
The Smart Device Compare comparison
Shelly BLU Motion ZB vs Sonoff SenseGuard Motion Gen2
Understand the differences. Decide what matters to your home.
Build another comparison →Before you compare every specification
Key differences between Shelly BLU Motion ZB and Sonoff SenseGuard Motion Gen2
A summary of selected recorded differences between these motion sensors. Check the full specification table below for details and conditions.
- Bluetooth (connectivity): Shelly BLU Motion ZB — Yes (Bluetooth 5 (LE) broadcasting in the BTHome format, running simultaneously with Zigbee. Remote control needs a Shelly BLU Gateway or a Shelly Plus, Pro, Gen3 or Gen4 device as the bridge.); Sonoff SenseGuard Motion Gen2 — No.
- Detection Timeout (features): Shelly BLU Motion ZB — Yes (Motion hold time is configurable in seconds (60 by default): while movement continues the timer restarts, and a motion clear event is emitted once it expires.); Sonoff SenseGuard Motion Gen2 — 60 seconds (Cooldown adjustable from 5 to 60 seconds).
- Alexa (integrations): Shelly BLU Motion ZB — Shelly gateway required (Reaches Amazon Alexa through the Shelly Smart Control account, and the product page states that a compatible Bluetooth or Zigbee gateway is required for automations and app control.); Sonoff SenseGuard Motion Gen2 — Yes (Pairs to an Echo device with a built-in Zigbee hub, or through a SONOFF Zigbee hub).
- Google Home (integrations): Shelly BLU Motion ZB — Shelly gateway required (Reaches Google Home through the Shelly Smart Control account, and the product page states that a compatible Bluetooth or Zigbee gateway is required for automations and app control.); Sonoff SenseGuard Motion Gen2 — No.
- Battery Life (power): Shelly BLU Motion ZB — 5 years; Sonoff SenseGuard Motion Gen2 — 3 years.
- 6 of 25 comparison fields lack a resolved value for at least one selected device. Missing information is not evidence that a feature is absent.
- Check the full table and manufacturer documentation before ruling out a device.
These observations are derived from recorded catalog data and have not all been independently verified. Confirm details with the manufacturer before purchasing.
Compare capabilities, compatibility and setup requirements.


What the catalog tells us
Understand the tradeoffs.
These counts describe the available data, not a quality score. More features do not automatically make a better device.
Consider your setup
Battery Life
- Shelly BLU Motion ZB5 years
- Sonoff SenseGuard Motion Gen23 years
Compare the stated test conditions. Catalog battery figures alone do not predict runtime in your home.
Inspect the specificationsYour priorities, side by side
Focus on what changes.
Mark the specifications you care about. Open manufacturer sources for verification scope; fields without citations remain catalog data. Expand notes for other qualifications.
Showing 25 of 25 rows. “Not recorded” does not mean “No”.
Alerts
- Shelly BLU Motion ZB
- Yes
Catalog note
IAS Zone status bit 3 flags a battery at or below 15 percent, and the battery percentage is also broadcast over BTHome.
- Sonoff SenseGuard Motion Gen2
- Not recorded
- Shelly BLU Motion ZB
- Yes
Catalog note
Every motion detection is broadcast as an event over BTHome and sent over Zigbee to the bound devices, and the app can push a notification when movement is detected.
- Sonoff SenseGuard Motion Gen2
- Yes
Connectivity
- Shelly BLU Motion ZB
- No
- Sonoff SenseGuard Motion Gen2
- No
- Shelly BLU Motion ZB
- No
- Sonoff SenseGuard Motion Gen2
- No
- Shelly BLU Motion ZB
- Yes
Catalog note
Bluetooth 5 (LE) broadcasting in the BTHome format, running simultaneously with Zigbee. Remote control needs a Shelly BLU Gateway or a Shelly Plus, Pro, Gen3 or Gen4 device as the bridge.
