The Smart Device Compare comparison

Sonoff Bridge Max vs X-Sense SBS50 Base Station

Understand the differences. Decide what matters to your home.

Build another comparison →

Before you compare every specification

Key differences between Sonoff Bridge Max and X-Sense SBS50 Base Station

A summary of selected recorded differences between these hubs. Check the full specification table below for details and conditions.

Feature differences among your selected devices
  • 5 GHz Wi-Fi (connectivity): Sonoff Bridge Max — Yes (Dual-band Wi-Fi 6 (IEEE 802.11a/b/g/n/ac/ax); the FCC grant covers the 5180-5240 MHz and 5745-5825 MHz bands); X-Sense SBS50 Base Station — No (X-Sense states the base station is compatible with 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi only and is not compatible with a 5 GHz network).
  • Ethernet (connectivity): Sonoff Bridge Max — Yes (RJ45 port, 10/100Mbps); X-Sense SBS50 Base Station — No (Wi-Fi is the only uplink; the specifications list no wired network port).
  • Apple Home (integrations): Sonoff Bridge Max — Yes (Via Matter); X-Sense SBS50 Base Station — No (X-Sense claims no HomeKit support for this model, and the SBS50 is not Matter certified so it has no Matter path into Apple Home either).
  • Google Home (integrations): Sonoff Bridge Max — Yes (Via Matter); X-Sense SBS50 Base Station — No (X-Sense advertises Alexa as the only voice platform for its base station line and claims no Google support on the product page or the collection listings).
Specifications to check side by side
  • Subdevices (features): Sonoff Bridge Max — 128 (Up to 128 Zigbee devices, the figure Sonoff publishes for stable operation, plus a further set of devices bridged in from Bluetooth, eWeLink and Home Assistant sources); X-Sense SBS50 Base Station — 50 (X-Sense states one SBS50 manages up to 50 devices, with a cap of 10 STH51 thermo-hygrometers among them).
Information still to confirm
  • 3 of 31 comparison fields lack a resolved value for at least one selected device. Missing information is not evidence that a feature is absent.
  • Check the full table and manufacturer documentation before ruling out a device.

These observations are derived from recorded catalog data and have not all been independently verified. Confirm details with the manufacturer before purchasing.

Compare capabilities, compatibility and setup requirements.

What the catalog tells us

Understand the tradeoffs.

These counts describe the available data, not a quality score. More features do not automatically make a better device.

10differences with recorded values for every device
3rows with missing or unspecified information

Consider your setup

Apple Home

  • Sonoff Bridge MaxYes
  • X-Sense SBS50 Base StationNo

Confirm which features appear in Apple Home and whether extra hardware or a subscription is needed for your intended use.

Inspect the specifications

Your priorities, side by side

Focus on what changes.

Mark the specifications you care about. Open manufacturer sources for verification scope; fields without citations remain catalog data. Expand notes for other qualifications.

Showing 31 of 31 rows. “Not recorded” does not mean “No”.

Connectivity

Sonoff Bridge Max
Yes
X-Sense SBS50 Base Station
Yes
Catalog note

Official specifications list a 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi frequency and IEEE 802.11b/g/n as the wireless protocol

Sonoff Bridge Max
Yes
Catalog note

Dual-band Wi-Fi 6 (IEEE 802.11a/b/g/n/ac/ax); the FCC grant covers the 5180-5240 MHz and 5745-5825 MHz bands

X-Sense SBS50 Base Station
No
Catalog note

X-Sense states the base station is compatible with 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi only and is not compatible with a 5 GHz network

Sonoff Bridge Max
Yes
Catalog note

RJ45 port, 10/100Mbps

X-Sense SBS50 Base Station
No
Catalog note

Wi-Fi is the only uplink; the specifications list no wired network port

Features

Sonoff Bridge Max
No
X-Sense SBS50 Base Station
No
Sonoff Bridge Max
No
X-Sense SBS50 Base Station
No
Sonoff Bridge Max
No
X-Sense SBS50 Base Station
No
Sonoff Bridge Max
128
Manufacturer source

The bridge supports up to 128 compatible Zigbee devices.

Sonoff Bridge Max manufacturer product page →
Source section
Product description
Model
Sonoff Bridge Max
Region
Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
Firmware
Not specified by this source
Checked

Check the supported accessory and feature lists; bridge support does not guarantee every endpoint works.

Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.

