The Smart Device Compare comparison

Sonoff Orb Socket Type E vs Sonoff Wi-Fi Smart In-Wall Outlet

Understand the differences. Decide what matters to your home.

Build another comparison →

Before you compare every specification

Key differences between Sonoff Orb Socket Type E and Sonoff Wi-Fi Smart In-Wall Outlet

A summary of selected recorded differences between these wall outlets. Check the full specification table below for details and conditions.

Feature differences among your selected devices
  • On Off Button (features): Sonoff Orb Socket Type E — Yes (A short press on the faceplate button turns the socket on or off; a 5 second hold starts pairing.); Sonoff Wi-Fi Smart In-Wall Outlet — No.
  • Power Off Memory (features): Sonoff Orb Socket Type E — Yes (The 'Power-On State' setting decides how the socket comes back after an outage.); Sonoff Wi-Fi Smart In-Wall Outlet — No.
  • Apple Home (integrations): Sonoff Orb Socket Type E — Yes (Via Matter. SONOFF publishes an 'Add to Apple via Matter' guide for this model.); Sonoff Wi-Fi Smart In-Wall Outlet — No.
  • Matter (integrations): Sonoff Orb Socket Type E — Yes (The product is sold as a Matter over Wi-Fi smart wall socket and SONOFF documents Matter commissioning by QR code.); Sonoff Wi-Fi Smart In-Wall Outlet — No.
Specifications to check side by side
  • Plug Format (outputs): Sonoff Orb Socket Type E — Type E; Sonoff Wi-Fi Smart In-Wall Outlet — Type B.
  • Ac Load Voltage (power): Sonoff Orb Socket Type E — 100-250V; Sonoff Wi-Fi Smart In-Wall Outlet — 120V.
  • Resistive Maximum Load Current (power): Sonoff Orb Socket Type E — 16A; Sonoff Wi-Fi Smart In-Wall Outlet — 15A.
  • Resistive Maximum Load Power (power): Sonoff Orb Socket Type E — 4000W; Sonoff Wi-Fi Smart In-Wall Outlet — 1800W.
Information still to confirm
  • 9 of 36 comparison fields lack a resolved value for at least one selected device. Missing information is not evidence that a feature is absent.
  • Check the full table and manufacturer documentation before ruling out a device.

These observations are derived from recorded catalog data and have not all been independently verified. Confirm details with the manufacturer before purchasing.

Compare capabilities, compatibility and setup requirements.

What the catalog tells us

Understand the tradeoffs.

These counts describe the available data, not a quality score. More features do not automatically make a better device.

8differences with recorded values for every device
9rows with missing or unspecified information

Consider your setup

Apple Home

  • Sonoff Orb Socket Type EYes
  • Sonoff Wi-Fi Smart In-Wall OutletNo

Confirm which features appear in Apple Home and whether extra hardware or a subscription is needed for your intended use.

Inspect the specifications

Consider your setup

Matter

  • Sonoff Orb Socket Type EYes
  • Sonoff Wi-Fi Smart In-Wall OutletNo

Confirm the exact device type and the features exposed in your chosen platform. Protocol support does not establish feature parity across apps.

Inspect the specifications

Your priorities, side by side

Focus on what changes.

Mark the specifications you care about. Open manufacturer sources for verification scope; fields without citations remain catalog data. Expand notes for other qualifications.

Showing 36 of 36 rows. “Not recorded” does not mean “No”.

Connectivity

Sonoff Orb Socket Type E
Yes
Catalog note

IEEE 802.11 b/g/n 2.4GHz.

Sonoff Wi-Fi Smart In-Wall Outlet
Yes
Sonoff Orb Socket Type E
No
Sonoff Wi-Fi Smart In-Wall Outlet
No
Sonoff Orb Socket Type E
No
Sonoff Wi-Fi Smart In-Wall Outlet
No
Sonoff Orb Socket Type E
No
Sonoff Wi-Fi Smart In-Wall Outlet
No
Sonoff Orb Socket Type E
No
Sonoff Wi-Fi Smart In-Wall Outlet
No
Sonoff Orb Socket Type E
No
Sonoff Wi-Fi Smart In-Wall Outlet
No

Features

Sonoff Orb Socket Type E
Yes
Catalog note

The indicator light switches between Auto, Off and Night Mode, with a time window for Night Mode.