- Sonoff SenseGuard Motion Gen2
- No
- Shelly BLU Motion ZB
- No
- Sonoff SenseGuard Motion Gen2
- No
- Shelly BLU Motion ZB
- No
- Sonoff SenseGuard Motion Gen2
- No
- Shelly BLU Motion ZB
- Zigbee Hub required
Catalog note
Zigbee 3.0 end device (IAS Zone 0x000D, profile 0x104, 802.15.4), so it joins an existing Zigbee coordinator.
- Sonoff SenseGuard Motion Gen2
- Zigbee Hub required
Features
- Shelly BLU Motion ZB
- Not recorded
- Sonoff SenseGuard Motion Gen2
- 120°
Manufacturer source
The stated sensing angle is 120 degrees.
Sonoff SenseGuard Motion Gen2 — manufacturer product description →- Source section
- Product description / feature descriptions
- Model
- SNZB-03PR2
- Region
- Manufacturer listing for the named model/variant; regional equivalence has not been established
- Firmware
- Not specified by this source
- Checked
Check the specified variant, required hub and installation instructions. Manufacturer claims are not independent performance tests.
Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.
- Shelly BLU Motion ZB
- Yes
Catalog note
Motion and light-level events trigger scenes and automations from the Shelly Smart Control app, and scripting is available through a gateway.
- Sonoff SenseGuard Motion Gen2
- Yes
- Shelly BLU Motion ZB
- Yes
Catalog note
Motion hold time is configurable in seconds (60 by default): while movement continues the timer restarts, and a motion clear event is emitted once it expires.
- Sonoff SenseGuard Motion Gen2
- 60 seconds
Catalog note
Cooldown adjustable from 5 to 60 seconds
- Shelly BLU Motion ZB
- Not recorded
- Sonoff SenseGuard Motion Gen2
- 6 months
Catalog note
Illuminance history retained for up to 6 months
- Shelly BLU Motion ZB
- Yes
Catalog note
Three PIR sensitivity levels (low, medium, high), adjustable to cut false triggers from pets or distant movement.
- Sonoff SenseGuard Motion Gen2
- Not recorded
- Shelly BLU Motion ZB
- Not recorded
- Sonoff SenseGuard Motion Gen2
- 6 m
Manufacturer source
The stated sensing range is six metres.
Sonoff SenseGuard Motion Gen2 — manufacturer product description →- Source section
- Product description / feature descriptions
- Model
- SNZB-03PR2
- Region
- Manufacturer listing for the named model/variant; regional equivalence has not been established
- Firmware
- Not specified by this source
- Checked
Check the specified variant, required hub and installation instructions. Manufacturer claims are not independent performance tests.
Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.
Integrations
- Shelly BLU Motion ZB
- Shelly gateway required
Catalog note
Reaches Amazon Alexa through the Shelly Smart Control account, and the product page states that a compatible Bluetooth or Zigbee gateway is required for automations and app control.
- Sonoff SenseGuard Motion Gen2
- Yes
Catalog note
Pairs to an Echo device with a built-in Zigbee hub, or through a SONOFF Zigbee hub
- Shelly BLU Motion ZB
- No
Catalog note
The device documentation lists only Bluetooth 5 LE and Zigbee 3.0, with no Matter or HomeKit profile, and Shelly's compatibility page names only Alexa, Google Home and SmartThings.
- Sonoff SenseGuard Motion Gen2
- No
- Shelly BLU Motion ZB
- Shelly gateway required
Catalog note
Reaches Google Home through the Shelly Smart Control account, and the product page states that a compatible Bluetooth or Zigbee gateway is required for automations and app control.
- Sonoff SenseGuard Motion Gen2
- No
- Shelly BLU Motion ZB
- Yes
Catalog note
Zigbee2MQTT supports this exact model (SBMO-103Z), exposing occupancy, battery, battery low, light level, the dark and bright thresholds and motion sensitivity. Over Bluetooth it also broadcasts BTHome, which Home Assistant reads natively.
- Sonoff SenseGuard Motion Gen2
- Yes
Catalog note
Works through Zigbee2MQTT or ZHA with any Zigbee coordinator
- Shelly BLU Motion ZB
- No
Catalog note
Not in the CSA certified-product database under Shelly Europe Ltd., and the device documentation lists only Bluetooth 5 LE and Zigbee 3.0.