Catalog note

Up to 128 Zigbee devices, the figure Sonoff publishes for stable operation, plus a further set of devices bridged in from Bluetooth, eWeLink and Home Assistant sources

X-Sense SBS50 Base Station
50
Catalog note

X-Sense states one SBS50 manages up to 50 devices, with a cap of 10 STH51 thermo-hygrometers among them

Sonoff Bridge Max
No
X-Sense SBS50 Base Station
No

Hardware

Sonoff Bridge Max
SigmaStar SSD2351Q + EFR32MG21
Catalog note

The official spec sheet lists the MCU as a SigmaStar SSD2351Q application processor paired with a Silicon Labs EFR32MG21 radio chip

X-Sense SBS50 Base Station
Not recorded
Sonoff Bridge Max
Not recorded
X-Sense SBS50 Base Station
Not recorded
Sonoff Bridge Max
No
X-Sense SBS50 Base Station
No
Catalog note

No microphone or voice feature is listed in the official specifications; the unit only signals with its LED and its sounder

Sonoff Bridge Max
No
Catalog note

The only ports are the USB-C power input and the RJ45 Ethernet jack

X-Sense SBS50 Base Station
No
Catalog note

The base station relays alarms to the X-Sense cloud and has no card slot or local storage of any kind

Sonoff Bridge Max
No
Catalog note

Powered over USB-C at 5V 1A; the RJ45 port carries 10/100Mbps data only

X-Sense SBS50 Base Station
No
Catalog note

Powered by its bundled adapter (input 100-240 V AC 50/60 Hz, output 5.0 V 1.0 A) and has no Ethernet port at all

Sonoff Bridge Max
Yes
Catalog note

Built-in 90 dB alarm that Zigbee sensors can trigger as part of the local security system

X-Sense SBS50 Base Station
Yes
Catalog note

Built-in sounder rated at 100 dB, adjustable, that sounds together with every connected alarm

Sonoff Bridge Max
Not recorded
X-Sense SBS50 Base Station
Not recorded

Integrations

Sonoff Bridge Max
Yes
Catalog note

Via Matter

X-Sense SBS50 Base Station
Yes
Catalog note

X-Sense tags its base-station devices as Alexa Compatible, and the Amazon listings for the SBS50 accessories (the SKP0A keypad, the SDS0A door sensor and the SMS0A motion sensor) state Compatible with Alexa, Requires SBS50 Base Station, so the base station is the Alexa bridge for the system

Sonoff Bridge Max
Yes
Catalog note

Via Matter

X-Sense SBS50 Base Station
No
Catalog note

X-Sense claims no HomeKit support for this model, and the SBS50 is not Matter certified so it has no Matter path into Apple Home either

Sonoff Bridge Max
Yes
Catalog note

Via Matter

X-Sense SBS50 Base Station
No
Catalog note

X-Sense advertises Alexa as the only voice platform for its base station line and claims no Google support on the product page or the collection listings

Sonoff Bridge Max
Yes
Manufacturer source

MQTT can synchronize supported Zigbee devices with Home Assistant.

Sonoff Bridge Max manufacturer product page →
Source section
Product description
Model
Sonoff Bridge Max
Region
Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
Firmware
Not specified by this source
Checked

Check the supported accessory and feature lists; bridge support does not guarantee every endpoint works.

Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.

Catalog note

Two documented paths: it publishes its Zigbee sub-devices to Home Assistant over MQTT, and it can also expose Home Assistant entities onward to other Matter platforms

X-Sense SBS50 Base Station
Yes
Catalog note

X-Sense states that its Home Assistant compatibility runs through the SBS50 base station ecosystem, and the python-xsense library behind the community HACS integration maps SBS50 explicitly as a base station entity

Sonoff Bridge Max
Yes
Catalog note

Via Matter

X-Sense SBS50 Base Station
No
Catalog note

X-Sense claims no SmartThings support for this model, and the SBS50 is not Matter certified so the automatic Works with SmartThings grant does not apply

Protocols

Sonoff Bridge Max
Yes
Catalog note

The Matter certification record states it connects and manages Bluetooth devices, including eWeLink-Remote and BTHome accessories

X-Sense SBS50 Base Station
No
Catalog note

The specifications enumerate the radios as IEEE 802.11b/g/n Wi-Fi plus the 915 MHz (US) and 868 MHz (EU) sub-GHz link to the alarms, with no Bluetooth

Sonoff Bridge Max
No
X-Sense SBS50 Base Station
No
Sonoff Bridge Max
Yes
Manufacturer source

Supported Zigbee, BTHome and eWeLink devices can be bridged to Matter.