Sonoff Wi-Fi Smart In-Wall Outlet
Not recorded
Sonoff Orb Socket Type E
Yes
Catalog note

Schedules, countdown, inch move (auto off after a set duration) and smart scenes, in eWeLink and in every Matter platform SONOFF lists.

Sonoff Wi-Fi Smart In-Wall Outlet
Yes
Sonoff Orb Socket Type E
No
Catalog note

SONOFF's device settings list for this model (sharing, LAN control, overload protection, indicator light, power-on state, notifications, logs) has no button or settings lock.

Sonoff Wi-Fi Smart In-Wall Outlet
Not recorded
Sonoff Orb Socket Type E
Yes
Manufacturer source

Power consumption measurement is provided.

Sonoff Orb Socket Type E — manufacturer product description →
Source section
Product description / feature descriptions
Model
WS01TPE-E
Region
Manufacturer listing for the named model/variant; regional equivalence has not been established
Firmware
Not specified by this source
Checked

Check the specified variant, required hub and installation instructions. Manufacturer claims are not independent performance tests.

Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.

Catalog note

Real-time voltage, current and power, historical energy charts, electricity bill tracking with a custom rate, and data export.

Sonoff Wi-Fi Smart In-Wall Outlet
Yes
Manufacturer source

IW100/IW101 product documentation describes power metering.

Sonoff Wi-Fi Smart In-Wall Outlet — manufacturer product description →
Source section
Product description / feature descriptions
Model
IW100
Region
Manufacturer listing for the named model/variant; regional equivalence has not been established
Firmware
Not specified by this source
Checked

Check the specified variant, required hub and installation instructions. Manufacturer claims are not independent performance tests.

Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.

Sonoff Orb Socket Type E
Yes
Catalog note

A short press on the faceplate button turns the socket on or off; a 5 second hold starts pairing.

Sonoff Wi-Fi Smart In-Wall Outlet
No
Sonoff Orb Socket Type E
Yes
Catalog note

The 'Power-On State' setting decides how the socket comes back after an outage.

Sonoff Wi-Fi Smart In-Wall Outlet
No
Sonoff Orb Socket Type E
Yes
Catalog note

A blue Wi-Fi LED for network state and a red power indicator for the relay state.

Sonoff Wi-Fi Smart In-Wall Outlet
Yes

Integrations

Sonoff Orb Socket Type E
Yes
Catalog note

Via Matter, and also through eWeLink account linking.

Sonoff Wi-Fi Smart In-Wall Outlet
Yes
Sonoff Orb Socket Type E
Yes
Catalog note

Via Matter. SONOFF publishes an 'Add to Apple via Matter' guide for this model.

Sonoff Wi-Fi Smart In-Wall Outlet
No
Sonoff Orb Socket Type E
Yes
Catalog note

Via Matter, and also through eWeLink account linking.

Sonoff Wi-Fi Smart In-Wall Outlet
Yes
Sonoff Orb Socket Type E
Yes
Catalog note

Via Matter. SONOFF publishes an 'Add to Home Assistant via Matter' guide for this model, and lists power and energy monitoring as working there.

Sonoff Wi-Fi Smart In-Wall Outlet
Yes
Sonoff Orb Socket Type E
Yes
Manufacturer source

Matter connectivity is supported.

Sonoff Orb Socket Type E — manufacturer product description →
Source section
Product description / feature descriptions
Model
WS01TPE-E
Region
Manufacturer listing for the named model/variant; regional equivalence has not been established
Firmware
Not specified by this source
Checked

Check the specified variant, required hub and installation instructions. Manufacturer claims are not independent performance tests.

Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.

Catalog note

The product is sold as a Matter over Wi-Fi smart wall socket and SONOFF documents Matter commissioning by QR code.

Sonoff Wi-Fi Smart In-Wall Outlet
No
Sonoff Orb Socket Type E
Yes
Catalog note

Via Matter. SONOFF publishes an 'Add to SmartThings via Matter' guide for this model.

Sonoff Wi-Fi Smart In-Wall Outlet
Yes

Outputs

Sonoff Orb Socket Type E
1
Sonoff Wi-Fi Smart In-Wall Outlet
1
Sonoff Orb Socket Type E
Type E
Sonoff Wi-Fi Smart In-Wall Outlet
Type B
Sonoff Orb Socket Type E
Not applicable / unspecified
Sonoff Wi-Fi Smart In-Wall Outlet
Not applicable / unspecified

Power

Sonoff Orb Socket Type E
100-250V
Sonoff Wi-Fi Smart In-Wall Outlet
120V
Sonoff Orb Socket Type E
Not recorded
Sonoff Wi-Fi Smart In-Wall Outlet
Not recorded
Sonoff Orb Socket Type E
Not recorded
Sonoff Wi-Fi Smart In-Wall Outlet
Not recorded
Sonoff Orb Socket Type E
Not recorded
Sonoff Wi-Fi Smart In-Wall Outlet
Not recorded
Sonoff Orb Socket Type E
Yes
Catalog note

The official product page states the socket takes most resistive loads and small-power inductive loads such as fans, within the 16A (4000W) ceiling.

Sonoff Wi-Fi Smart In-Wall Outlet
Not recorded
Sonoff Orb Socket Type E
Not recorded
Sonoff Wi-Fi Smart In-Wall Outlet
Not recorded
Sonoff Orb Socket Type E
Not recorded
Sonoff Wi-Fi Smart In-Wall Outlet
Not recorded
Sonoff Orb Socket Type E
Yes
Catalog note

The SONOFF help center rates the WS01TPE-E at 100V-250V~ 50/60Hz, 16A max resistive load.

Sonoff Wi-Fi Smart In-Wall Outlet
Yes
Sonoff Orb Socket Type E
16A
Sonoff Wi-Fi Smart In-Wall Outlet
15A
Sonoff Orb Socket Type E
4000W
Sonoff Wi-Fi Smart In-Wall Outlet
1800W

Safety Features

Sonoff Orb Socket Type E
Yes
Catalog note

Overload protection cuts power when the current passes a limit the user sets in the app, up to 16A.

Sonoff Wi-Fi Smart In-Wall Outlet
Yes
Sonoff Orb Socket Type E
No
Catalog note

SONOFF documents a fire-resistant housing but no temperature cut-off: the protections it lists are overload (current, voltage, power) and overcharge.

Sonoff Wi-Fi Smart In-Wall Outlet
No
Sonoff Orb Socket Type E
Yes
Catalog note

Overload protection cuts power when the wattage passes a limit the user sets in the app.

Sonoff Wi-Fi Smart In-Wall Outlet
Yes
Sonoff Orb Socket Type E
Yes
Catalog note

Overload protection cuts power when the voltage passes a limit the user sets in the app.

Sonoff Wi-Fi Smart In-Wall Outlet
Yes
Specifications for Sonoff Orb Socket Type E versus Sonoff Wi-Fi Smart In-Wall Outlet
SpecificationSonoff Orb Socket Type ESonoff Wi-Fi Smart In-Wall Outlet
Connectivity
Yes
Catalog note

IEEE 802.11 b/g/n 2.4GHz.

Yes
NoNo
NoNo
NoNo
NoNo
NoNo
Features
Yes
Catalog note

The indicator light switches between Auto, Off and Night Mode, with a time window for Night Mode.

Not recorded
Yes
Catalog note

Schedules, countdown, inch move (auto off after a set duration) and smart scenes, in eWeLink and in every Matter platform SONOFF lists.

