
The Smart Device Compare comparison
Narwal Freo X Ultra vs TP-Link Tapo RV30 Max Plus Gen 2
Understand the differences. Decide what matters to your home.
Build another comparison →Before you compare every specification
Key differences between Narwal Freo X Ultra and TP-Link Tapo RV30 Max Plus Gen 2
A summary of selected recorded differences between these robot vacuums. Check the full specification table below for details and conditions.
- Self Emptying (features): Narwal Freo X Ultra — No (The base station has no dust collection. Narwal contrasts the Freo X Ultra with robots that empty into their station, describing a built-in system that compresses dust into the robot's own disposable bag instead); TP-Link Tapo RV30 Max Plus Gen 2 — Yes.
- Apple Home (integrations): Narwal Freo X Ultra — No (Narwal names only Alexa, Google and Siri for this model, Siri running through the Narwal app rather than the Home app, and the robot carries no Matter certification that would open an Apple Home path); TP-Link Tapo RV30 Max Plus Gen 2 — Yes (Via Matter).
- Home Assistant (integrations): Narwal Freo X Ultra — No (The community Narwal integration, the only one that exists, lists the Freo X Ultra as not compatible: this model talks ZeroMQ on port 6789 plus the Tuya cloud instead of the WebSocket protocol the integration drives); TP-Link Tapo RV30 Max Plus Gen 2 — Yes (Via Matter).
- Matter (integrations): Narwal Freo X Ultra — No (A search of the CSA certified product database returns only the Narwal Flow and Flow 2, not this model); TP-Link Tapo RV30 Max Plus Gen 2 — Yes (TP-Link's own datasheet lists the third-party compatibility as Google Assistant, Amazon Alexa+ and Matter, and notes the robot has to be set up in the Tapo app before it is added to a Matter controller. | The CSA certified the Matter build on 10 July 2026 under vendor ID 0x1392 (TP-Link Systems Inc.) and product ID 0x0708, part number RV30 Max Gen2, over Wi-Fi with the Robot Vacuum Cleaner device type.).
- Noise Level (features): Narwal Freo X Ultra — 58dB (Narwal rates the robot at as low as 58 dB while cleaning); TP-Link Tapo RV30 Max Plus Gen 2 — 52dB.
- Onboard Dustbin Capacity (features): Narwal Freo X Ultra — 1000ml (A 1 L disposable dust bag rides inside the robot, which compresses debris into it for up to 7 weeks); TP-Link Tapo RV30 Max Plus Gen 2 — 300ml.
- Battery Life (power): Narwal Freo X Ultra — 210 minutes (Narwal's own comparison table rates the Freo X Ultra at 210 minutes per charge); TP-Link Tapo RV30 Max Plus Gen 2 — 170 minutes.
- Suction Power (suction performance): Narwal Freo X Ultra — 8200Pa; TP-Link Tapo RV30 Max Plus Gen 2 — 13000Pa.
- 3 of 37 comparison fields lack a resolved value for at least one selected device. Missing information is not evidence that a feature is absent.
- Check the full table and manufacturer documentation before ruling out a device.
These observations are derived from recorded catalog data and have not all been independently verified. Confirm details with the manufacturer before purchasing.
Compare capabilities, compatibility and setup requirements.


Option 2 · TP-Link
TP-Link Tapo RV30 Max Plus Gen 2
Catalog update date not recorded
View full device profileWhat the catalog tells us
Understand the tradeoffs.
These counts describe the available data, not a quality score. More features do not automatically make a better device.
Consider your setup
Apple Home
- Narwal Freo X UltraNo
- TP-Link Tapo RV30 Max Plus Gen 2Yes
Confirm which features appear in Apple Home and whether extra hardware or a subscription is needed for your intended use.
Inspect the specificationsConsider your setup
Home Assistant
- Narwal Freo X UltraNo
- TP-Link Tapo RV30 Max Plus Gen 2Yes
Check the integration method, supported model and firmware. A catalog Yes does not establish local control or official support.
