
The Smart Device Compare comparison
Ring Alarm Motion Detector vs Sonoff SenseGuard Motion Gen2
Understand the differences. Decide what matters to your home.
Build another comparison →Before you compare every specification
Key differences between Ring Alarm Motion Detector and Sonoff SenseGuard Motion Gen2
A summary of selected recorded differences between these motion sensors. Check the full specification table below for details and conditions.
- Automations (features): Ring Alarm Motion Detector — No; Sonoff SenseGuard Motion Gen2 — Yes.
- Z Wave (connectivity): Ring Alarm Motion Detector — Z-Wave Hub required; Sonoff SenseGuard Motion Gen2 — No.
- Zigbee (connectivity): Ring Alarm Motion Detector — No; Sonoff SenseGuard Motion Gen2 — Zigbee Hub required.
- Angle Of Detection (features): Ring Alarm Motion Detector — 90°; Sonoff SenseGuard Motion Gen2 — 120°.
- Range Of Detection (features): Ring Alarm Motion Detector — 7.6 m; Sonoff SenseGuard Motion Gen2 — 6 m.
- 7 of 25 comparison fields lack a resolved value for at least one selected device. Missing information is not evidence that a feature is absent.
- Check the full table and manufacturer documentation before ruling out a device.
These observations are derived from recorded catalog data and have not all been independently verified. Confirm details with the manufacturer before purchasing.
Compare capabilities, compatibility and setup requirements.


What the catalog tells us
Understand the tradeoffs.
These counts describe the available data, not a quality score. More features do not automatically make a better device.
Your priorities, side by side
Focus on what changes.
Mark the specifications you care about. Open manufacturer sources for verification scope; fields without citations remain catalog data. Expand notes for other qualifications.
Showing 25 of 25 rows. “Not recorded” does not mean “No”.
Alerts
- Ring Alarm Motion Detector
- Not recorded
- Sonoff SenseGuard Motion Gen2
- Not recorded
- Ring Alarm Motion Detector
- Yes
- Sonoff SenseGuard Motion Gen2
- Yes
Connectivity
- Ring Alarm Motion Detector
- No
- Sonoff SenseGuard Motion Gen2
- No
- Ring Alarm Motion Detector
- No
- Sonoff SenseGuard Motion Gen2
- No
- Ring Alarm Motion Detector
- No
- Sonoff SenseGuard Motion Gen2
- No
- Ring Alarm Motion Detector
- No
- Sonoff SenseGuard Motion Gen2
- No
- Ring Alarm Motion Detector
- Z-Wave Hub required
- Sonoff SenseGuard Motion Gen2
- No
- Ring Alarm Motion Detector
- No
- Sonoff SenseGuard Motion Gen2
- Zigbee Hub required
Features
- Ring Alarm Motion Detector
- 90°
- Sonoff SenseGuard Motion Gen2
- 120°
Manufacturer source
The stated sensing angle is 120 degrees.
Sonoff SenseGuard Motion Gen2 — manufacturer product description →- Source section
- Product description / feature descriptions
- Model
- SNZB-03PR2
- Region
- Manufacturer listing for the named model/variant; regional equivalence has not been established
- Firmware
- Not specified by this source
- Checked
Check the specified variant, required hub and installation instructions. Manufacturer claims are not independent performance tests.
Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.
- Ring Alarm Motion Detector
- No
- Sonoff SenseGuard Motion Gen2
- Yes
- Ring Alarm Motion Detector
- Not recorded
- Sonoff SenseGuard Motion Gen2
- 60 seconds
Catalog note
Cooldown adjustable from 5 to 60 seconds
- Ring Alarm Motion Detector
- Not recorded
- Sonoff SenseGuard Motion Gen2
- 6 months
Catalog note
Illuminance history retained for up to 6 months
- Ring Alarm Motion Detector
- Yes
Catalog note
Adjustable sensitivity in the Ring app with pet-friendly settings; at the lowest setting it ignores pets under 22 kg
- Sonoff SenseGuard Motion Gen2
- Not recorded
- Ring Alarm Motion Detector
- 7.6 m
- Sonoff SenseGuard Motion Gen2
- 6 m
Manufacturer source
The stated sensing range is six metres.
Sonoff SenseGuard Motion Gen2 — manufacturer product description →- Source section
- Product description / feature descriptions
- Model
- SNZB-03PR2
- Region
- Manufacturer listing for the named model/variant; regional equivalence has not been established
- Firmware
- Not specified by this source
- Checked
Check the specified variant, required hub and installation instructions. Manufacturer claims are not independent performance tests.
Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.
