The Smart Device Compare comparison

Sonoff SenseGuard Presence Core vs SONOFF Zigbee Human Presence Sensor

Understand the differences. Decide what matters to your home.

Build another comparison →

Before you compare every specification

Key differences between Sonoff SenseGuard Presence Core and SONOFF Zigbee Human Presence Sensor

A summary of selected recorded differences between these presence sensors. Check the full specification table below for details and conditions.

Feature differences among your selected devices
  • Zigbee Router (features): Sonoff SenseGuard Presence Core — Yes (SONOFF states the device can act as a Zigbee router and extend the coverage of the mesh, which its permanent USB-C power allows.); SONOFF Zigbee Human Presence Sensor — No.
Specifications to check side by side
  • Bluetooth (connectivity): Sonoff SenseGuard Presence Core — For Pairing (Bluetooth LE is used by the eWeLink BLE Setup flow to add the device and to configure the detection zones and Detection Calibration locally, which is how third-party platform users reach those settings. All reporting still happens over Zigbee.); SONOFF Zigbee Human Presence Sensor — No.
  • Angle Of Detection (features): Sonoff SenseGuard Presence Core — 120° (SONOFF's detection-range section states a 120° detection angle, matching the figure in SmartHomeScene's hands-on. The highlights blurb on the same help center page says 110°, which is the angle of the older SNZB-06P.); SONOFF Zigbee Human Presence Sensor — 110°.
  • Range Of Detection (features): Sonoff SenseGuard Presence Core — 4m / 13ft (Radial detection distance of about 4 meters, split into seven independent zones of 0.5m that can each be switched off in the app to mask a doorway or a desk fan.); SONOFF Zigbee Human Presence Sensor — 6m / 19ft.
Information still to confirm
  • 1 of 25 comparison fields lack a resolved value for at least one selected device. Missing information is not evidence that a feature is absent.
  • Check the full table and manufacturer documentation before ruling out a device.

These observations are derived from recorded catalog data and have not all been independently verified. Confirm details with the manufacturer before purchasing.

Compare capabilities, compatibility and setup requirements.

What the catalog tells us

Understand the tradeoffs.

These counts describe the available data, not a quality score. More features do not automatically make a better device.

4differences with recorded values for every device
1rows with missing or unspecified information

Your priorities, side by side

Focus on what changes.

Mark the specifications you care about. Open manufacturer sources for verification scope; fields without citations remain catalog data. Expand notes for other qualifications.

Showing 25 of 25 rows. “Not recorded” does not mean “No”.

Alerts

Sonoff SenseGuard Presence Core
No
SONOFF Zigbee Human Presence Sensor
No
Sonoff SenseGuard Presence Core
Yes
Catalog note

Presence and absence events drive scenes and notifications, with a configurable occupancy timeout before the room is reported empty.

SONOFF Zigbee Human Presence Sensor
Yes
Catalog note

5.8GHz Microwave Radar

Connectivity

Sonoff SenseGuard Presence Core
No
SONOFF Zigbee Human Presence Sensor
No
Sonoff SenseGuard Presence Core
No
SONOFF Zigbee Human Presence Sensor
No
Sonoff SenseGuard Presence Core
For Pairing
Catalog note

Bluetooth LE is used by the eWeLink BLE Setup flow to add the device and to configure the detection zones and Detection Calibration locally, which is how third-party platform users reach those settings. All reporting still happens over Zigbee.

SONOFF Zigbee Human Presence Sensor
No
Sonoff SenseGuard Presence Core
No
SONOFF Zigbee Human Presence Sensor
No
Sonoff SenseGuard Presence Core
No
SONOFF Zigbee Human Presence Sensor
No
Sonoff SenseGuard Presence Core
Zigbee Hub required
Catalog note

Zigbee 3.0 (IEEE 802.15.4) end device with an open-area range of 100m. It needs a Zigbee coordinator: a SONOFF gateway, or any Zigbee 3.0 hub such as a Zigbee2MQTT or ZHA dongle.

