The Smart Device Compare comparison

Lutron Caseta Original Smart Dimmer Switch vs Sonoff Orb-ZBDIM Zigbee Dimmer Wall Switch

Understand the differences. Decide what matters to your home.

Build another comparison →

Before you compare every specification

Key differences between Lutron Caseta Original Smart Dimmer Switch and Sonoff Orb-ZBDIM Zigbee Dimmer Wall Switch

A summary of selected recorded differences between these wall switches. Check the full specification table below for details and conditions.

Feature differences among your selected devices
  • Energy Monitoring (features): Lutron Caseta Original Smart Dimmer Switch — No; Sonoff Orb-ZBDIM Zigbee Dimmer Wall Switch — Yes (Power metering shows the lighting circuit's consumption in real time, which the product page presents as "See Your Savings while Dimming".).
  • Inductive Load (power): Lutron Caseta Original Smart Dimmer Switch — Yes (Dimmable LED rated for 120 V~, up to 150 W with LED+ forward-phase dimming); Sonoff Orb-ZBDIM Zigbee Dimmer Wall Switch — No (The load compatibility panel on the product page warns that the dimmer is not suitable for fluorescent lamps, CFLs, LED strips or inductive loads such as motors and fans.).
  • Neutral Required (power): Lutron Caseta Original Smart Dimmer Switch — No (Two-wire dimmer designed for retrofit, so no neutral wire is needed in the wallbox); Sonoff Orb-ZBDIM Zigbee Dimmer Wall Switch — Yes (SONOFF's own FAQ answers it directly: the Orb-ZBDIM requires a neutral wire for proper installation and operation.).
  • Overcurrent Protection (safety features): Lutron Caseta Original Smart Dimmer Switch — No; Sonoff Orb-ZBDIM Zigbee Dimmer Wall Switch — Yes (Overcurrent protection is listed among the switch's built-in safeguards.).
Specifications to check side by side
  • Zigbee (connectivity): Lutron Caseta Original Smart Dimmer Switch — No; Sonoff Orb-ZBDIM Zigbee Dimmer Wall Switch — Zigbee Hub required (Zigbee over IEEE 802.15.4 on an EFR32MG21 MCU. It also acts as a Zigbee router and repeats the mesh for nearby devices, but it still needs a coordinator such as a SONOFF bridge, an iHost, an NSPanel Pro or a USB dongle to join.).
  • Alexa (integrations): Lutron Caseta Original Smart Dimmer Switch — Lutron Hub required (Lutron lists Amazon Alexa among the platforms Caseta works with, through the Lutron Smart Hub); Sonoff Orb-ZBDIM Zigbee Dimmer Wall Switch — Yes (SONOFF's description states the switch works across Home Assistant, Alexa and other smart home platforms through a Zigbee gateway.).
  • Apple Home (integrations): Lutron Caseta Original Smart Dimmer Switch — Lutron Hub required (Lutron states the smart hub itself contains Apple Home technology, so Siri controls the lights once the dimmer is paired to it); Sonoff Orb-ZBDIM Zigbee Dimmer Wall Switch — SONOFF Hub required (The Orb-ZBDIM has no native HomeKit profile. Its product page carries a "Works with Apple Home Via Matter Bridge" section: a SONOFF ZBBridge-U or eWeLink CUBE republishes the switch into Apple Home over Matter.).
  • Google Home (integrations): Lutron Caseta Original Smart Dimmer Switch — Lutron Hub required (Lutron lists Google Assistant among the platforms Caseta works with, through the Lutron Smart Hub); Sonoff Orb-ZBDIM Zigbee Dimmer Wall Switch — Yes (The retail listing is titled "Compatible with Alexa & Google Assistant", and SONOFF's distributor documentation describes setting a brightness percentage by voice through Google Assistant.).
Information still to confirm
  • 7 of 34 comparison fields lack a resolved value for at least one selected device. Missing information is not evidence that a feature is absent.
  • Check the full table and manufacturer documentation before ruling out a device.

These observations are derived from recorded catalog data and have not all been independently verified. Confirm details with the manufacturer before purchasing.

Compare capabilities, compatibility and setup requirements.

What the catalog tells us

Understand the tradeoffs.

These counts describe the available data, not a quality score. More features do not automatically make a better device.

16differences with recorded values for every device
7rows with missing or unspecified information

Consider your setup

Apple Home

  • Lutron Caseta Original Smart Dimmer SwitchLutron Hub required
  • Sonoff Orb-ZBDIM Zigbee Dimmer Wall SwitchSONOFF Hub required

Confirm which features appear in Apple Home and whether extra hardware or a subscription is needed for your intended use.

Inspect the specifications

Consider your setup

Home Assistant

  • Lutron Caseta Original Smart Dimmer SwitchLutron Hub required
  • Sonoff Orb-ZBDIM Zigbee Dimmer Wall SwitchYes

Check the integration method, supported model and firmware. A catalog Yes does not establish local control or official support.

