrant measurement with a returned energy counter | YesCatalog noteSONOFF's FAQ confirms bi-directional metering and lets the app record generation as a negative value, which is what makes a balcony solar circuit readable | Zigbee2MQTT exposes the export side separately as output_energy_today, output_energy_month and total_output_energy | |
| Not applicable / unspecified | Not applicable / unspecified | |
2Catalog note2 x 50 A current transformers | Not applicable / unspecifiedCatalog noteInline measurement through the module's own terminals, with no current transformer involved | |
| 50 A | Not applicable / unspecified | |
| 2 | 1Catalog noteOne circuit, the line wired through its L and L Out terminals | |
YesCatalog noteActive and apparent power, power factor, frequency and voltage | NoCatalog noteSONOFF documents real-time voltage, current, power and accumulated energy, and the Zigbee2MQTT expose list carries no power factor attribute | |
NoCatalog noteSingle-phase device with two current channels | NoCatalog noteRated 100-240V~ 50/60Hz on a single line, so a 120/240 V split-phase service is out of scope | |
| No | No | |
Know what’s behind the comparison.
The table matches specifications by section and field. It preserves notes, separates missing data from explicit “No” values, and keeps qualifications attached to their values. No overall winner is assigned from feature counts.
Read our comparison methodology