SONOFF Zigbee Human Presence Sensor
Zigbee Hub required

Features

Sonoff SenseGuard Presence Core
120°
Catalog note

SONOFF's detection-range section states a 120° detection angle, matching the figure in SmartHomeScene's hands-on. The highlights blurb on the same help center page says 110°, which is the angle of the older SNZB-06P.

SONOFF Zigbee Human Presence Sensor
110°
Sonoff SenseGuard Presence Core
Not recorded
SONOFF Zigbee Human Presence Sensor
Not recorded
Sonoff SenseGuard Presence Core
Yes
Catalog note

Presence and the lux reading can both trigger eWeLink scenes, which is how SONOFF pitches it for lighting that only turns on when the room is dark and occupied.

SONOFF Zigbee Human Presence Sensor
Yes
Sonoff SenseGuard Presence Core
Yes
Catalog note

eWeLink keeps occupancy detection logs and a record of the light level over time, which SONOFF also allows exporting.

SONOFF Zigbee Human Presence Sensor
Yes
Sonoff SenseGuard Presence Core
No
Catalog note

The radar answers occupied or not occupied. SONOFF never claims people counting, and Zigbee2MQTT exposes a single occupancy binary rather than per-target data.

SONOFF Zigbee Human Presence Sensor
No
Sonoff SenseGuard Presence Core
4m / 13ft
Manufacturer source

The advertised detection range is up to four metres.

Sonoff SenseGuard Presence Core manufacturer product page →
Source section
Product description
Model
Sonoff SenseGuard Presence Core
Region
Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
Firmware
Not specified by this source
Checked

Range depends on placement and environmental interference.

Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.

Catalog note

Radial detection distance of about 4 meters, split into seven independent zones of 0.5m that can each be switched off in the app to mask a doorway or a desk fan.

SONOFF Zigbee Human Presence Sensor
6m / 19ft
Sonoff SenseGuard Presence Core
No
Catalog note

SONOFF states the device cannot accurately detect a sleeping person, because the chest movement of breathing during sleep is too subtle for it.

SONOFF Zigbee Human Presence Sensor
No
Sonoff SenseGuard Presence Core
Yes
Manufacturer source

The device can repeat Zigbee signals.

Sonoff SenseGuard Presence Core manufacturer product page →
Source section
Product description
Model
Sonoff SenseGuard Presence Core
Region
Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
Firmware
Not specified by this source
Checked

Range depends on placement and environmental interference.

Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.

Catalog note

SONOFF states the device can act as a Zigbee router and extend the coverage of the mesh, which its permanent USB-C power allows.

SONOFF Zigbee Human Presence Sensor
No

Integrations

Sonoff SenseGuard Presence Core
Yes
Catalog note

SONOFF lists Alexa among the third-party platforms that can query the motion status, through the eWeLink cloud-to-cloud integration behind a SONOFF Zigbee gateway.

SONOFF Zigbee Human Presence Sensor
Yes
Sonoff SenseGuard Presence Core
SONOFF Hub required
Catalog note

The sensor has no HomeKit profile of its own. SONOFF documents Apple Home support through its own Matter bridges (ZBBridge-U, iHost, eWeLink CUBE), which republish the Zigbee device into the Apple ecosystem.

SONOFF Zigbee Human Presence Sensor
SONOFF Hub required
Catalog note

SONOFF lists this model among the Zigbee devices its Matter bridges (Zigbee Bridge Ultra, iHost, NSPanel Pro) publish to Matter, which is how it reaches the Apple Home app. Apple Home has no Zigbee radio of its own.

Sonoff SenseGuard Presence Core
Yes
Catalog note

SONOFF lists Google Home among the third-party platforms that can query the occupancy status, once the sensor is added to eWeLink through a SONOFF Zigbee gateway and synced cloud to cloud.

SONOFF Zigbee Human Presence Sensor
Yes
Sonoff SenseGuard Presence Core
Yes
Catalog note

Zigbee2MQTT supports the exact model and exposes occupancy, illuminance, the occupancy timeout, radar sensitivity, the seven detection zones and the spatial learning calibration. SONOFF also documents ZHA, which currently needs a quirk script it provides.

