The Smart Device Compare comparison

Aqara Presence Sensor FP1E vs Meross Presence Sensor MS605

Understand the differences. Decide what matters to your home.

Build another comparison →

Before you compare every specification

Key differences between Aqara Presence Sensor FP1E and Meross Presence Sensor MS605

A summary of selected recorded differences between these presence sensors. Check the full specification table below for details and conditions.

Feature differences among your selected devices
  • Zigbee Router (features): Aqara Presence Sensor FP1E — Yes; Meross Presence Sensor MS605 — No (A battery-powered Thread end device, so it neither speaks Zigbee nor repeats traffic for other devices.).
  • Wired (power): Aqara Presence Sensor FP1E — Yes; Meross Presence Sensor MS605 — No (Battery powered by a single CR123A lithium cell (included), rated by Meross for 3 years. There is no wired or USB power option.).
  • Light (sensors): Aqara Presence Sensor FP1E — No; Meross Presence Sensor MS605 — Yes (Built-in ambient light sensor, reported live to the Matter platform as an illuminance reading for lux-aware lighting automations.).
Specifications to check side by side
  • Bluetooth (connectivity): Aqara Presence Sensor FP1E — No; Meross Presence Sensor MS605 — For Pairing (Bluetooth 4.3, used only to pair and configure the sensor from the Meross app; the device then reports over Thread.).
  • Thread (connectivity): Aqara Presence Sensor FP1E — No; Meross Presence Sensor MS605 — Thread Border Router required (Matter over Thread on a Nordic chipset. Meross states a hub that supports both Matter and Thread is required to add it to a third-party platform.).
  • Zigbee (connectivity): Aqara Presence Sensor FP1E — Zigbee Hub required; Meross Presence Sensor MS605 — No.
  • Alexa (integrations): Aqara Presence Sensor FP1E — Aqara Hub required; Meross Presence Sensor MS605 — Yes (Via Matter, through an Echo that acts as a Matter and Thread border router. Meross notes Alexa does not currently surface the sensor's light reading, only its presence state.).
Information still to confirm
  • 3 of 25 comparison fields lack a resolved value for at least one selected device. Missing information is not evidence that a feature is absent.
  • Check the full table and manufacturer documentation before ruling out a device.

These observations are derived from recorded catalog data and have not all been independently verified. Confirm details with the manufacturer before purchasing.

Compare capabilities, compatibility and setup requirements.

What the catalog tells us

Understand the tradeoffs.

These counts describe the available data, not a quality score. More features do not automatically make a better device.

11differences with recorded values for every device
3rows with missing or unspecified information

Consider your setup

Apple Home

  • Aqara Presence Sensor FP1EAqara Hub required
  • Meross Presence Sensor MS605Yes

Confirm which features appear in Apple Home and whether extra hardware or a subscription is needed for your intended use.

Inspect the specifications

Consider your setup

Matter

  • Aqara Presence Sensor FP1EAqara Hub required
  • Meross Presence Sensor MS605Yes

Confirm the exact device type and the features exposed in your chosen platform. Protocol support does not establish feature parity across apps.

Inspect the specifications

Your priorities, side by side

Focus on what changes.

Mark the specifications you care about. Open manufacturer sources for verification scope; fields without citations remain catalog data. Expand notes for other qualifications.

Showing 25 of 25 rows. “Not recorded” does not mean “No”.

Alerts

Aqara Presence Sensor FP1E
No
Meross Presence Sensor MS605
No
Aqara Presence Sensor FP1E
Yes
Meross Presence Sensor MS605
Yes
Catalog note

Presence and absence state changes are pushed to the Matter platform, which is what raises the alert or runs the automation.

Connectivity

Aqara Presence Sensor FP1E
No
Meross Presence Sensor MS605
No
Catalog note

Meross states the sensor needs no 2.4GHz Wi-Fi: it runs on Matter over Thread and the spec sheet lists Bluetooth as its only other radio. The word Wi-Fi in some marketplace titles is keyword stuffing, not a radio this model has.