Inspect the specificationsConsider your setup
Matter
- Narwal Freo X UltraNo
- TP-Link Tapo RV30 Max Plus Gen 2Yes
Confirm the exact device type and the features exposed in your chosen platform. Protocol support does not establish feature parity across apps.
Inspect the specificationsConsider your setup
Battery Life
- Narwal Freo X Ultra210 minutes
- TP-Link Tapo RV30 Max Plus Gen 2170 minutes
Compare the stated test conditions. Catalog battery figures alone do not predict runtime in your home.
Inspect the specificationsYour priorities, side by side
Focus on what changes.
Mark the specifications you care about. Open manufacturer sources for verification scope; fields without citations remain catalog data. Expand notes for other qualifications.
Showing 37 of 37 rows. “Not recorded” does not mean “No”.
Connectivity
- Narwal Freo X Ultra
- Yes
Catalog note
IEEE 802.11b/g/n on 2412-2472 MHz, per the Narwal user manual
- TP-Link Tapo RV30 Max Plus Gen 2
- Yes
- Narwal Freo X Ultra
- No
Catalog note
The manual's radio table lists only the 2.4 GHz band
- TP-Link Tapo RV30 Max Plus Gen 2
- No
- Narwal Freo X Ultra
- Yes
Catalog note
BLE 5.0 on 2402-2480 MHz, per the Narwal user manual
- TP-Link Tapo RV30 Max Plus Gen 2
- Yes
Catalog note
Bluetooth 4.2, used for onboarding only.
- Narwal Freo X Ultra
- No
- TP-Link Tapo RV30 Max Plus Gen 2
- No
- Narwal Freo X Ultra
- No
- TP-Link Tapo RV30 Max Plus Gen 2
- No
- Narwal Freo X Ultra
- No
- TP-Link Tapo RV30 Max Plus Gen 2
- No
Features
- Narwal Freo X Ultra
- Yes
Catalog note
Child Lock is switched on and off from the base station touch panel, which carries its own indicator, per the Narwal user manual
- TP-Link Tapo RV30 Max Plus Gen 2
- Yes
- Narwal Freo X Ultra
- Not applicable / unspecified
- TP-Link Tapo RV30 Max Plus Gen 2
- 3.3L
- Narwal Freo X Ultra
- 58dB
Catalog note
Narwal rates the robot at as low as 58 dB while cleaning
- TP-Link Tapo RV30 Max Plus Gen 2
- 52dB
- Narwal Freo X Ultra
- 1000ml
Catalog note
A 1 L disposable dust bag rides inside the robot, which compresses debris into it for up to 7 weeks
- TP-Link Tapo RV30 Max Plus Gen 2
- 300ml
- Narwal Freo X Ultra
- Yes
Catalog note
The Narwal Freo app follows the robot on the live map and reports the cleaning progress
- TP-Link Tapo RV30 Max Plus Gen 2
- Yes
- Narwal Freo X Ultra
- Yes
Catalog note
Cleaning schedules and per-mode parameters are set in the Narwal Freo app
- TP-Link Tapo RV30 Max Plus Gen 2
- Yes
- Narwal Freo X Ultra
- No
Catalog note
The base station has no dust collection. Narwal contrasts the Freo X Ultra with robots that empty into their station, describing a built-in system that compresses dust into the robot's own disposable bag instead
- TP-Link Tapo RV30 Max Plus Gen 2
- Yes
Manufacturer source
The included compact dock empties the robot dustbin.
TP-Link Tapo RV30 Max Plus Gen 2 manufacturer product page →- Source section
- Gen2 product highlights
- Model
- TP-Link Tapo RV30 Max Plus Gen 2
- Region
- Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
- Firmware
- Not specified by this source
- Checked
The page summary and main text give different suction figures, so this source is not used to verify suction pressure.
Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.