- Sonoff SenseGuard Motion Gen2
- No
- Shelly BLU Motion ZB
- Shelly gateway required
Catalog note
Reaches SmartThings through the Shelly Smart Control account, and the product page states that a compatible Bluetooth or Zigbee gateway is required for automations and app control.
- Sonoff SenseGuard Motion Gen2
- Not recorded
Catalog note
SONOFF lists SmartThings compatibility, but the available Edge driver covers the previous SNZB-03P and does not yet recognise this model
Power
- Shelly BLU Motion ZB
- 5 years
- Sonoff SenseGuard Motion Gen2
- 3 years
- Shelly BLU Motion ZB
- 1x CR2477
- Sonoff SenseGuard Motion Gen2
- CR2477
Manufacturer source
A CR2477 battery powers the sensor.
Sonoff SenseGuard Motion Gen2 — manufacturer product description →- Source section
- Product description / feature descriptions
- Model
- SNZB-03PR2
- Region
- Manufacturer listing for the named model/variant; regional equivalence has not been established
- Firmware
- Not specified by this source
- Checked
Check the specified variant, required hub and installation instructions. Manufacturer claims are not independent performance tests.
Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.
Sensors
- Shelly BLU Motion ZB
- Yes
Catalog note
Built-in lux sensor reporting three levels (dark, twilight, bright) with configurable thresholds, 50 lx dark and 500 lx bright by default.
- Sonoff SenseGuard Motion Gen2
- Yes
Manufacturer source
An independent light sensor is included.
Sonoff SenseGuard Motion Gen2 — manufacturer product description →- Source section
- Product description / feature descriptions
- Model
- SNZB-03PR2
- Region
- Manufacturer listing for the named model/variant; regional equivalence has not been established
- Firmware
- Not specified by this source
- Checked
Check the specified variant, required hub and installation instructions. Manufacturer claims are not independent performance tests.
Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.
Catalog note
Independent lux sensor reporting real illuminance values, not just a light or dark state
- Shelly BLU Motion ZB
- Yes
Manufacturer source
The ZB variant detects movement.
Shelly BLU Motion ZB manufacturer product page →- Source section
- Product description
- Model
- Shelly BLU Motion ZB
- Region
- Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
- Firmware
- Not specified by this source
- Checked
This evidence is specific to BLU Motion ZB, not the earlier Bluetooth-only model.
Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.
Catalog note
PYD1698 passive infrared (PIR) motion sensor.
- Sonoff SenseGuard Motion Gen2
- Yes
Catalog note
PIR infrared motion detection
- Shelly BLU Motion ZB
- No
Catalog note
The specifications list only a PIR and a light sensor.
- Sonoff SenseGuard Motion Gen2
- No
| Specification | Shelly BLU Motion ZB | Sonoff SenseGuard Motion Gen2 |
|---|---|---|
| Alerts | ||
YesCatalog noteIAS Zone status bit 3 flags a battery at or below 15 percent, and the battery percentage is also broadcast over BTHome. | Not recorded | |
YesCatalog noteEvery motion detection is broadcast as an event over BTHome and sent over Zigbee to the bound devices, and the app can push a notification when movement is detected. | Yes | |
| Connectivity | ||
| No | No | |
| No | No | |
YesCatalog noteBluetooth 5 (LE) broadcasting in the BTHome format, running simultaneously with Zigbee. Remote control needs a Shelly BLU Gateway or a Shelly Plus, Pro, Gen3 or Gen4 device as the bridge. | No | |
| No | No | |
| No | No | |
Zigbee Hub requiredCatalog noteZigbee 3.0 end device (IAS Zone 0x000D, profile 0x104, 802.15.4), so it joins an existing Zigbee coordinator. | Zigbee Hub required | |
| Features | ||
| Not recorded | 120°Manufacturer sourceThe stated sensing angle is 120 degrees. Sonoff SenseGuard Motion Gen2 — manufacturer product description →
Check the specified variant, required hub and installation instructions. Manufacturer claims are not independent performance tests. Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant. | |
YesCatalog noteMotion and light-level events trigger scenes and automations from the Shelly Smart Control app, and scripting is available through a gateway. | Yes | |