SONOFF Zigbee Human Presence Sensor
Yes
Sonoff SenseGuard Presence Core
SONOFF Hub required
Catalog note

The device is Zigbee, not Matter. SONOFF's own Matter bridges (ZBBridge-U, iHost, eWeLink CUBE) are what expose it to a Matter fabric.

SONOFF Zigbee Human Presence Sensor
SONOFF Hub required
Catalog note

The device is not Matter itself: SONOFF lists it among the Zigbee models its Matter bridges (Zigbee Bridge Ultra, iHost, NSPanel Pro) republish into Matter.

Sonoff SenseGuard Presence Core
Yes
Catalog note

SONOFF publishes a SmartThings driver for the model and links the channel invite from its help center page; the device then reports occupancy in SmartThings.

SONOFF Zigbee Human Presence Sensor
Yes

Power

Sonoff SenseGuard Presence Core
USB-C
Catalog note

Permanently powered over a USB-C port rated 5V 0.5A. There is no battery option, so the sensor has to stay plugged in.

SONOFF Zigbee Human Presence Sensor
USB-C

Sensors

Sonoff SenseGuard Presence Core
Yes
Manufacturer source

Ambient light sensing is included.

Sonoff SenseGuard Presence Core manufacturer product page →
Source section
Product description
Model
Sonoff SenseGuard Presence Core
Region
Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
Firmware
Not specified by this source
Checked

Range depends on placement and environmental interference.

Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.

Catalog note

Ambient light sensor reporting a lux value, with a calibration offset and a history log. Zigbee2MQTT exposes illuminance and the illuminance calibration.

SONOFF Zigbee Human Presence Sensor
Yes
Sonoff SenseGuard Presence Core
Yes
Manufacturer source

Presence sensing uses 24 GHz radar.

Sonoff SenseGuard Presence Core manufacturer product page →
Source section
Product description
Model
Sonoff SenseGuard Presence Core
Region
Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
Firmware
Not specified by this source
Checked

Range depends on placement and environmental interference.

Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.

Catalog note

24GHz mmWave radar that reads micro-movements such as the chest expansion of breathing, so it holds detection on someone sitting still. SONOFF notes a completely motionless person is best detected within 3 meters facing the device, and that it cannot reliably detect a sleeping person.

SONOFF Zigbee Human Presence Sensor
Yes
Specifications for Sonoff SenseGuard Presence Core versus SONOFF Zigbee Human Presence Sensor
SpecificationSonoff SenseGuard Presence CoreSONOFF Zigbee Human Presence Sensor
Alerts
NoNo
Yes
Catalog note

Presence and absence events drive scenes and notifications, with a configurable occupancy timeout before the room is reported empty.

Yes
Catalog note

5.8GHz Microwave Radar

Connectivity
NoNo
NoNo
For Pairing
Catalog note

Bluetooth LE is used by the eWeLink BLE Setup flow to add the device and to configure the detection zones and Detection Calibration locally, which is how third-party platform users reach those settings. All reporting still happens over Zigbee.

No
NoNo
NoNo
Zigbee Hub required
Catalog note

Zigbee 3.0 (IEEE 802.15.4) end device with an open-area range of 100m. It needs a Zigbee coordinator: a SONOFF gateway, or any Zigbee 3.0 hub such as a Zigbee2MQTT or ZHA dongle.

Zigbee Hub required
Features
120°
Catalog note

SONOFF's detection-range section states a 120° detection angle, matching the figure in SmartHomeScene's hands-on. The highlights blurb on the same help center page says 110°, which is the angle of the older SNZB-06P.

110°
Not recordedNot recorded
Yes
Catalog note

Presence and the lux reading can both trigger eWeLink scenes, which is how SONOFF pitches it for lighting that only turns on when the room is dark and occupied.

Yes
Yes
Catalog note

eWeLink keeps occupancy detection logs and a record of the light level over time, which SONOFF also allows exporting.

Yes
No
Catalog note

The radar answers occupied or not occupied. SONOFF never claims people counting, and Zigbee2MQTT exposes a single occupancy binary rather than per-target data.

No
4m / 13ft
Manufacturer source

The advertised detection range is up to four metres.