Integrations
- Narwal Freo X Ultra
- Yes
Catalog note
Narwal lists Amazon Alexa voice control for this model
- TP-Link Tapo RV30 Max Plus Gen 2
- Yes
- Narwal Freo X Ultra
- No
Catalog note
Narwal names only Alexa, Google and Siri for this model, Siri running through the Narwal app rather than the Home app, and the robot carries no Matter certification that would open an Apple Home path
- TP-Link Tapo RV30 Max Plus Gen 2
- Yes
Catalog note
Via Matter
- Narwal Freo X Ultra
- Yes
Catalog note
Narwal lists Google voice control for this model
- TP-Link Tapo RV30 Max Plus Gen 2
- Yes
- Narwal Freo X Ultra
- No
Catalog note
The community Narwal integration, the only one that exists, lists the Freo X Ultra as not compatible: this model talks ZeroMQ on port 6789 plus the Tuya cloud instead of the WebSocket protocol the integration drives
- TP-Link Tapo RV30 Max Plus Gen 2
- Yes
Catalog note
Via Matter
- Narwal Freo X Ultra
- No
Catalog note
A search of the CSA certified product database returns only the Narwal Flow and Flow 2, not this model
- TP-Link Tapo RV30 Max Plus Gen 2
- Yes
Catalog note
TP-Link's own datasheet lists the third-party compatibility as Google Assistant, Amazon Alexa+ and Matter, and notes the robot has to be set up in the Tapo app before it is added to a Matter controller. | The CSA certified the Matter build on 10 July 2026 under vendor ID 0x1392 (TP-Link Systems Inc.) and product ID 0x0708, part number RV30 Max Gen2, over Wi-Fi with the Robot Vacuum Cleaner device type.
- Narwal Freo X Ultra
- No
Catalog note
The model is not Matter certified, so it gets no automatic Works with SmartThings path, and Narwal documents no SmartThings account linking
- TP-Link Tapo RV30 Max Plus Gen 2
- Yes
Catalog note
Via Matter
Mopping
- Narwal Freo X Ultra
- Yes
Catalog note
The station meters detergent from its own reservoir into the mop water, and the app decides whether to add it
- TP-Link Tapo RV30 Max Plus Gen 2
- No
- Narwal Freo X Ultra
- Yes
Catalog note
Warm air drying at 40 C (104 F) after the last mopping run
- TP-Link Tapo RV30 Max Plus Gen 2
- No
- Narwal Freo X Ultra
- Yes
Catalog note
Lifts the mop pads 12 mm when it detects carpet
- TP-Link Tapo RV30 Max Plus Gen 2
- No
Catalog note
The robot steers around carpets while mopping instead of lifting the pad.
- Narwal Freo X Ultra
- Yes
Catalog note
The station washes and rinses the mop pads, and cleans its own tray at the same time
- TP-Link Tapo RV30 Max Plus Gen 2
- No
- Narwal Freo X Ultra
- Yes
Catalog note
A bottle of Narwal dedicated detergent ships in the box and slots into the base station
- TP-Link Tapo RV30 Max Plus Gen 2
- No
- Narwal Freo X Ultra
- Yes
Catalog note
Dual Reuleaux triangular mop pads press down with up to 12 N and spin at 180 RPM, with EdgeSwing swinging them out to reach the walls
- TP-Link Tapo RV30 Max Plus Gen 2
- Yes
Manufacturer source
The Gen2 robot supports mopping.
TP-Link Tapo RV30 Max Plus Gen 2 manufacturer product page →- Source section
- Gen2 product highlights
- Model
- TP-Link Tapo RV30 Max Plus Gen 2
- Region
- Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
- Firmware
- Not specified by this source
- Checked
The page summary and main text give different suction figures, so this source is not used to verify suction pressure.
Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.
- Narwal Freo X Ultra
- Not recorded
- TP-Link Tapo RV30 Max Plus Gen 2
- 0.3L
Navigation
- Narwal Freo X Ultra
- Yes
Catalog note
Five infrared ranging and anti-drop sensors on the robot's underside, per the Narwal user manual
- TP-Link Tapo RV30 Max Plus Gen 2
- Yes
- Narwal Freo X Ultra
- Yes
Catalog note
Builds 3D maps that can be edited in the app, and stores up to 4 maps for multi-level homes
- TP-Link Tapo RV30 Max Plus Gen 2
- Yes
Catalog note
3+1 multi-floor maps stored locally.
