The Smart Device Compare comparison

Shelly Pro EM-50 vs SONOFF POWCT

Understand the differences. Decide what matters to your home.

Build another comparison →

Before you compare every specification

Key differences between Shelly Pro EM-50 and SONOFF POWCT

A summary of selected recorded differences between these energy monitors. Check the full specification table below for details and conditions.

Feature differences among your selected devices
  • Bluetooth (connectivity): Shelly Pro EM-50 — Yes (Bluetooth 4.2, also works as a Bluetooth gateway); SONOFF POWCT — No.
  • Ethernet (connectivity): Shelly Pro EM-50 — Yes; SONOFF POWCT — No.
  • Local Api (local control): Shelly Pro EM-50 — Yes (RPC over HTTPS and WebSocket, UDP, webhooks, scripting and Modbus TCP); SONOFF POWCT — No (eWeLink LAN mode keeps control working without internet, but there is no documented device API).
  • Local Web Interface (local control): Shelly Pro EM-50 — Yes; SONOFF POWCT — No.
Specifications to check side by side
  • Other (connectivity): Shelly Pro EM-50 — Modbus; SONOFF POWCT — No.
  • Data History (data monitoring): Shelly Pro EM-50 — 60 days (At least 60 days of 1-minute data stored on the device); SONOFF POWCT — 6 months (Hour-by-hour records kept on the device, survives power cuts).
  • Power Supply (installation): Shelly Pro EM-50 — Mains (100-260 V); SONOFF POWCT — Mains (100-240 V).
  • Apple Home (integrations): Shelly Pro EM-50 — No; SONOFF POWCT — SONOFF Hub required (SONOFF lists this model among the eWeLink Wi-Fi devices its Matter bridges (Zigbee Bridge Ultra, iHost, NSPanel Pro) publish to Matter, which is how it reaches the Apple Home app.).
Information still to confirm
  • 5 of 39 comparison fields lack a resolved value for at least one selected device. Missing information is not evidence that a feature is absent.
  • Check the full table and manufacturer documentation before ruling out a device.

These observations are derived from recorded catalog data and have not all been independently verified. Confirm details with the manufacturer before purchasing.

Compare capabilities, compatibility and setup requirements.

What the catalog tells us

Understand the tradeoffs.

These counts describe the available data, not a quality score. More features do not automatically make a better device.

14differences with recorded values for every device
5rows with missing or unspecified information

Consider your setup

Apple Home

  • Shelly Pro EM-50No
  • SONOFF POWCTSONOFF Hub required

Confirm which features appear in Apple Home and whether extra hardware or a subscription is needed for your intended use.

Inspect the specifications

Consider your setup

Matter

  • Shelly Pro EM-50No
  • SONOFF POWCTSONOFF Hub required

Confirm the exact device type and the features exposed in your chosen platform. Protocol support does not establish feature parity across apps.

Inspect the specifications

Your priorities, side by side

Focus on what changes.

Mark the specifications you care about. Open manufacturer sources for verification scope; fields without citations remain catalog data. Expand notes for other qualifications.

Showing 39 of 39 rows. “Not recorded” does not mean “No”.

Connectivity

Shelly Pro EM-50
Yes
SONOFF POWCT
Yes
Catalog note

External antenna on a lead so it can sit outside the panel

Shelly Pro EM-50
No
SONOFF POWCT
No
Shelly Pro EM-50
Yes
Catalog note

Bluetooth 4.2, also works as a Bluetooth gateway

SONOFF POWCT
No
Shelly Pro EM-50
Yes
SONOFF POWCT
No
Shelly Pro EM-50
Modbus
SONOFF POWCT
No
Shelly Pro EM-50
No
SONOFF POWCT
No
Shelly Pro EM-50
No
SONOFF POWCT
No
Shelly Pro EM-50
No
SONOFF POWCT
No

Data Monitoring

Shelly Pro EM-50
Yes
Catalog note

CSV export of the consumption chart

SONOFF POWCT
Yes
Manufacturer source

Historical data can be exported.

SONOFF POWCT manufacturer product page →
Source section
Product description
Model
SONOFF POWCT
Region
Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
Firmware
Not specified by this source
Checked

The dry contact is not a 100 A load-switching output. Follow the electrical installation instructions.

Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.

Catalog note

History can be exported to a file from the eWeLink app

Shelly Pro EM-50
60 days
Catalog note

At least 60 days of 1-minute data stored on the device

SONOFF POWCT
6 months
Manufacturer source

Hourly history is available for up to six months.

SONOFF POWCT manufacturer product page →
Source section
Product description
Model
SONOFF POWCT
Region
Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
Firmware
Not specified by this source
Checked

The dry contact is not a 100 A load-switching output. Follow the electrical installation instructions.

Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.

