
The Smart Device Compare comparison
Aqara Motion Sensor P1 vs Ring Motion Detector (3rd Gen)
Understand the differences. Decide what matters to your home.
Build another comparison →Before you compare every specification
Key differences between Aqara Motion Sensor P1 and Ring Motion Detector (3rd Gen)
A summary of selected recorded differences between these motion sensors. Check the full specification table below for details and conditions.
- SmartThings (integrations): Aqara Motion Sensor P1 — Yes (Pairs directly with a SmartThings hub over Zigbee through SmartThings' own zigbee-motion-sensor Edge driver (fingerprint lumi.motion.ac02), no Aqara hub needed; also via Matter through an Aqara hub.); Ring Motion Detector (3rd Gen) — No.
- Light (sensors): Aqara Motion Sensor P1 — Yes; Ring Motion Detector (3rd Gen) — No.
- Z Wave (connectivity): Aqara Motion Sensor P1 — No; Ring Motion Detector (3rd Gen) — Z-Wave Hub required.
- Zigbee (connectivity): Aqara Motion Sensor P1 — Zigbee Hub required; Ring Motion Detector (3rd Gen) — No.
- Angle Of Detection (features): Aqara Motion Sensor P1 — 170º; Ring Motion Detector (3rd Gen) — 90°.
- Motion Sensitivity (features): Aqara Motion Sensor P1 — Aqara Hub required; Ring Motion Detector (3rd Gen) — Yes (Customizable sensitivity with pet-friendly settings that reduce false alerts from pets under 50 lbs).
- 3 of 25 comparison fields lack a resolved value for at least one selected device. Missing information is not evidence that a feature is absent.
- Check the full table and manufacturer documentation before ruling out a device.
These observations are derived from recorded catalog data and have not all been independently verified. Confirm details with the manufacturer before purchasing.
Compare capabilities, compatibility and setup requirements.


What the catalog tells us
Understand the tradeoffs.
These counts describe the available data, not a quality score. More features do not automatically make a better device.
Consider your setup
Apple Home
- Aqara Motion Sensor P1Aqara Hub required
- Ring Motion Detector (3rd Gen)No
Confirm which features appear in Apple Home and whether extra hardware or a subscription is needed for your intended use.
Inspect the specificationsConsider your setup
Matter
- Aqara Motion Sensor P1Aqara Hub required
- Ring Motion Detector (3rd Gen)No
Confirm the exact device type and the features exposed in your chosen platform. Protocol support does not establish feature parity across apps.
Inspect the specificationsConsider your setup
Battery Life
- Aqara Motion Sensor P15 years
- Ring Motion Detector (3rd Gen)2 years
Compare the stated test conditions. Catalog battery figures alone do not predict runtime in your home.
Inspect the specificationsYour priorities, side by side
Focus on what changes.
Mark the specifications you care about. Open manufacturer sources for verification scope; fields without citations remain catalog data. Expand notes for other qualifications.
Showing 25 of 25 rows. “Not recorded” does not mean “No”.
Alerts
- Aqara Motion Sensor P1
- Yes
- Ring Motion Detector (3rd Gen)
- Yes
Catalog note
The Ring app sends a low battery warning when the batteries need replacing
- Aqara Motion Sensor P1
- Yes
- Ring Motion Detector (3rd Gen)
- Yes
Connectivity
- Aqara Motion Sensor P1
- No
- Ring Motion Detector (3rd Gen)
- No
- Aqara Motion Sensor P1
- No
- Ring Motion Detector (3rd Gen)
- No
- Aqara Motion Sensor P1
- No
- Ring Motion Detector (3rd Gen)
- No
- Aqara Motion Sensor P1
- No
- Ring Motion Detector (3rd Gen)
- No
- Aqara Motion Sensor P1
- No
- Ring Motion Detector (3rd Gen)
- Z-Wave Hub required
- Aqara Motion Sensor P1
- Zigbee Hub required
- Ring Motion Detector (3rd Gen)
- No
Features
- Aqara Motion Sensor P1
- 170º
Manufacturer source
Detection spans up to 170 degrees within four metres.
Aqara Motion Sensor P1 manufacturer product page →- Source section
- Product description
- Model
- Aqara Motion Sensor P1
- Region
- Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
- Firmware
- Not specified by this source
- Checked
The widest angle and longest range are different operating conditions. Battery life depends on use.
Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.
- Ring Motion Detector (3rd Gen)
- 90°
- Aqara Motion Sensor P1
- Yes
- Ring Motion Detector (3rd Gen)
- Not recorded
- Aqara Motion Sensor P1
- Aqara Hub required
- Ring Motion Detector (3rd Gen)
- Not recorded
- Aqara Motion Sensor P1
- Not recorded
- Ring Motion Detector (3rd Gen)
- Not recorded
- Aqara Motion Sensor P1
- Aqara Hub required
- Ring Motion Detector (3rd Gen)
- Yes
Catalog note
Customizable sensitivity with pet-friendly settings that reduce false alerts from pets under 50 lbs
- Aqara Motion Sensor P1
- 7 m
Manufacturer source
Detection extends to seven metres with a narrower 150-degree angle.