- Narwal Freo X Ultra
- Laser (LiDAR)
Catalog note
LiDAR SLAM 4.0 gives a 360 degree scan of the room, backed by tri-laser structured light sensors for obstacles
- TP-Link Tapo RV30 Max Plus Gen 2
- Laser (LiDAR)
Catalog note
Next-generation dToF LiDAR for mapping and obstacle avoidance.
- Narwal Freo X Ultra
- Yes
Catalog note
No-go zones are drawn on the map from the Narwal Freo app
- TP-Link Tapo RV30 Max Plus Gen 2
- Yes
- Narwal Freo X Ultra
- Yes
Catalog note
Structured light forward and edge sensors let it recognise objects as small as 1 cm and clean within 5 mm of them
- TP-Link Tapo RV30 Max Plus Gen 2
- Yes
Power
- Narwal Freo X Ultra
- Yes
Catalog note
The robot navigates itself back to the base station when the task ends and charges there, per the Narwal user manual
- TP-Link Tapo RV30 Max Plus Gen 2
- Yes
- Narwal Freo X Ultra
- 210 minutes
Catalog note
Narwal's own comparison table rates the Freo X Ultra at 210 minutes per charge
- TP-Link Tapo RV30 Max Plus Gen 2
- 170 minutes
- Narwal Freo X Ultra
- Not recorded
- TP-Link Tapo RV30 Max Plus Gen 2
- 4 hours
Suction Performance
- Narwal Freo X Ultra
- Yes
Catalog note
An ultrasonic carpet sensor detects pile and lifts the mop pads 12 mm so the robot switches to suction only
- TP-Link Tapo RV30 Max Plus Gen 2
- Yes
- Narwal Freo X Ultra
- Yes
Catalog note
Two side brushes alongside the certified zero-tangling floating roller brush
- TP-Link Tapo RV30 Max Plus Gen 2
- Yes
- Narwal Freo X Ultra
- 8200Pa
- TP-Link Tapo RV30 Max Plus Gen 2
- 13000Pa
| Specification | Narwal Freo X Ultra | TP-Link Tapo RV30 Max Plus Gen 2 |
|---|---|---|
| Connectivity | ||
YesCatalog noteIEEE 802.11b/g/n on 2412-2472 MHz, per the Narwal user manual | Yes | |
NoCatalog noteThe manual's radio table lists only the 2.4 GHz band | No | |
YesCatalog noteBLE 5.0 on 2402-2480 MHz, per the Narwal user manual | YesCatalog noteBluetooth 4.2, used for onboarding only. | |
| No | No | |
| No | No | |
| No | No | |
| Features | ||
YesCatalog noteChild Lock is switched on and off from the base station touch panel, which carries its own indicator, per the Narwal user manual | Yes | |
| Not applicable / unspecified | 3.3L | |
58dBCatalog noteNarwal rates the robot at as low as 58 dB while cleaning | 52dB | |
1000mlCatalog noteA 1 L disposable dust bag rides inside the robot, which compresses debris into it for up to 7 weeks | 300ml | |
YesCatalog noteThe Narwal Freo app follows the robot on the live map and reports the cleaning progress | Yes | |
YesCatalog noteCleaning schedules and per-mode parameters are set in the Narwal Freo app | Yes | |
NoCatalog noteThe base station has no dust collection. Narwal contrasts the Freo X Ultra with robots that empty into their station, describing a built-in system that compresses dust into the robot's own disposable bag instead | YesManufacturer sourceThe included compact dock empties the robot dustbin. TP-Link Tapo RV30 Max Plus Gen 2 manufacturer product page →
The page summary and main text give different suction figures, so this source is not used to verify suction pressure. Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant. | |
| Integrations | ||
YesCatalog noteNarwal lists Amazon Alexa voice control for this model | Yes | |
NoCatalog noteNarwal names only Alexa, Google and Siri for this model, Siri running through the Narwal app rather than the Home app, and the robot carries no Matter certification that would open an Apple Home path | YesCatalog noteVia Matter | |
YesCatalog noteNarwal lists Google voice control for this model | Yes | |
