The Smart Device Compare comparison

Lutron Caseta Smart Hub vs Sonoff Bridge Max

Understand the differences. Decide what matters to your home.

Build another comparison →

Before you compare every specification

Key differences between Lutron Caseta Smart Hub and Sonoff Bridge Max

A summary of selected recorded differences between these hubs. Check the full specification table below for details and conditions.

Feature differences among your selected devices
  • 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi (connectivity): Lutron Caseta Smart Hub — No (The smart hub has no Wi-Fi radio: it connects to a LAN port on the router with the included Ethernet cable.); Sonoff Bridge Max — Yes.
  • 5 GHz Wi-Fi (connectivity): Lutron Caseta Smart Hub — No; Sonoff Bridge Max — Yes (Dual-band Wi-Fi 6 (IEEE 802.11a/b/g/n/ac/ax); the FCC grant covers the 5180-5240 MHz and 5745-5825 MHz bands).
  • Speakers (hardware): Lutron Caseta Smart Hub — No; Sonoff Bridge Max — Yes (Built-in 90 dB alarm that Zigbee sensors can trigger as part of the local security system).
  • Bluetooth (protocols): Lutron Caseta Smart Hub — No; Sonoff Bridge Max — Yes (The Matter certification record states it connects and manages Bluetooth devices, including eWeLink-Remote and BTHome accessories).
Specifications to check side by side
  • Subdevices (features): Lutron Caseta Smart Hub — 75 (Supports up to 75 wireless devices (Caseta dimmers, plug-in dimmers and switches, Pico remotes, wireless shades); the hub itself counts as one of them.); Sonoff Bridge Max — 128 (Up to 128 Zigbee devices, the figure Sonoff publishes for stable operation, plus a further set of devices bridged in from Bluetooth, eWeLink and Home Assistant sources).
Information still to confirm
  • 3 of 31 comparison fields lack a resolved value for at least one selected device. Missing information is not evidence that a feature is absent.
  • Check the full table and manufacturer documentation before ruling out a device.

These observations are derived from recorded catalog data and have not all been independently verified. Confirm details with the manufacturer before purchasing.

Compare capabilities, compatibility and setup requirements.

What the catalog tells us

Understand the tradeoffs.

These counts describe the available data, not a quality score. More features do not automatically make a better device.

8differences with recorded values for every device
3rows with missing or unspecified information

Your priorities, side by side

Focus on what changes.

Mark the specifications you care about. Open manufacturer sources for verification scope; fields without citations remain catalog data. Expand notes for other qualifications.

Showing 31 of 31 rows. “Not recorded” does not mean “No”.

Connectivity

Lutron Caseta Smart Hub
No
Catalog note

The smart hub has no Wi-Fi radio: it connects to a LAN port on the router with the included Ethernet cable.

Sonoff Bridge Max
Yes
Lutron Caseta Smart Hub
No
Sonoff Bridge Max
Yes
Catalog note

Dual-band Wi-Fi 6 (IEEE 802.11a/b/g/n/ac/ax); the FCC grant covers the 5180-5240 MHz and 5745-5825 MHz bands

Lutron Caseta Smart Hub
Yes
Catalog note

Ethernet: 3 ft (0.92 m) cable included (for internet and Lutron App connection).

Sonoff Bridge Max
Yes
Catalog note

RJ45 port, 10/100Mbps

Features

Lutron Caseta Smart Hub
No
Sonoff Bridge Max
No
Lutron Caseta Smart Hub
No
Sonoff Bridge Max
No
Lutron Caseta Smart Hub
No
Sonoff Bridge Max
No
Lutron Caseta Smart Hub
75
Catalog note

Supports up to 75 wireless devices (Caseta dimmers, plug-in dimmers and switches, Pico remotes, wireless shades); the hub itself counts as one of them.

Sonoff Bridge Max
128
Manufacturer source

The bridge supports up to 128 compatible Zigbee devices.

Sonoff Bridge Max manufacturer product page →
Source section
Product description
Model
Sonoff Bridge Max
Region
Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
Firmware
Not specified by this source
Checked

Check the supported accessory and feature lists; bridge support does not guarantee every endpoint works.

Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.