Sonoff SenseGuard Presence Core manufacturer product page →
Source section
Product description
Model
Sonoff SenseGuard Presence Core
Region
Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
Firmware
Not specified by this source
Checked

Range depends on placement and environmental interference.

Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.

Catalog note

Radial detection distance of about 4 meters, split into seven independent zones of 0.5m that can each be switched off in the app to mask a doorway or a desk fan.

6m / 19ft
No
Catalog note

SONOFF states the device cannot accurately detect a sleeping person, because the chest movement of breathing during sleep is too subtle for it.

No
Yes
Manufacturer source

The device can repeat Zigbee signals.

Sonoff SenseGuard Presence Core manufacturer product page →
Source section
Product description
Model
Sonoff SenseGuard Presence Core
Region
Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
Firmware
Not specified by this source
Checked

Range depends on placement and environmental interference.

Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.

Catalog note

SONOFF states the device can act as a Zigbee router and extend the coverage of the mesh, which its permanent USB-C power allows.

No
Integrations
Yes
Catalog note

SONOFF lists Alexa among the third-party platforms that can query the motion status, through the eWeLink cloud-to-cloud integration behind a SONOFF Zigbee gateway.

Yes
SONOFF Hub required
Catalog note

The sensor has no HomeKit profile of its own. SONOFF documents Apple Home support through its own Matter bridges (ZBBridge-U, iHost, eWeLink CUBE), which republish the Zigbee device into the Apple ecosystem.

SONOFF Hub required
Catalog note

SONOFF lists this model among the Zigbee devices its Matter bridges (Zigbee Bridge Ultra, iHost, NSPanel Pro) publish to Matter, which is how it reaches the Apple Home app. Apple Home has no Zigbee radio of its own.

Yes
Catalog note

SONOFF lists Google Home among the third-party platforms that can query the occupancy status, once the sensor is added to eWeLink through a SONOFF Zigbee gateway and synced cloud to cloud.

Yes
Yes
Catalog note

Zigbee2MQTT supports the exact model and exposes occupancy, illuminance, the occupancy timeout, radar sensitivity, the seven detection zones and the spatial learning calibration. SONOFF also documents ZHA, which currently needs a quirk script it provides.

Yes
SONOFF Hub required
Catalog note

The device is Zigbee, not Matter. SONOFF's own Matter bridges (ZBBridge-U, iHost, eWeLink CUBE) are what expose it to a Matter fabric.

SONOFF Hub required
Catalog note

The device is not Matter itself: SONOFF lists it among the Zigbee models its Matter bridges (Zigbee Bridge Ultra, iHost, NSPanel Pro) republish into Matter.

Yes
Catalog note

SONOFF publishes a SmartThings driver for the model and links the channel invite from its help center page; the device then reports occupancy in SmartThings.

Yes
Power
USB-C
Catalog note

Permanently powered over a USB-C port rated 5V 0.5A. There is no battery option, so the sensor has to stay plugged in.

USB-C
Sensors
Yes
Manufacturer source

Ambient light sensing is included.

Sonoff SenseGuard Presence Core manufacturer product page →
Source section
Product description
Model
Sonoff SenseGuard Presence Core
Region
Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
Firmware
Not specified by this source
Checked

Range depends on placement and environmental interference.

Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.

Catalog note

Ambient light sensor reporting a lux value, with a calibration offset and a history log. Zigbee2MQTT exposes illuminance and the illuminance calibration.

Yes
Yes
Manufacturer source

Presence sensing uses 24 GHz radar.

Sonoff SenseGuard Presence Core manufacturer product page →
Source section
Product description
Model
Sonoff SenseGuard Presence Core
Region
Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
Firmware
Not specified by this source
Checked

Range depends on placement and environmental interference.

Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.

Catalog note

24GHz mmWave radar that reads micro-movements such as the chest expansion of breathing, so it holds detection on someone sitting still. SONOFF notes a completely motionless person is best detected within 3 meters facing the device, and that it cannot reliably detect a sleeping person.

Yes

Know what’s behind the comparison.

The table matches specifications by section and field. It preserves notes, separates missing data from explicit “No” values, and keeps qualifications attached to their values. No overall winner is assigned from feature counts.

Read our comparison methodology