Sonoff Bridge Max manufacturer product page →
Source section
Product description
Model
Sonoff Bridge Max
Region
Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
Firmware
Not specified by this source
Checked

Check the supported accessory and feature lists; bridge support does not guarantee every endpoint works.

Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.

Catalog note

Matter 1.4 certified aggregator (certificate CSA261E0MAT51208-00) that exposes its Zigbee, Bluetooth, eWeLink and Home Assistant devices to third-party Matter platforms

X-Sense SBS50 Base Station
No
Catalog note

The CSA certified-products database lists only the separate SBS0A Matter base station for X-Sense; the SBS50 has no Matter certification and exposes its sub-devices through the X-Sense app instead

Sonoff Bridge Max
Yes
Catalog note

Pairs SONOFF Zigbee devices plus thousands of third-party models (Philips, Tuya, Aqara and IKEA among them) and BTHome Bluetooth devices; its Matter role is bridge only.

X-Sense SBS50 Base Station
No
Catalog note

Links only X-Sense alarms and sensors (smoke, CO, combo, water leak, thermo-hygrometer) over its own 915/868 MHz radio, up to 50 devices; no other brands.

Sonoff Bridge Max
No
X-Sense SBS50 Base Station
No
Sonoff Bridge Max
No
X-Sense SBS50 Base Station
No
Sonoff Bridge Max
Yes
Catalog note

Acts as the Zigbee gateway for its own network, rated for up to 128 Zigbee devices

X-Sense SBS50 Base Station
No
Catalog note

Sub-devices join over X-Sense's own Link+ Pro radio at 915 MHz (US) or 868 MHz (EU), not Zigbee

Sensors

Sonoff Bridge Max
No
X-Sense SBS50 Base Station
No
Catalog note

Humidity comes from the paired thermo-hygrometers; the 0-85% RH figure is the base station's operating range

Sonoff Bridge Max
No
X-Sense SBS50 Base Station
No
Catalog note

The three-colour LED is an indicator, not an ambient light sensor

Sonoff Bridge Max
No
X-Sense SBS50 Base Station
No
Catalog note

Motion is detected by the separate SMS0A sensor, which reports through the base station

Sonoff Bridge Max
No
X-Sense SBS50 Base Station
No
Catalog note

The base station reads temperature only from the STH51 and STH0A thermo-hygrometers paired to it; the 4.4-37.8 C figure in its specifications is its own operating range, not a reading it takes

Specifications for Sonoff Bridge Max versus X-Sense SBS50 Base Station
SpecificationSonoff Bridge MaxX-Sense SBS50 Base Station
Connectivity
YesYes
Catalog note

Official specifications list a 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi frequency and IEEE 802.11b/g/n as the wireless protocol

Yes
Catalog note

Dual-band Wi-Fi 6 (IEEE 802.11a/b/g/n/ac/ax); the FCC grant covers the 5180-5240 MHz and 5745-5825 MHz bands

No
Catalog note

X-Sense states the base station is compatible with 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi only and is not compatible with a 5 GHz network

Yes
Catalog note

RJ45 port, 10/100Mbps

No
Catalog note

Wi-Fi is the only uplink; the specifications list no wired network port

Features
NoNo
NoNo
NoNo
128
Manufacturer source

The bridge supports up to 128 compatible Zigbee devices.

Sonoff Bridge Max manufacturer product page →
Source section
Product description
Model
Sonoff Bridge Max
Region
Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
Firmware
Not specified by this source
Checked

Check the supported accessory and feature lists; bridge support does not guarantee every endpoint works.

Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.

Catalog note

Up to 128 Zigbee devices, the figure Sonoff publishes for stable operation, plus a further set of devices bridged in from Bluetooth, eWeLink and Home Assistant sources

50
Catalog note

X-Sense states one SBS50 manages up to 50 devices, with a cap of 10 STH51 thermo-hygrometers among them

NoNo
Hardware
SigmaStar SSD2351Q + EFR32MG21
Catalog note

The official spec sheet lists the MCU as a SigmaStar SSD2351Q application processor paired with a Silicon Labs EFR32MG21 radio chip

Not recorded
Not recordedNot recorded
NoNo
Catalog note

No microphone or voice feature is listed in the official specifications; the unit only signals with its LED and its sounder

No
Catalog note

The only ports are the USB-C power input and the RJ45 Ethernet jack

No
Catalog note

The base station relays alarms to the X-Sense cloud and has no card slot or local storage of any kind

No
Catalog note

Powered over USB-C at 5V 1A; the RJ45 port carries 10/100Mbps data only

No
Catalog note

Powered by its bundled adapter (input 100-240 V AC 50/60 Hz, output 5.0 V 1.0 A) and has no Ethernet port at all