Catalog note

Up to 128 Zigbee devices, the figure Sonoff publishes for stable operation, plus a further set of devices bridged in from Bluetooth, eWeLink and Home Assistant sources

Lutron Caseta Smart Hub
No
Sonoff Bridge Max
No

Hardware

Lutron Caseta Smart Hub
Not recorded
Sonoff Bridge Max
SigmaStar SSD2351Q + EFR32MG21
Catalog note

The official spec sheet lists the MCU as a SigmaStar SSD2351Q application processor paired with a Silicon Labs EFR32MG21 radio chip

Lutron Caseta Smart Hub
Not recorded
Sonoff Bridge Max
Not recorded
Lutron Caseta Smart Hub
No
Sonoff Bridge Max
No
Lutron Caseta Smart Hub
No
Sonoff Bridge Max
No
Catalog note

The only ports are the USB-C power input and the RJ45 Ethernet jack

Lutron Caseta Smart Hub
No
Sonoff Bridge Max
No
Catalog note

Powered over USB-C at 5V 1A; the RJ45 port carries 10/100Mbps data only

Lutron Caseta Smart Hub
No
Sonoff Bridge Max
Yes
Catalog note

Built-in 90 dB alarm that Zigbee sensors can trigger as part of the local security system

Lutron Caseta Smart Hub
Not recorded
Sonoff Bridge Max
Not recorded

Integrations

Lutron Caseta Smart Hub
Yes
Sonoff Bridge Max
Yes
Catalog note

Via Matter

Lutron Caseta Smart Hub
Yes
Catalog note

The smart hub contains Apple Home technology, so Siri can control the lights and shades it hosts.

Sonoff Bridge Max
Yes
Catalog note

Via Matter

Lutron Caseta Smart Hub
Yes
Sonoff Bridge Max
Yes
Catalog note

Via Matter

Lutron Caseta Smart Hub
Yes
Catalog note

The official Home Assistant Lutron Caseta integration lists this exact hub (L-BDG2-WH) among its supported hardware.

Sonoff Bridge Max
Yes
Manufacturer source

MQTT can synchronize supported Zigbee devices with Home Assistant.

Sonoff Bridge Max manufacturer product page →
Source section
Product description
Model
Sonoff Bridge Max
Region
Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
Firmware
Not specified by this source
Checked

Check the supported accessory and feature lists; bridge support does not guarantee every endpoint works.

Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.

Catalog note

Two documented paths: it publishes its Zigbee sub-devices to Home Assistant over MQTT, and it can also expose Home Assistant entities onward to other Matter platforms

Lutron Caseta Smart Hub
Yes
Catalog note

Lutron lists Samsung SmartThings as a Caseta partner: lights and shades are controlled from the SmartThings app.

Sonoff Bridge Max
Yes
Catalog note

Via Matter

Protocols

Lutron Caseta Smart Hub
No
Sonoff Bridge Max
Yes
Catalog note

The Matter certification record states it connects and manages Bluetooth devices, including eWeLink-Remote and BTHome accessories

Lutron Caseta Smart Hub
No
Sonoff Bridge Max
No
Lutron Caseta Smart Hub
No
Sonoff Bridge Max
Yes
Manufacturer source

Supported Zigbee, BTHome and eWeLink devices can be bridged to Matter.

Sonoff Bridge Max manufacturer product page →
Source section
Product description
Model
Sonoff Bridge Max
Region
Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
Firmware
Not specified by this source
Checked

Check the supported accessory and feature lists; bridge support does not guarantee every endpoint works.

Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.

Catalog note

Matter 1.4 certified aggregator (certificate CSA261E0MAT51208-00) that exposes its Zigbee, Bluetooth, eWeLink and Home Assistant devices to third-party Matter platforms

Lutron Caseta Smart Hub
No
Catalog note

Pairs only Lutron Clear Connect devices (Caseta dimmers and switches, Pico remotes, Serena shades); other brands connect through cloud or app integrations, never to its radio.

Sonoff Bridge Max
Yes
Catalog note

Pairs SONOFF Zigbee devices plus thousands of third-party models (Philips, Tuya, Aqara and IKEA among them) and BTHome Bluetooth devices; its Matter role is bridge only.

Lutron Caseta Smart Hub
No
Sonoff Bridge Max
No
Lutron Caseta Smart Hub
No
Sonoff Bridge Max
No
Lutron Caseta Smart Hub
No
Sonoff Bridge Max
Yes
Catalog note

Acts as the Zigbee gateway for its own network, rated for up to 128 Zigbee devices

Sensors

Lutron Caseta Smart Hub
No
Sonoff Bridge Max
No
Lutron Caseta Smart Hub
No
Sonoff Bridge Max
No
Lutron Caseta Smart Hub
No
Sonoff Bridge Max
No
Lutron Caseta Smart Hub
No
Sonoff Bridge Max
No
Specifications for Lutron Caseta Smart Hub versus Sonoff Bridge Max
SpecificationLutron Caseta Smart HubSonoff Bridge Max
Connectivity
No
Catalog note

The smart hub has no Wi-Fi radio: it connects to a LAN port on the router with the included Ethernet cable.