YesCatalog noteMotion hold time is configurable in seconds (60 by default): while movement continues the timer restarts, and a motion clear event is emitted once it expires. | 60 secondsCatalog noteCooldown adjustable from 5 to 60 seconds | |
| Not recorded | 6 monthsCatalog noteIlluminance history retained for up to 6 months | |
YesCatalog noteThree PIR sensitivity levels (low, medium, high), adjustable to cut false triggers from pets or distant movement. | Not recorded | |
| Not recorded | 6 mManufacturer sourceThe stated sensing range is six metres. Sonoff SenseGuard Motion Gen2 — manufacturer product description →
Check the specified variant, required hub and installation instructions. Manufacturer claims are not independent performance tests. Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant. | |
| Integrations | ||
Shelly gateway requiredCatalog noteReaches Amazon Alexa through the Shelly Smart Control account, and the product page states that a compatible Bluetooth or Zigbee gateway is required for automations and app control. | YesCatalog notePairs to an Echo device with a built-in Zigbee hub, or through a SONOFF Zigbee hub | |
NoCatalog noteThe device documentation lists only Bluetooth 5 LE and Zigbee 3.0, with no Matter or HomeKit profile, and Shelly's compatibility page names only Alexa, Google Home and SmartThings. | No | |
Shelly gateway requiredCatalog noteReaches Google Home through the Shelly Smart Control account, and the product page states that a compatible Bluetooth or Zigbee gateway is required for automations and app control. | No | |
YesCatalog noteZigbee2MQTT supports this exact model (SBMO-103Z), exposing occupancy, battery, battery low, light level, the dark and bright thresholds and motion sensitivity. Over Bluetooth it also broadcasts BTHome, which Home Assistant reads natively. | YesCatalog noteWorks through Zigbee2MQTT or ZHA with any Zigbee coordinator | |
NoCatalog noteNot in the CSA certified-product database under Shelly Europe Ltd., and the device documentation lists only Bluetooth 5 LE and Zigbee 3.0. | No | |
Shelly gateway requiredCatalog noteReaches SmartThings through the Shelly Smart Control account, and the product page states that a compatible Bluetooth or Zigbee gateway is required for automations and app control. | Not recordedCatalog noteSONOFF lists SmartThings compatibility, but the available Edge driver covers the previous SNZB-03P and does not yet recognise this model | |
| Power | ||
| 5 years | 3 years | |
| 1x CR2477 | CR2477Manufacturer sourceA CR2477 battery powers the sensor. Sonoff SenseGuard Motion Gen2 — manufacturer product description →
Check the specified variant, required hub and installation instructions. Manufacturer claims are not independent performance tests. Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant. | |
| Sensors | ||
YesCatalog noteBuilt-in lux sensor reporting three levels (dark, twilight, bright) with configurable thresholds, 50 lx dark and 500 lx bright by default. | YesManufacturer sourceAn independent light sensor is included. Sonoff SenseGuard Motion Gen2 — manufacturer product description →
Check the specified variant, required hub and installation instructions. Manufacturer claims are not independent performance tests. Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant. Catalog noteIndependent lux sensor reporting real illuminance values, not just a light or dark state | |
YesManufacturer sourceThe ZB variant detects movement. Shelly BLU Motion ZB manufacturer product page →
This evidence is specific to BLU Motion ZB, not the earlier Bluetooth-only model. Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant. Catalog notePYD1698 passive infrared (PIR) motion sensor. | YesCatalog notePIR infrared motion detection | |
NoCatalog noteThe specifications list only a PIR and a light sensor. | No | |
Know what’s behind the comparison.
The table matches specifications by section and field. It preserves notes, separates missing data from explicit “No” values, and keeps qualifications attached to their values. No overall winner is assigned from feature counts.
Read our comparison methodology