Integrations
- Ring Alarm Motion Detector
- Yes
- Sonoff SenseGuard Motion Gen2
- Yes
Catalog note
Pairs to an Echo device with a built-in Zigbee hub, or through a SONOFF Zigbee hub
- Ring Alarm Motion Detector
- No
- Sonoff SenseGuard Motion Gen2
- No
- Ring Alarm Motion Detector
- No
- Sonoff SenseGuard Motion Gen2
- No
- Ring Alarm Motion Detector
- Yes
- Sonoff SenseGuard Motion Gen2
- Yes
Catalog note
Works through Zigbee2MQTT or ZHA with any Zigbee coordinator
- Ring Alarm Motion Detector
- No
- Sonoff SenseGuard Motion Gen2
- No
- Ring Alarm Motion Detector
- No
- Sonoff SenseGuard Motion Gen2
- Not recorded
Catalog note
SONOFF lists SmartThings compatibility, but the available Edge driver covers the previous SNZB-03P and does not yet recognise this model
Power
- Ring Alarm Motion Detector
- Not recorded
- Sonoff SenseGuard Motion Gen2
- 3 years
- Ring Alarm Motion Detector
- 2x AA
- Sonoff SenseGuard Motion Gen2
- CR2477
Manufacturer source
A CR2477 battery powers the sensor.
Sonoff SenseGuard Motion Gen2 — manufacturer product description →- Source section
- Product description / feature descriptions
- Model
- SNZB-03PR2
- Region
- Manufacturer listing for the named model/variant; regional equivalence has not been established
- Firmware
- Not specified by this source
- Checked
Check the specified variant, required hub and installation instructions. Manufacturer claims are not independent performance tests.
Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.
Sensors
- Ring Alarm Motion Detector
- Not recorded
- Sonoff SenseGuard Motion Gen2
- Yes
Manufacturer source
An independent light sensor is included.
Sonoff SenseGuard Motion Gen2 — manufacturer product description →- Source section
- Product description / feature descriptions
- Model
- SNZB-03PR2
- Region
- Manufacturer listing for the named model/variant; regional equivalence has not been established
- Firmware
- Not specified by this source
- Checked
Check the specified variant, required hub and installation instructions. Manufacturer claims are not independent performance tests.
Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.
Catalog note
Independent lux sensor reporting real illuminance values, not just a light or dark state
- Ring Alarm Motion Detector
- Yes
- Sonoff SenseGuard Motion Gen2
- Yes
Catalog note
PIR infrared motion detection
- Ring Alarm Motion Detector
- No
- Sonoff SenseGuard Motion Gen2
- No
| Specification | Ring Alarm Motion Detector | Sonoff SenseGuard Motion Gen2 |
|---|---|---|
| Alerts | ||
| Not recorded | Not recorded | |
| Yes | Yes | |
| Connectivity | ||
| No | No | |
| No | No | |
| No | No | |
| No | No | |
| Z-Wave Hub required | No | |
| No | Zigbee Hub required | |
| Features | ||
| 90° | 120°Manufacturer sourceThe stated sensing angle is 120 degrees. Sonoff SenseGuard Motion Gen2 — manufacturer product description →
Check the specified variant, required hub and installation instructions. Manufacturer claims are not independent performance tests. Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant. | |
| No | Yes | |
| Not recorded | 60 secondsCatalog noteCooldown adjustable from 5 to 60 seconds | |
| Not recorded | 6 monthsCatalog noteIlluminance history retained for up to 6 months | |
YesCatalog noteAdjustable sensitivity in the Ring app with pet-friendly settings; at the lowest setting it ignores pets under 22 kg | Not recorded | |
| 7.6 m | 6 mManufacturer sourceThe stated sensing range is six metres. Sonoff SenseGuard Motion Gen2 — manufacturer product description →
Check the specified variant, required hub and installation instructions. Manufacturer claims are not independent performance tests. Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant. | |
| Integrations | ||
| Yes | YesCatalog notePairs to an Echo device with a built-in Zigbee hub, or through a SONOFF Zigbee hub | |
| No | No | |
| No | No | |
| Yes | YesCatalog noteWorks through Zigbee2MQTT or ZHA with any Zigbee coordinator | |
| No | No | |
| No | Not recordedCatalog noteSONOFF lists SmartThings compatibility, but the available Edge driver covers the previous SNZB-03P and does not yet recognise this model | |
| Power | ||
| Not recorded | 3 years | |
| 2x AA | CR2477Manufacturer sourceA CR2477 battery powers the sensor. Sonoff SenseGuard Motion Gen2 — manufacturer product description →
Check the specified variant, required hub and installation instructions. Manufacturer claims are not independent performance tests. Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant. | |
| Sensors | ||
| Not recorded | YesManufacturer sourceAn independent light sensor is included. Sonoff SenseGuard Motion Gen2 — manufacturer product description →
Check the specified variant, required hub and installation instructions. Manufacturer claims are not independent performance tests. Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant. Catalog noteIndependent lux sensor reporting real illuminance values, not just a light or dark state | |
| Yes | YesCatalog notePIR infrared motion detection | |
| No | No | |
Know what’s behind the comparison.
The table matches specifications by section and field. It preserves notes, separates missing data from explicit “No” values, and keeps qualifications attached to their values. No overall winner is assigned from feature counts.
Read our comparison methodology