Yes
NoYes
Catalog note

Dual-band Wi-Fi 6 (IEEE 802.11a/b/g/n/ac/ax); the FCC grant covers the 5180-5240 MHz and 5745-5825 MHz bands

Yes
Catalog note

Ethernet: 3 ft (0.92 m) cable included (for internet and Lutron App connection).

Yes
Catalog note

RJ45 port, 10/100Mbps

Features
NoNo
NoNo
NoNo
75
Catalog note

Supports up to 75 wireless devices (Caseta dimmers, plug-in dimmers and switches, Pico remotes, wireless shades); the hub itself counts as one of them.

128
Manufacturer source

The bridge supports up to 128 compatible Zigbee devices.

Sonoff Bridge Max manufacturer product page →
Source section
Product description
Model
Sonoff Bridge Max
Region
Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
Firmware
Not specified by this source
Checked

Check the supported accessory and feature lists; bridge support does not guarantee every endpoint works.

Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.

Catalog note

Up to 128 Zigbee devices, the figure Sonoff publishes for stable operation, plus a further set of devices bridged in from Bluetooth, eWeLink and Home Assistant sources

NoNo
Hardware
Not recordedSigmaStar SSD2351Q + EFR32MG21
Catalog note

The official spec sheet lists the MCU as a SigmaStar SSD2351Q application processor paired with a Silicon Labs EFR32MG21 radio chip

Not recordedNot recorded
NoNo
NoNo
Catalog note

The only ports are the USB-C power input and the RJ45 Ethernet jack

NoNo
Catalog note

Powered over USB-C at 5V 1A; the RJ45 port carries 10/100Mbps data only

NoYes
Catalog note

Built-in 90 dB alarm that Zigbee sensors can trigger as part of the local security system

Not recordedNot recorded
Integrations
YesYes
Catalog note

Via Matter

Yes
Catalog note

The smart hub contains Apple Home technology, so Siri can control the lights and shades it hosts.

Yes
Catalog note

Via Matter

YesYes
Catalog note

Via Matter

Yes
Catalog note

The official Home Assistant Lutron Caseta integration lists this exact hub (L-BDG2-WH) among its supported hardware.

Yes
Manufacturer source

MQTT can synchronize supported Zigbee devices with Home Assistant.

Sonoff Bridge Max manufacturer product page →
Source section
Product description
Model
Sonoff Bridge Max
Region
Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
Firmware
Not specified by this source
Checked

Check the supported accessory and feature lists; bridge support does not guarantee every endpoint works.

Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.

Catalog note

Two documented paths: it publishes its Zigbee sub-devices to Home Assistant over MQTT, and it can also expose Home Assistant entities onward to other Matter platforms

Yes
Catalog note

Lutron lists Samsung SmartThings as a Caseta partner: lights and shades are controlled from the SmartThings app.

Yes
Catalog note

Via Matter

Protocols
NoYes
Catalog note

The Matter certification record states it connects and manages Bluetooth devices, including eWeLink-Remote and BTHome accessories

NoNo
NoYes
Manufacturer source

Supported Zigbee, BTHome and eWeLink devices can be bridged to Matter.

Sonoff Bridge Max manufacturer product page →
Source section
Product description
Model
Sonoff Bridge Max
Region
Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
Firmware
Not specified by this source
Checked

Check the supported accessory and feature lists; bridge support does not guarantee every endpoint works.

Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.

Catalog note

Matter 1.4 certified aggregator (certificate CSA261E0MAT51208-00) that exposes its Zigbee, Bluetooth, eWeLink and Home Assistant devices to third-party Matter platforms

No
Catalog note

Pairs only Lutron Clear Connect devices (Caseta dimmers and switches, Pico remotes, Serena shades); other brands connect through cloud or app integrations, never to its radio.

Yes
Catalog note

Pairs SONOFF Zigbee devices plus thousands of third-party models (Philips, Tuya, Aqara and IKEA among them) and BTHome Bluetooth devices; its Matter role is bridge only.

NoNo
NoNo
NoYes
Catalog note

Acts as the Zigbee gateway for its own network, rated for up to 128 Zigbee devices

Sensors
NoNo
NoNo
NoNo
NoNo

Know what’s behind the comparison.

The table matches specifications by section and field. It preserves notes, separates missing data from explicit “No” values, and keeps qualifications attached to their values. No overall winner is assigned from feature counts.

Read our comparison methodology