Catalog note

Hour-by-hour records kept on the device, survives power cuts

Shelly Pro EM-50
Yes
SONOFF POWCT
Not recorded
Shelly Pro EM-50
Not recorded
SONOFF POWCT
Not recorded
Shelly Pro EM-50
Yes
Catalog note

Cost periods and tariff distribution in the Shelly Smart Control app

SONOFF POWCT
Not recorded
Shelly Pro EM-50
Yes
SONOFF POWCT
Yes
Catalog note

Overload alerts and protection thresholds

Features

Shelly Pro EM-50
Yes
SONOFF POWCT
Yes
Shelly Pro EM-50
Yes
Catalog note

Configurable load control to divert surplus PV production

SONOFF POWCT
Yes
Catalog note

Overload protection switches the contactor off above the configured threshold

Shelly Pro EM-50
Yes
Catalog note

Integrated switch with potential-free contacts, 2 A at 240 V

SONOFF POWCT
Yes
Manufacturer source

A 2 A dry-contact output can control an external contactor.

SONOFF POWCT manufacturer product page →
Source section
Product description
Model
SONOFF POWCT
Region
Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
Firmware
Not specified by this source
Checked

The dry contact is not a 100 A load-switching output. Follow the electrical installation instructions.

Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.

Catalog note

Dry contact rated 2 A for contactor control

Installation

Shelly Pro EM-50
Yes
SONOFF POWCT
Yes
Shelly Pro EM-50
Yes
Catalog note

One DIN module wide

SONOFF POWCT
Yes
Shelly Pro EM-50
Mains (100-260 V)
SONOFF POWCT
Mains (100-240 V)
Shelly Pro EM-50
No
SONOFF POWCT
No

Integrations

Shelly Pro EM-50
Yes
SONOFF POWCT
Yes
Shelly Pro EM-50
No
SONOFF POWCT
SONOFF Hub required
Catalog note

SONOFF lists this model among the eWeLink Wi-Fi devices its Matter bridges (Zigbee Bridge Ultra, iHost, NSPanel Pro) publish to Matter, which is how it reaches the Apple Home app.

Shelly Pro EM-50
Yes
SONOFF POWCT
Yes
Shelly Pro EM-50
Yes
SONOFF POWCT
Yes
Shelly Pro EM-50
No
SONOFF POWCT
SONOFF Hub required
Catalog note

The device is not Matter itself: SONOFF lists it among the eWeLink Wi-Fi models its Matter bridges (Zigbee Bridge Ultra, iHost, NSPanel Pro) republish into Matter.

Shelly Pro EM-50
Yes
Catalog note

Via the official Shelly Cloud integration

SONOFF POWCT
Yes

Local Control

Shelly Pro EM-50
Yes
Catalog note

RPC over HTTPS and WebSocket, UDP, webhooks, scripting and Modbus TCP

SONOFF POWCT
No
Catalog note

eWeLink LAN mode keeps control working without internet, but there is no documented device API

Shelly Pro EM-50
Yes
SONOFF POWCT
No
Shelly Pro EM-50
Yes
SONOFF POWCT
No

Metering

Shelly Pro EM-50
±1%
Catalog note

Accuracy Class B for active energy, ±1% from 5 A to 50 A

SONOFF POWCT
Not recorded
Shelly Pro EM-50
Yes
Catalog note

4 quadrant measurement with a returned energy counter

SONOFF POWCT
Yes
Manufacturer source

The meter measures imported and exported energy.

SONOFF POWCT manufacturer product page →
Source section
Product description
Model
SONOFF POWCT
Region
Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
Firmware
Not specified by this source
Checked

The dry contact is not a 100 A load-switching output. Follow the electrical installation instructions.

Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.

Catalog note

Separate counter for exported energy

Shelly Pro EM-50
Not applicable / unspecified
SONOFF POWCT
Not applicable / unspecified
Shelly Pro EM-50
2
Catalog note

2 x 50 A current transformers

SONOFF POWCT
1
Catalog note

One split-core 100 A clamp

Shelly Pro EM-50
50 A
SONOFF POWCT
100 A
Manufacturer source

The split-core current transformer measures up to 100 A.

SONOFF POWCT manufacturer product page →
Source section
Product description
Model
SONOFF POWCT
Region
Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
Firmware
Not specified by this source
Checked

The dry contact is not a 100 A load-switching output. Follow the electrical installation instructions.

Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.

