
The Smart Device Compare comparison
Aqara Presence Sensor FP1E vs Third Reality Smart Presence Sensor R3
Understand the differences. Decide what matters to your home.
Build another comparison →Before you compare every specification
Key differences between Aqara Presence Sensor FP1E and Third Reality Smart Presence Sensor R3
A summary of selected recorded differences between these presence sensors. Check the full specification table below for details and conditions.
- Light (sensors): Aqara Presence Sensor FP1E — No; Third Reality Smart Presence Sensor R3 — Yes (Built-in ambient light (Lux) sensor. Zigbee2MQTT exposes illuminance and an illuminance calibration setting.).
- Alexa (integrations): Aqara Presence Sensor FP1E — Aqara Hub required; Third Reality Smart Presence Sensor R3 — Yes (Works with Echo devices that have a built-in Zigbee hub, including Echo (4th Gen), Echo Plus (1st and 2nd Gen), Echo Studio, Echo Show 8 (3rd Gen), Echo Show 10 (2nd and 3rd Gen), Echo Hub, Eero 6 and Eero Pro 6.).
- Apple Home (integrations): Aqara Presence Sensor FP1E — Aqara Hub required (Zigbee end device: reaches Apple Home through an Aqara hub (Matter over Bridge).); Third Reality Smart Presence Sensor R3 — Smart Bridge MZ1 required (Not a HomeKit or Matter endpoint on its own. Apple Home reaches it through Third Reality's Smart Bridge MZ1, the manufacturer's Zigbee to Matter bridge, which the R3 listing names as a supported system.).
- Google Home (integrations): Aqara Presence Sensor FP1E — Aqara Hub required; Third Reality Smart Presence Sensor R3 — Smart Bridge MZ1 required (No direct path: Google Home has no Zigbee radio. Third Reality's own Smart Bridge MZ1 republishes its Zigbee devices over Matter, and the manufacturer names the MZ1 as one of the three systems that read this sensor's data.).
- Matter (integrations): Aqara Presence Sensor FP1E — Aqara Hub required (Zigbee with Matter over Bridge support: exposed to Matter through a Matter-capable Aqara hub such as the Hub M3.); Third Reality Smart Presence Sensor R3 — No (A Zigbee 3.0 device. Neither model 3RPL01084Z nor a Third Reality presence sensor appears in the CSA certified products database, and the manufacturer claims no Matter support. Matter platforms reach it only through the separate Smart Bridge MZ1.).
- 3 of 25 comparison fields lack a resolved value for at least one selected device. Missing information is not evidence that a feature is absent.
- Check the full table and manufacturer documentation before ruling out a device.
These observations are derived from recorded catalog data and have not all been independently verified. Confirm details with the manufacturer before purchasing.
Compare capabilities, compatibility and setup requirements.


Option 2 · Third Reality
Third Reality Smart Presence Sensor R3
Last updated October 2026
View full device profileWhat the catalog tells us
Understand the tradeoffs.
These counts describe the available data, not a quality score. More features do not automatically make a better device.
Consider your setup
Apple Home
- Aqara Presence Sensor FP1EAqara Hub required
- Third Reality Smart Presence Sensor R3Smart Bridge MZ1 required
Confirm which features appear in Apple Home and whether extra hardware or a subscription is needed for your intended use.
Inspect the specificationsConsider your setup
Matter
- Aqara Presence Sensor FP1EAqara Hub required
- Third Reality Smart Presence Sensor R3No
Confirm the exact device type and the features exposed in your chosen platform. Protocol support does not establish feature parity across apps.
Inspect the specificationsYour priorities, side by side
Focus on what changes.
Mark the specifications you care about. Open manufacturer sources for verification scope; fields without citations remain catalog data. Expand notes for other qualifications.
Showing 25 of 25 rows. “Not recorded” does not mean “No”.