Yes
Catalog note

Built-in 90 dB alarm that Zigbee sensors can trigger as part of the local security system

Yes
Catalog note

Built-in sounder rated at 100 dB, adjustable, that sounds together with every connected alarm

Not recordedNot recorded
Integrations
Yes
Catalog note

Via Matter

Yes
Catalog note

X-Sense tags its base-station devices as Alexa Compatible, and the Amazon listings for the SBS50 accessories (the SKP0A keypad, the SDS0A door sensor and the SMS0A motion sensor) state Compatible with Alexa, Requires SBS50 Base Station, so the base station is the Alexa bridge for the system

Yes
Catalog note

Via Matter

No
Catalog note

X-Sense claims no HomeKit support for this model, and the SBS50 is not Matter certified so it has no Matter path into Apple Home either

Yes
Catalog note

Via Matter

No
Catalog note

X-Sense advertises Alexa as the only voice platform for its base station line and claims no Google support on the product page or the collection listings

Yes
Manufacturer source

MQTT can synchronize supported Zigbee devices with Home Assistant.

Sonoff Bridge Max manufacturer product page →
Source section
Product description
Model
Sonoff Bridge Max
Region
Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
Firmware
Not specified by this source
Checked

Check the supported accessory and feature lists; bridge support does not guarantee every endpoint works.

Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.

Catalog note

Two documented paths: it publishes its Zigbee sub-devices to Home Assistant over MQTT, and it can also expose Home Assistant entities onward to other Matter platforms

Yes
Catalog note

X-Sense states that its Home Assistant compatibility runs through the SBS50 base station ecosystem, and the python-xsense library behind the community HACS integration maps SBS50 explicitly as a base station entity

Yes
Catalog note

Via Matter

No
Catalog note

X-Sense claims no SmartThings support for this model, and the SBS50 is not Matter certified so the automatic Works with SmartThings grant does not apply

Protocols
Yes
Catalog note

The Matter certification record states it connects and manages Bluetooth devices, including eWeLink-Remote and BTHome accessories

No
Catalog note

The specifications enumerate the radios as IEEE 802.11b/g/n Wi-Fi plus the 915 MHz (US) and 868 MHz (EU) sub-GHz link to the alarms, with no Bluetooth

NoNo
Yes
Manufacturer source

Supported Zigbee, BTHome and eWeLink devices can be bridged to Matter.

Sonoff Bridge Max manufacturer product page →
Source section
Product description
Model
Sonoff Bridge Max
Region
Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
Firmware
Not specified by this source
Checked

Check the supported accessory and feature lists; bridge support does not guarantee every endpoint works.

Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.

Catalog note

Matter 1.4 certified aggregator (certificate CSA261E0MAT51208-00) that exposes its Zigbee, Bluetooth, eWeLink and Home Assistant devices to third-party Matter platforms

No
Catalog note

The CSA certified-products database lists only the separate SBS0A Matter base station for X-Sense; the SBS50 has no Matter certification and exposes its sub-devices through the X-Sense app instead

Yes
Catalog note

Pairs SONOFF Zigbee devices plus thousands of third-party models (Philips, Tuya, Aqara and IKEA among them) and BTHome Bluetooth devices; its Matter role is bridge only.

No
Catalog note

Links only X-Sense alarms and sensors (smoke, CO, combo, water leak, thermo-hygrometer) over its own 915/868 MHz radio, up to 50 devices; no other brands.

NoNo
NoNo
Yes
Catalog note

Acts as the Zigbee gateway for its own network, rated for up to 128 Zigbee devices

No
Catalog note

Sub-devices join over X-Sense's own Link+ Pro radio at 915 MHz (US) or 868 MHz (EU), not Zigbee

Sensors
NoNo
Catalog note

Humidity comes from the paired thermo-hygrometers; the 0-85% RH figure is the base station's operating range

NoNo
Catalog note

The three-colour LED is an indicator, not an ambient light sensor

NoNo
Catalog note

Motion is detected by the separate SMS0A sensor, which reports through the base station

NoNo
Catalog note

The base station reads temperature only from the STH51 and STH0A thermo-hygrometers paired to it; the 4.4-37.8 C figure in its specifications is its own operating range, not a reading it takes

Know what’s behind the comparison.

The table matches specifications by section and field. It preserves notes, separates missing data from explicit “No” values, and keeps qualifications attached to their values. No overall winner is assigned from feature counts.

Read our comparison methodology