Aqara Motion Sensor P1 manufacturer product page →- Source section
- Product description
- Model
- Aqara Motion Sensor P1
- Region
- Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
- Firmware
- Not specified by this source
- Checked
The widest angle and longest range are different operating conditions. Battery life depends on use.
Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.
- Ring Motion Detector (3rd Gen)
- 9.1 m
Integrations
- Aqara Motion Sensor P1
- Aqara Hub required
- Ring Motion Detector (3rd Gen)
- Yes
- Aqara Motion Sensor P1
- Aqara Hub required
- Ring Motion Detector (3rd Gen)
- No
- Aqara Motion Sensor P1
- Aqara Hub required
- Ring Motion Detector (3rd Gen)
- No
- Aqara Motion Sensor P1
- Yes
- Ring Motion Detector (3rd Gen)
- Yes
Catalog note
Ring Alarm motion sensors are exposed to Home Assistant through the ring-mqtt integration
- Aqara Motion Sensor P1
- Aqara Hub required
- Ring Motion Detector (3rd Gen)
- No
- Aqara Motion Sensor P1
- Yes
Catalog note
Pairs directly with a SmartThings hub over Zigbee through SmartThings' own zigbee-motion-sensor Edge driver (fingerprint lumi.motion.ac02), no Aqara hub needed; also via Matter through an Aqara hub.
- Ring Motion Detector (3rd Gen)
- No
Power
- Aqara Motion Sensor P1
- 5 years
Manufacturer source
The advertised battery life is up to five years.
Aqara Motion Sensor P1 manufacturer product page →- Source section
- Product description
- Model
- Aqara Motion Sensor P1
- Region
- Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
- Firmware
- Not specified by this source
- Checked
The widest angle and longest range are different operating conditions. Battery life depends on use.
Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.
- Ring Motion Detector (3rd Gen)
- 2 years
- Aqara Motion Sensor P1
- 2x CR2450
- Ring Motion Detector (3rd Gen)
- 2x AA
Sensors
- Aqara Motion Sensor P1
- Yes
- Ring Motion Detector (3rd Gen)
- No
- Aqara Motion Sensor P1
- Yes
- Ring Motion Detector (3rd Gen)
- Yes
Catalog note
Passive infrared (PIR) motion detection
- Aqara Motion Sensor P1
- No
- Ring Motion Detector (3rd Gen)
- No
| Specification | Aqara Motion Sensor P1 | Ring Motion Detector (3rd Gen) |
|---|---|---|
| Alerts | ||
| Yes | YesCatalog noteThe Ring app sends a low battery warning when the batteries need replacing | |
| Yes | Yes | |
| Connectivity | ||
| No | No | |
| No | No | |
| No | No | |
| No | No | |
| No | Z-Wave Hub required | |
| Zigbee Hub required | No | |
| Features | ||
170ºManufacturer sourceDetection spans up to 170 degrees within four metres. Aqara Motion Sensor P1 manufacturer product page →
The widest angle and longest range are different operating conditions. Battery life depends on use. Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant. | 90° | |
| Yes | Not recorded | |
| Aqara Hub required | Not recorded | |
| Not recorded | Not recorded | |
| Aqara Hub required | YesCatalog noteCustomizable sensitivity with pet-friendly settings that reduce false alerts from pets under 50 lbs | |
7 mManufacturer sourceDetection extends to seven metres with a narrower 150-degree angle. Aqara Motion Sensor P1 manufacturer product page →
The widest angle and longest range are different operating conditions. Battery life depends on use. Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant. | 9.1 m | |
| Integrations | ||
| Aqara Hub required | Yes | |
| Aqara Hub required | No | |
| Aqara Hub required | No | |
| Yes | YesCatalog noteRing Alarm motion sensors are exposed to Home Assistant through the ring-mqtt integration | |
| Aqara Hub required | No | |
YesCatalog notePairs directly with a SmartThings hub over Zigbee through SmartThings' own zigbee-motion-sensor Edge driver (fingerprint lumi.motion.ac02), no Aqara hub needed; also via Matter through an Aqara hub. | No | |
| Power | ||
5 yearsManufacturer sourceThe advertised battery life is up to five years. Aqara Motion Sensor P1 manufacturer product page →
The widest angle and longest range are different operating conditions. Battery life depends on use. Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant. | 2 years | |
| 2x CR2450 | 2x AA | |
| Sensors | ||
| Yes | No | |
| Yes | YesCatalog notePassive infrared (PIR) motion detection | |
| No | No | |
Know what’s behind the comparison.
The table matches specifications by section and field. It preserves notes, separates missing data from explicit “No” values, and keeps qualifications attached to their values. No overall winner is assigned from feature counts.
Read our comparison methodology