Shelly Pro EM-50
2
SONOFF POWCT
1
Shelly Pro EM-50
Yes
Catalog note

Active and apparent power, power factor, frequency and voltage

SONOFF POWCT
No
Catalog note

Reports voltage, current, power and energy, but no power factor

Shelly Pro EM-50
No
Catalog note

Single-phase device with two current channels

SONOFF POWCT
No
Catalog note

Single clamp and one voltage input, so a 120/240 V split-phase service is out of scope

Shelly Pro EM-50
No
SONOFF POWCT
No
Specifications for Shelly Pro EM-50 versus SONOFF POWCT
SpecificationShelly Pro EM-50SONOFF POWCT
Connectivity
YesYes
Catalog note

External antenna on a lead so it can sit outside the panel

NoNo
Yes
Catalog note

Bluetooth 4.2, also works as a Bluetooth gateway

No
YesNo
ModbusNo
NoNo
NoNo
NoNo
Data Monitoring
Yes
Catalog note

CSV export of the consumption chart

Yes
Manufacturer source

Historical data can be exported.

SONOFF POWCT manufacturer product page →
Source section
Product description
Model
SONOFF POWCT
Region
Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
Firmware
Not specified by this source
Checked

The dry contact is not a 100 A load-switching output. Follow the electrical installation instructions.

Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.

Catalog note

History can be exported to a file from the eWeLink app

60 days
Catalog note

At least 60 days of 1-minute data stored on the device

6 months
Manufacturer source

Hourly history is available for up to six months.

SONOFF POWCT manufacturer product page →
Source section
Product description
Model
SONOFF POWCT
Region
Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
Firmware
Not specified by this source
Checked

The dry contact is not a 100 A load-switching output. Follow the electrical installation instructions.

Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.

Catalog note

Hour-by-hour records kept on the device, survives power cuts

YesNot recorded
Not recordedNot recorded
Yes
Catalog note

Cost periods and tariff distribution in the Shelly Smart Control app

Not recorded
YesYes
Catalog note

Overload alerts and protection thresholds

Features
YesYes
Yes
Catalog note

Configurable load control to divert surplus PV production

Yes
Catalog note

Overload protection switches the contactor off above the configured threshold

Yes
Catalog note

Integrated switch with potential-free contacts, 2 A at 240 V

Yes
Manufacturer source

A 2 A dry-contact output can control an external contactor.

SONOFF POWCT manufacturer product page →
Source section
Product description
Model
SONOFF POWCT
Region
Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
Firmware
Not specified by this source
Checked

The dry contact is not a 100 A load-switching output. Follow the electrical installation instructions.

Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.

Catalog note

Dry contact rated 2 A for contactor control

Installation
YesYes
Yes
Catalog note

One DIN module wide

Yes
Mains (100-260 V)Mains (100-240 V)
NoNo
Integrations
YesYes
NoSONOFF Hub required
Catalog note

SONOFF lists this model among the eWeLink Wi-Fi devices its Matter bridges (Zigbee Bridge Ultra, iHost, NSPanel Pro) publish to Matter, which is how it reaches the Apple Home app.

YesYes
YesYes
NoSONOFF Hub required
Catalog note

The device is not Matter itself: SONOFF lists it among the eWeLink Wi-Fi models its Matter bridges (Zigbee Bridge Ultra, iHost, NSPanel Pro) republish into Matter.

Yes
Catalog note

Via the official Shelly Cloud integration

Yes
Local Control
Yes
Catalog note

RPC over HTTPS and WebSocket, UDP, webhooks, scripting and Modbus TCP

No
Catalog note

eWeLink LAN mode keeps control working without internet, but there is no documented device API

YesNo
YesNo
Metering
±1%
Catalog note

Accuracy Class B for active energy, ±1% from 5 A to 50 A

Not recorded
Yes
Catalog note

4 quadrant measurement with a returned energy counter

Yes
Manufacturer source

The meter measures imported and exported energy.

SONOFF POWCT manufacturer product page →
Source section
Product description
Model
SONOFF POWCT
Region
Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
Firmware
Not specified by this source
Checked

The dry contact is not a 100 A load-switching output. Follow the electrical installation instructions.

Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.

Catalog note

Separate counter for exported energy

Not applicable / unspecifiedNot applicable / unspecified
2
Catalog note

2 x 50 A current transformers

1
Catalog note

One split-core 100 A clamp

50 A100 A
Manufacturer source

The split-core current transformer measures up to 100 A.

SONOFF POWCT manufacturer product page →
Source section
Product description
Model
SONOFF POWCT
Region
Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
Firmware
Not specified by this source
Checked

The dry contact is not a 100 A load-switching output. Follow the electrical installation instructions.

Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.

21
Yes
Catalog note

Active and apparent power, power factor, frequency and voltage

No
Catalog note

Reports voltage, current, power and energy, but no power factor

No
Catalog note

Single-phase device with two current channels

No
Catalog note

Single clamp and one voltage input, so a 120/240 V split-phase service is out of scope

NoNo

Know what’s behind the comparison.

The table matches specifications by section and field. It preserves notes, separates missing data from explicit “No” values, and keeps qualifications attached to their values. No overall winner is assigned from feature counts.

Read our comparison methodology