NoCatalog noteThe community Narwal integration, the only one that exists, lists the Freo X Ultra as not compatible: this model talks ZeroMQ on port 6789 plus the Tuya cloud instead of the WebSocket protocol the integration drives | YesCatalog noteVia Matter | |
NoCatalog noteA search of the CSA certified product database returns only the Narwal Flow and Flow 2, not this model | YesCatalog noteTP-Link's own datasheet lists the third-party compatibility as Google Assistant, Amazon Alexa+ and Matter, and notes the robot has to be set up in the Tapo app before it is added to a Matter controller. | The CSA certified the Matter build on 10 July 2026 under vendor ID 0x1392 (TP-Link Systems Inc.) and product ID 0x0708, part number RV30 Max Gen2, over Wi-Fi with the Robot Vacuum Cleaner device type. | |
NoCatalog noteThe model is not Matter certified, so it gets no automatic Works with SmartThings path, and Narwal documents no SmartThings account linking | YesCatalog noteVia Matter | |
| Mopping | ||
YesCatalog noteThe station meters detergent from its own reservoir into the mop water, and the app decides whether to add it | No | |
YesCatalog noteWarm air drying at 40 C (104 F) after the last mopping run | No | |
YesCatalog noteLifts the mop pads 12 mm when it detects carpet | NoCatalog noteThe robot steers around carpets while mopping instead of lifting the pad. | |
YesCatalog noteThe station washes and rinses the mop pads, and cleans its own tray at the same time | No | |
YesCatalog noteA bottle of Narwal dedicated detergent ships in the box and slots into the base station | No | |
YesCatalog noteDual Reuleaux triangular mop pads press down with up to 12 N and spin at 180 RPM, with EdgeSwing swinging them out to reach the walls | YesManufacturer sourceThe Gen2 robot supports mopping. TP-Link Tapo RV30 Max Plus Gen 2 manufacturer product page →
The page summary and main text give different suction figures, so this source is not used to verify suction pressure. Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant. | |
| Not recorded | 0.3L | |
| Navigation | ||
YesCatalog noteFive infrared ranging and anti-drop sensors on the robot's underside, per the Narwal user manual | Yes | |
YesCatalog noteBuilds 3D maps that can be edited in the app, and stores up to 4 maps for multi-level homes | YesCatalog note3+1 multi-floor maps stored locally. | |
Laser (LiDAR)Catalog noteLiDAR SLAM 4.0 gives a 360 degree scan of the room, backed by tri-laser structured light sensors for obstacles | Laser (LiDAR)Catalog noteNext-generation dToF LiDAR for mapping and obstacle avoidance. | |
YesCatalog noteNo-go zones are drawn on the map from the Narwal Freo app | Yes | |
YesCatalog noteStructured light forward and edge sensors let it recognise objects as small as 1 cm and clean within 5 mm of them | Yes | |
| Power | ||
YesCatalog noteThe robot navigates itself back to the base station when the task ends and charges there, per the Narwal user manual | Yes | |
210 minutesCatalog noteNarwal's own comparison table rates the Freo X Ultra at 210 minutes per charge | 170 minutes | |
| Not recorded | 4 hours | |
| Suction Performance | ||
YesCatalog noteAn ultrasonic carpet sensor detects pile and lifts the mop pads 12 mm so the robot switches to suction only | Yes | |
YesCatalog noteTwo side brushes alongside the certified zero-tangling floating roller brush | Yes | |
| 8200Pa | 13000Pa | |
Know what’s behind the comparison.
The table matches specifications by section and field. It preserves notes, separates missing data from explicit “No” values, and keeps qualifications attached to their values. No overall winner is assigned from feature counts.
Read our comparison methodology