Aqara Presence Sensor FP1E
No
Meross Presence Sensor MS605
No
Aqara Presence Sensor FP1E
No
Meross Presence Sensor MS605
For Pairing
Catalog note

Bluetooth 4.3, used only to pair and configure the sensor from the Meross app; the device then reports over Thread.

Aqara Presence Sensor FP1E
No
Meross Presence Sensor MS605
Thread Border Router required
Catalog note

Matter over Thread on a Nordic chipset. Meross states a hub that supports both Matter and Thread is required to add it to a third-party platform.

Aqara Presence Sensor FP1E
No
Meross Presence Sensor MS605
No
Aqara Presence Sensor FP1E
Zigbee Hub required
Meross Presence Sensor MS605
No

Features

Aqara Presence Sensor FP1E
120°
Manufacturer source

The stated field of view is up to 120 degrees.

Aqara Presence Sensor FP1E manufacturer product page →
Source section
Product description
Model
Aqara Presence Sensor FP1E
Region
Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
Firmware
Not specified by this source
Checked

Wall-side installation is rated for up to 35 square metres. These coverage figures are not interchangeable.

Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.

Meross Presence Sensor MS605
Not recorded
Aqara Presence Sensor FP1E
50 m²
Manufacturer source

The advertised coverage is up to 50 square metres with ceiling mounting.

Aqara Presence Sensor FP1E manufacturer product page →
Source section
Product description
Model
Aqara Presence Sensor FP1E
Region
Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
Firmware
Not specified by this source
Checked

Wall-side installation is rated for up to 35 square metres. These coverage figures are not interchangeable.

Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.

Meross Presence Sensor MS605
Not recorded
Aqara Presence Sensor FP1E
Yes
Meross Presence Sensor MS605
Yes
Catalog note

The 6m range can be split into three zones in the Meross app, each with its own presence and absence conditions, and each appears as a separate sensor on third-party platforms so automations can key off distance. An AI auto-adjust pass filters interference from fans and air conditioners. | Automations built inside the Meross app itself need a Meross hub, which Meross says is still in development.

Aqara Presence Sensor FP1E
Yes
Meross Presence Sensor MS605
Not recorded
Aqara Presence Sensor FP1E
No
Meross Presence Sensor MS605
No
Catalog note

The sensor splits its range into distance zones and reports each one as its own occupancy sensor. It does not count people or track individuals inside a zone.

Aqara Presence Sensor FP1E
6m / 19ft
Meross Presence Sensor MS605
6m / 19ft
Catalog note

Meross specifies motion detection up to 6m and precise static presence within 4m.

Aqara Presence Sensor FP1E
No
Meross Presence Sensor MS605
No
Aqara Presence Sensor FP1E
Yes
Meross Presence Sensor MS605
No
Catalog note

A battery-powered Thread end device, so it neither speaks Zigbee nor repeats traffic for other devices.

Integrations

Aqara Presence Sensor FP1E
Aqara Hub required
Meross Presence Sensor MS605
Yes
Catalog note

Via Matter, through an Echo that acts as a Matter and Thread border router. Meross notes Alexa does not currently surface the sensor's light reading, only its presence state.

Aqara Presence Sensor FP1E
Aqara Hub required
Catalog note

Zigbee end device: reaches Apple Home through an Aqara hub (Matter over Bridge).

Meross Presence Sensor MS605
Yes
Catalog note

Via Matter, with a HomePod or Apple TV acting as the Thread border router.

Aqara Presence Sensor FP1E
Aqara Hub required
Meross Presence Sensor MS605
Yes
Catalog note

Via Matter. Meross lists Google Home among the platforms the sensor connects to directly over Matter.

Aqara Presence Sensor FP1E
Yes
Meross Presence Sensor MS605
Yes
Catalog note

Via Matter. Home Assistant is a certified Matter controller, and Meross names it as a supported platform for this sensor.

Aqara Presence Sensor FP1E
Aqara Hub required
Catalog note

Zigbee with Matter over Bridge support: exposed to Matter through a Matter-capable Aqara hub such as the Hub M3.

Meross Presence Sensor MS605
Yes
Manufacturer source

The sensor supports Matter over Thread.