Alerts
- Aqara Presence Sensor FP1E
- No
- Third Reality Smart Presence Sensor R3
- No
- Aqara Presence Sensor FP1E
- Yes
- Third Reality Smart Presence Sensor R3
- Yes
Catalog note
Presence and absence can trigger lights, notifications or any other automation in a compatible smart home system, and the built-in RGB light doubles as a local status indicator.
Connectivity
- Aqara Presence Sensor FP1E
- No
- Third Reality Smart Presence Sensor R3
- No
- Aqara Presence Sensor FP1E
- No
- Third Reality Smart Presence Sensor R3
- No
- Aqara Presence Sensor FP1E
- No
- Third Reality Smart Presence Sensor R3
- No
- Aqara Presence Sensor FP1E
- No
- Third Reality Smart Presence Sensor R3
- No
- Aqara Presence Sensor FP1E
- No
- Third Reality Smart Presence Sensor R3
- No
- Aqara Presence Sensor FP1E
- Zigbee Hub required
- Third Reality Smart Presence Sensor R3
- Zigbee Hub required
Catalog note
Zigbee 3.0 end device. It needs a Zigbee hub or coordinator: Home Assistant (ZHA or Zigbee2MQTT), SmartThings (2015/2018), Aeotec, or an Echo device with a built-in Zigbee hub.
Features
- Aqara Presence Sensor FP1E
- 120°
Manufacturer source
The stated field of view is up to 120 degrees.
Aqara Presence Sensor FP1E manufacturer product page →- Source section
- Product description
- Model
- Aqara Presence Sensor FP1E
- Region
- Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
- Firmware
- Not specified by this source
- Checked
Wall-side installation is rated for up to 35 square metres. These coverage figures are not interchangeable.
Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.
- Third Reality Smart Presence Sensor R3
- Not recorded
- Aqara Presence Sensor FP1E
- 50 m²
Manufacturer source
The advertised coverage is up to 50 square metres with ceiling mounting.
Aqara Presence Sensor FP1E manufacturer product page →- Source section
- Product description
- Model
- Aqara Presence Sensor FP1E
- Region
- Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
- Firmware
- Not specified by this source
- Checked
Wall-side installation is rated for up to 35 square metres. These coverage figures are not interchangeable.
Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.
- Third Reality Smart Presence Sensor R3
- Not recorded
- Aqara Presence Sensor FP1E
- Yes
- Third Reality Smart Presence Sensor R3
- Yes
Catalog note
Six adjustable detection levels (1 to 6 m), a configurable presence hold time and a TVOC alert threshold, so presence, illuminance and air quality can all drive automations on the hub.
- Aqara Presence Sensor FP1E
- Yes
- Third Reality Smart Presence Sensor R3
- Not recorded
- Aqara Presence Sensor FP1E
- No
- Third Reality Smart Presence Sensor R3
- No
Catalog note
Reports a single binary occupancy state, with no person count and no zone or position tracking.
- Aqara Presence Sensor FP1E
- 6m / 19ft
- Third Reality Smart Presence Sensor R3
- 6m / 19ft
- Aqara Presence Sensor FP1E
- No
- Third Reality Smart Presence Sensor R3
- No
- Aqara Presence Sensor FP1E
- Yes
- Third Reality Smart Presence Sensor R3
- Yes
Catalog note
Mains powered over USB-C and always on, so it also acts as a Zigbee repeater and strengthens the mesh for other devices.
Integrations
- Aqara Presence Sensor FP1E
- Aqara Hub required
- Third Reality Smart Presence Sensor R3
- Yes
Catalog note
Works with Echo devices that have a built-in Zigbee hub, including Echo (4th Gen), Echo Plus (1st and 2nd Gen), Echo Studio, Echo Show 8 (3rd Gen), Echo Show 10 (2nd and 3rd Gen), Echo Hub, Eero 6 and Eero Pro 6.
- Aqara Presence Sensor FP1E
- Aqara Hub required
Catalog note
Zigbee end device: reaches Apple Home through an Aqara hub (Matter over Bridge).