Yes
No
Catalog note

SONOFF's device settings list for this model (sharing, LAN control, overload protection, indicator light, power-on state, notifications, logs) has no button or settings lock.

Not recorded
Yes
Manufacturer source

Power consumption measurement is provided.

Sonoff Orb Socket Type E — manufacturer product description →
Source section
Product description / feature descriptions
Model
WS01TPE-E
Region
Manufacturer listing for the named model/variant; regional equivalence has not been established
Firmware
Not specified by this source
Checked

Check the specified variant, required hub and installation instructions. Manufacturer claims are not independent performance tests.

Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.

Catalog note

Real-time voltage, current and power, historical energy charts, electricity bill tracking with a custom rate, and data export.

Yes
Manufacturer source

IW100/IW101 product documentation describes power metering.

Sonoff Wi-Fi Smart In-Wall Outlet — manufacturer product description →
Source section
Product description / feature descriptions
Model
IW100
Region
Manufacturer listing for the named model/variant; regional equivalence has not been established
Firmware
Not specified by this source
Checked

Check the specified variant, required hub and installation instructions. Manufacturer claims are not independent performance tests.

Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.

Yes
Catalog note

A short press on the faceplate button turns the socket on or off; a 5 second hold starts pairing.

No
Yes
Catalog note

The 'Power-On State' setting decides how the socket comes back after an outage.

No
Yes
Catalog note

A blue Wi-Fi LED for network state and a red power indicator for the relay state.

Yes
Integrations
Yes
Catalog note

Via Matter, and also through eWeLink account linking.

Yes
Yes
Catalog note

Via Matter. SONOFF publishes an 'Add to Apple via Matter' guide for this model.

No
Yes
Catalog note

Via Matter, and also through eWeLink account linking.

Yes
Yes
Catalog note

Via Matter. SONOFF publishes an 'Add to Home Assistant via Matter' guide for this model, and lists power and energy monitoring as working there.

Yes
Yes
Manufacturer source

Matter connectivity is supported.

Sonoff Orb Socket Type E — manufacturer product description →
Source section
Product description / feature descriptions
Model
WS01TPE-E
Region
Manufacturer listing for the named model/variant; regional equivalence has not been established
Firmware
Not specified by this source
Checked

Check the specified variant, required hub and installation instructions. Manufacturer claims are not independent performance tests.

Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.

Catalog note

The product is sold as a Matter over Wi-Fi smart wall socket and SONOFF documents Matter commissioning by QR code.

No
Yes
Catalog note

Via Matter. SONOFF publishes an 'Add to SmartThings via Matter' guide for this model.

Yes
Outputs
11
Type EType B
Not applicable / unspecifiedNot applicable / unspecified
Power
100-250V120V
Not recordedNot recorded
Not recordedNot recorded
Not recordedNot recorded
Yes
Catalog note

The official product page states the socket takes most resistive loads and small-power inductive loads such as fans, within the 16A (4000W) ceiling.

Not recorded
Not recordedNot recorded
Not recordedNot recorded
Yes
Catalog note

The SONOFF help center rates the WS01TPE-E at 100V-250V~ 50/60Hz, 16A max resistive load.

Yes
16A15A
4000W1800W
Safety Features
Yes
Catalog note

Overload protection cuts power when the current passes a limit the user sets in the app, up to 16A.

Yes
No
Catalog note

SONOFF documents a fire-resistant housing but no temperature cut-off: the protections it lists are overload (current, voltage, power) and overcharge.

No
Yes
Catalog note

Overload protection cuts power when the wattage passes a limit the user sets in the app.

Yes
Yes
Catalog note

Overload protection cuts power when the voltage passes a limit the user sets in the app.

Yes

Know what’s behind the comparison.

The table matches specifications by section and field. It preserves notes, separates missing data from explicit “No” values, and keeps qualifications attached to their values. No overall winner is assigned from feature counts.

Read our comparison methodology