Meross Presence Sensor MS605 manufacturer product page →
Source section
Product description
Model
Meross Presence Sensor MS605
Region
Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
Firmware
Not specified by this source
Checked

Matter-over-Thread use requires a compatible controller and Thread border router. Light-sensor exposure depends on the ecosystem.

Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.

Catalog note

Certified under the Matter 1.4 specification, with both the occupancy sensor and the light sensor exposed to Matter platforms.

Aqara Presence Sensor FP1E
Aqara Hub required
Catalog note

Via Matter, through an Aqara hub acting as Matter bridge.

Meross Presence Sensor MS605
Yes
Catalog note

Via Matter. Meross lists SmartThings, and notes that it exposes a single presence sensor there rather than the three zones other platforms see.

Power

Aqara Presence Sensor FP1E
Yes
Meross Presence Sensor MS605
No
Catalog note

Battery powered by a single CR123A lithium cell (included), rated by Meross for 3 years. There is no wired or USB power option.

Sensors

Aqara Presence Sensor FP1E
No
Meross Presence Sensor MS605
Yes
Manufacturer source

A light sensor is included.

Meross Presence Sensor MS605 manufacturer product page →
Source section
Product description
Model
Meross Presence Sensor MS605
Region
Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
Firmware
Not specified by this source
Checked

Matter-over-Thread use requires a compatible controller and Thread border router. Light-sensor exposure depends on the ecosystem.

Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.

Catalog note

Built-in ambient light sensor, reported live to the Matter platform as an illuminance reading for lux-aware lighting automations.

Aqara Presence Sensor FP1E
Yes
Manufacturer source

Presence detection uses millimetre-wave radar.

Aqara Presence Sensor FP1E manufacturer product page →
Source section
Product description
Model
Aqara Presence Sensor FP1E
Region
Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
Firmware
Not specified by this source
Checked

Wall-side installation is rated for up to 35 square metres. These coverage figures are not interchangeable.

Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.

Catalog note

mmwave sensor

Meross Presence Sensor MS605
Yes
Manufacturer source

Radar and infrared sensing detect people.

Meross Presence Sensor MS605 manufacturer product page →
Source section
Product description
Model
Meross Presence Sensor MS605
Region
Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
Firmware
Not specified by this source
Checked

Matter-over-Thread use requires a compatible controller and Thread border router. Light-sensor exposure depends on the ecosystem.

Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.

Catalog note

24GHz mmWave Doppler radar paired with a PIR infrared sensor, so it holds a room occupied on breathing-level movement while the infrared side filters heatless motion such as curtains or a robot vacuum.

Specifications for Aqara Presence Sensor FP1E versus Meross Presence Sensor MS605
SpecificationAqara Presence Sensor FP1EMeross Presence Sensor MS605
Alerts
NoNo
YesYes
Catalog note

Presence and absence state changes are pushed to the Matter platform, which is what raises the alert or runs the automation.

Connectivity
NoNo
Catalog note

Meross states the sensor needs no 2.4GHz Wi-Fi: it runs on Matter over Thread and the spec sheet lists Bluetooth as its only other radio. The word Wi-Fi in some marketplace titles is keyword stuffing, not a radio this model has.

NoNo
NoFor Pairing
Catalog note

Bluetooth 4.3, used only to pair and configure the sensor from the Meross app; the device then reports over Thread.

NoThread Border Router required
Catalog note

Matter over Thread on a Nordic chipset. Meross states a hub that supports both Matter and Thread is required to add it to a third-party platform.

NoNo
Zigbee Hub requiredNo
Features
120°
Manufacturer source

The stated field of view is up to 120 degrees.

Aqara Presence Sensor FP1E manufacturer product page →
Source section
Product description
Model
Aqara Presence Sensor FP1E
Region
Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
Firmware
Not specified by this source
Checked

Wall-side installation is rated for up to 35 square metres. These coverage figures are not interchangeable.

Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.

Not recorded
50 m²
Manufacturer source

The advertised coverage is up to 50 square metres with ceiling mounting.

Aqara Presence Sensor FP1E manufacturer product page →
Source section
Product description
Model
Aqara Presence Sensor FP1E
Region
Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
Firmware
Not specified by this source
Checked

Wall-side installation is rated for up to 35 square metres. These coverage figures are not interchangeable.

Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.