- Third Reality Smart Presence Sensor R3
- Smart Bridge MZ1 required
Catalog note
Not a HomeKit or Matter endpoint on its own. Apple Home reaches it through Third Reality's Smart Bridge MZ1, the manufacturer's Zigbee to Matter bridge, which the R3 listing names as a supported system.
- Aqara Presence Sensor FP1E
- Aqara Hub required
- Third Reality Smart Presence Sensor R3
- Smart Bridge MZ1 required
Catalog note
No direct path: Google Home has no Zigbee radio. Third Reality's own Smart Bridge MZ1 republishes its Zigbee devices over Matter, and the manufacturer names the MZ1 as one of the three systems that read this sensor's data.
- Aqara Presence Sensor FP1E
- Yes
- Third Reality Smart Presence Sensor R3
- Yes
Catalog note
Supported through both ZHA and Zigbee2MQTT. Zigbee2MQTT documents model 3RPL01084Z and exposes occupancy, illuminance, TVOC, the RGB light, presence sensitivity and presence hold time.
- Aqara Presence Sensor FP1E
- Aqara Hub required
Catalog note
Zigbee with Matter over Bridge support: exposed to Matter through a Matter-capable Aqara hub such as the Hub M3.
- Third Reality Smart Presence Sensor R3
- No
Catalog note
A Zigbee 3.0 device. Neither model 3RPL01084Z nor a Third Reality presence sensor appears in the CSA certified products database, and the manufacturer claims no Matter support. Matter platforms reach it only through the separate Smart Bridge MZ1.
- Aqara Presence Sensor FP1E
- Aqara Hub required
Catalog note
Via Matter, through an Aqara hub acting as Matter bridge.
- Third Reality Smart Presence Sensor R3
- Yes
Catalog note
Pairs as a standard Zigbee device with SmartThings (2015/2018) hubs and the Aeotec Smart Home Hub, per the manufacturer's compatibility list.
Power
- Aqara Presence Sensor FP1E
- Yes
- Third Reality Smart Presence Sensor R3
- USB-C
Catalog note
Powered over USB-C at 5V/1A for continuous always-on operation, with no batteries involved.
Sensors
- Aqara Presence Sensor FP1E
- No
- Third Reality Smart Presence Sensor R3
- Yes
Catalog note
Built-in ambient light (Lux) sensor. Zigbee2MQTT exposes illuminance and an illuminance calibration setting.
- Aqara Presence Sensor FP1E
- Yes
Manufacturer source
Presence detection uses millimetre-wave radar.
Aqara Presence Sensor FP1E manufacturer product page →- Source section
- Product description
- Model
- Aqara Presence Sensor FP1E
- Region
- Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
- Firmware
- Not specified by this source
- Checked
Wall-side installation is rated for up to 35 square metres. These coverage figures are not interchangeable.
Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.