Not recorded
YesYes
Catalog note

The 6m range can be split into three zones in the Meross app, each with its own presence and absence conditions, and each appears as a separate sensor on third-party platforms so automations can key off distance. An AI auto-adjust pass filters interference from fans and air conditioners. | Automations built inside the Meross app itself need a Meross hub, which Meross says is still in development.

YesNot recorded
NoNo
Catalog note

The sensor splits its range into distance zones and reports each one as its own occupancy sensor. It does not count people or track individuals inside a zone.

6m / 19ft6m / 19ft
Catalog note

Meross specifies motion detection up to 6m and precise static presence within 4m.

NoNo
YesNo
Catalog note

A battery-powered Thread end device, so it neither speaks Zigbee nor repeats traffic for other devices.

Integrations
Aqara Hub requiredYes
Catalog note

Via Matter, through an Echo that acts as a Matter and Thread border router. Meross notes Alexa does not currently surface the sensor's light reading, only its presence state.

Aqara Hub required
Catalog note

Zigbee end device: reaches Apple Home through an Aqara hub (Matter over Bridge).

Yes
Catalog note

Via Matter, with a HomePod or Apple TV acting as the Thread border router.

Aqara Hub requiredYes
Catalog note

Via Matter. Meross lists Google Home among the platforms the sensor connects to directly over Matter.

YesYes
Catalog note

Via Matter. Home Assistant is a certified Matter controller, and Meross names it as a supported platform for this sensor.

Aqara Hub required
Catalog note

Zigbee with Matter over Bridge support: exposed to Matter through a Matter-capable Aqara hub such as the Hub M3.

Yes
Manufacturer source

The sensor supports Matter over Thread.

Meross Presence Sensor MS605 manufacturer product page →
Source section
Product description
Model
Meross Presence Sensor MS605
Region
Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
Firmware
Not specified by this source
Checked

Matter-over-Thread use requires a compatible controller and Thread border router. Light-sensor exposure depends on the ecosystem.

Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.

Catalog note

Certified under the Matter 1.4 specification, with both the occupancy sensor and the light sensor exposed to Matter platforms.

Aqara Hub required
Catalog note

Via Matter, through an Aqara hub acting as Matter bridge.

Yes
Catalog note

Via Matter. Meross lists SmartThings, and notes that it exposes a single presence sensor there rather than the three zones other platforms see.

Power
YesNo
Catalog note

Battery powered by a single CR123A lithium cell (included), rated by Meross for 3 years. There is no wired or USB power option.

Sensors
NoYes
Manufacturer source

A light sensor is included.

Meross Presence Sensor MS605 manufacturer product page →
Source section
Product description
Model
Meross Presence Sensor MS605
Region
Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
Firmware
Not specified by this source
Checked

Matter-over-Thread use requires a compatible controller and Thread border router. Light-sensor exposure depends on the ecosystem.

Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.

Catalog note

Built-in ambient light sensor, reported live to the Matter platform as an illuminance reading for lux-aware lighting automations.

Yes
Manufacturer source

Presence detection uses millimetre-wave radar.

Aqara Presence Sensor FP1E manufacturer product page →
Source section
Product description
Model
Aqara Presence Sensor FP1E
Region
Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
Firmware
Not specified by this source
Checked

Wall-side installation is rated for up to 35 square metres. These coverage figures are not interchangeable.

Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.

Catalog note

mmwave sensor

Yes
Manufacturer source

Radar and infrared sensing detect people.

Meross Presence Sensor MS605 manufacturer product page →
Source section
Product description
Model
Meross Presence Sensor MS605
Region
Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
Firmware
Not specified by this source
Checked

Matter-over-Thread use requires a compatible controller and Thread border router. Light-sensor exposure depends on the ecosystem.

Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.

Catalog note

24GHz mmWave Doppler radar paired with a PIR infrared sensor, so it holds a room occupied on breathing-level movement while the infrared side filters heatless motion such as curtains or a robot vacuum.

Know what’s behind the comparison.

The table matches specifications by section and field. It preserves notes, separates missing data from explicit “No” values, and keeps qualifications attached to their values. No overall winner is assigned from feature counts.

Read our comparison methodology