Catalog note
mmwave sensor
- Third Reality Smart Presence Sensor R3
- Yes
Catalog note
60 GHz mmWave radar that holds detection on a person who is sitting still, reading the micro-movements of breathing.
| Specification | Aqara Presence Sensor FP1E | Third Reality Smart Presence Sensor R3 |
|---|---|---|
| Alerts | ||
| No | No | |
| Yes | YesCatalog notePresence and absence can trigger lights, notifications or any other automation in a compatible smart home system, and the built-in RGB light doubles as a local status indicator. | |
| Connectivity | ||
| No | No | |
| No | No | |
| No | No | |
| No | No | |
| No | No | |
| Zigbee Hub required | Zigbee Hub requiredCatalog noteZigbee 3.0 end device. It needs a Zigbee hub or coordinator: Home Assistant (ZHA or Zigbee2MQTT), SmartThings (2015/2018), Aeotec, or an Echo device with a built-in Zigbee hub. | |
| Features | ||
120°Manufacturer sourceThe stated field of view is up to 120 degrees. Aqara Presence Sensor FP1E manufacturer product page →
Wall-side installation is rated for up to 35 square metres. These coverage figures are not interchangeable. Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant. | Not recorded | |
50 m²Manufacturer sourceThe advertised coverage is up to 50 square metres with ceiling mounting. Aqara Presence Sensor FP1E manufacturer product page →
Wall-side installation is rated for up to 35 square metres. These coverage figures are not interchangeable. Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant. | Not recorded | |
| Yes | YesCatalog noteSix adjustable detection levels (1 to 6 m), a configurable presence hold time and a TVOC alert threshold, so presence, illuminance and air quality can all drive automations on the hub. | |
| Yes | Not recorded | |
| No | NoCatalog noteReports a single binary occupancy state, with no person count and no zone or position tracking. | |
| 6m / 19ft | 6m / 19ft | |
| No | No | |
| Yes | YesCatalog noteMains powered over USB-C and always on, so it also acts as a Zigbee repeater and strengthens the mesh for other devices. | |
| Integrations | ||
| Aqara Hub required | YesCatalog noteWorks with Echo devices that have a built-in Zigbee hub, including Echo (4th Gen), Echo Plus (1st and 2nd Gen), Echo Studio, Echo Show 8 (3rd Gen), Echo Show 10 (2nd and 3rd Gen), Echo Hub, Eero 6 and Eero Pro 6. | |
Aqara Hub requiredCatalog noteZigbee end device: reaches Apple Home through an Aqara hub (Matter over Bridge). | Smart Bridge MZ1 requiredCatalog noteNot a HomeKit or Matter endpoint on its own. Apple Home reaches it through Third Reality's Smart Bridge MZ1, the manufacturer's Zigbee to Matter bridge, which the R3 listing names as a supported system. | |
| Aqara Hub required | Smart Bridge MZ1 requiredCatalog noteNo direct path: Google Home has no Zigbee radio. Third Reality's own Smart Bridge MZ1 republishes its Zigbee devices over Matter, and the manufacturer names the MZ1 as one of the three systems that read this sensor's data. | |
| Yes | YesCatalog noteSupported through both ZHA and Zigbee2MQTT. Zigbee2MQTT documents model 3RPL01084Z and exposes occupancy, illuminance, TVOC, the RGB light, presence sensitivity and presence hold time. | |
Aqara Hub requiredCatalog noteZigbee with Matter over Bridge support: exposed to Matter through a Matter-capable Aqara hub such as the Hub M3. | NoCatalog noteA Zigbee 3.0 device. Neither model 3RPL01084Z nor a Third Reality presence sensor appears in the CSA certified products database, and the manufacturer claims no Matter support. Matter platforms reach it only through the separate Smart Bridge MZ1. | |
Aqara Hub requiredCatalog noteVia Matter, through an Aqara hub acting as Matter bridge. | YesCatalog notePairs as a standard Zigbee device with SmartThings (2015/2018) hubs and the Aeotec Smart Home Hub, per the manufacturer's compatibility list. | |
| Power | ||
| Yes | USB-CCatalog notePowered over USB-C at 5V/1A for continuous always-on operation, with no batteries involved. | |
| Sensors | ||
| No | YesCatalog noteBuilt-in ambient light (Lux) sensor. Zigbee2MQTT exposes illuminance and an illuminance calibration setting. | |
YesManufacturer sourcePresence detection uses millimetre-wave radar. Aqara Presence Sensor FP1E manufacturer product page →
Wall-side installation is rated for up to 35 square metres. These coverage figures are not interchangeable. Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant. Catalog notemmwave sensor | YesCatalog note60 GHz mmWave radar that holds detection on a person who is sitting still, reading the micro-movements of breathing. | |
Know what’s behind the comparison.
The table matches specifications by section and field. It preserves notes, separates missing data from explicit “No” values, and keeps qualifications attached to their values. No overall winner is assigned from feature counts.
Read our comparison methodology