Inspect the specifications

Consider your setup

Matter

  • Lutron Caseta Original Smart Dimmer SwitchNo
  • Sonoff Orb-ZBDIM Zigbee Dimmer Wall SwitchSONOFF Hub required

Confirm the exact device type and the features exposed in your chosen platform. Protocol support does not establish feature parity across apps.

Inspect the specifications

Your priorities, side by side

Focus on what changes.

Mark the specifications you care about. Open manufacturer sources for verification scope; fields without citations remain catalog data. Expand notes for other qualifications.

Showing 34 of 34 rows. “Not recorded” does not mean “No”.

Connectivity

Lutron Caseta Original Smart Dimmer Switch
No
Catalog note

The dimmer talks to the Lutron Smart Hub, Pico remotes and motion sensors over Lutron's own Clear Connect RF technology instead of Wi-Fi, which is why the lights keep responding when the router is down

Sonoff Orb-ZBDIM Zigbee Dimmer Wall Switch
No
Lutron Caseta Original Smart Dimmer Switch
No
Sonoff Orb-ZBDIM Zigbee Dimmer Wall Switch
No
Lutron Caseta Original Smart Dimmer Switch
No
Sonoff Orb-ZBDIM Zigbee Dimmer Wall Switch
No
Lutron Caseta Original Smart Dimmer Switch
No
Sonoff Orb-ZBDIM Zigbee Dimmer Wall Switch
No
Lutron Caseta Original Smart Dimmer Switch
No
Sonoff Orb-ZBDIM Zigbee Dimmer Wall Switch
No
Lutron Caseta Original Smart Dimmer Switch
No
Sonoff Orb-ZBDIM Zigbee Dimmer Wall Switch
Zigbee Hub required
Catalog note

Zigbee over IEEE 802.15.4 on an EFR32MG21 MCU. It also acts as a Zigbee router and repeats the mesh for nearby devices, but it still needs a coordinator such as a SONOFF bridge, an iHost, an NSPanel Pro or a USB dongle to join.

Features

Lutron Caseta Original Smart Dimmer Switch
No
Catalog note

Lutron documents the LED behaviour on this model as fixed, with no brightness setting or off option (the newer Diva line uses an adjustable light bar instead)

Sonoff Orb-ZBDIM Zigbee Dimmer Wall Switch
Not recorded
Lutron Caseta Original Smart Dimmer Switch
Yes
Catalog note

Scenes, schedules, geofencing, Smart Away and timers from the Lutron app, plus up to 10 Pico remotes or motion sensors paired directly to the dimmer

Sonoff Orb-ZBDIM Zigbee Dimmer Wall Switch
Yes
Catalog note

Schedules, timers, preset brightness scenes and cross-platform scene linkage through the eWeLink app or the Zigbee gateway the switch is paired to.

Lutron Caseta Original Smart Dimmer Switch
No
Sonoff Orb-ZBDIM Zigbee Dimmer Wall Switch
Yes
Manufacturer source

Power measurement is provided.

Sonoff Orb-ZBDIM Zigbee Dimmer Wall Switch — manufacturer product description →
Source section
Product description / feature descriptions
Model
MINI-ZBDIM-E
Region
Manufacturer listing for the named model/variant; regional equivalence has not been established
Firmware
Not specified by this source
Checked

Check the specified variant, required hub and installation instructions. Manufacturer claims are not independent performance tests.

Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.

Catalog note

Power metering shows the lighting circuit's consumption in real time, which the product page presents as "See Your Savings while Dimming".

Lutron Caseta Original Smart Dimmer Switch
Yes
Catalog note

Power failure memory: if power is interrupted, the control returns to the level it was set to before the interruption

Sonoff Orb-ZBDIM Zigbee Dimmer Wall Switch
Not recorded
Lutron Caseta Original Smart Dimmer Switch
Yes
Catalog note

Green status LEDs show the load level and glow softly as a night light when the load is off

Sonoff Orb-ZBDIM Zigbee Dimmer Wall Switch
Yes
Catalog note

SONOFF's pairing FAQ describes holding the button until the LED indicator starts blinking rapidly, so the unit carries an indicator for its network state.

Lutron Caseta Original Smart Dimmer Switch
1
Sonoff Orb-ZBDIM Zigbee Dimmer Wall Switch
1
Lutron Caseta Original Smart Dimmer Switch
No
Catalog note

The dimmer is wired to the load it controls; the wire-free half of the system is the separate Pico remote

Sonoff Orb-ZBDIM Zigbee Dimmer Wall Switch
Not recorded

Integrations

Lutron Caseta Original Smart Dimmer Switch
Lutron Hub required
Catalog note

Lutron lists Amazon Alexa among the platforms Caseta works with, through the Lutron Smart Hub

Sonoff Orb-ZBDIM Zigbee Dimmer Wall Switch
Yes
Catalog note

SONOFF's description states the switch works across Home Assistant, Alexa and other smart home platforms through a Zigbee gateway.

Lutron Caseta Original Smart Dimmer Switch
Lutron Hub required
Catalog note

Lutron states the smart hub itself contains Apple Home technology, so Siri controls the lights once the dimmer is paired to it

Sonoff Orb-ZBDIM Zigbee Dimmer Wall Switch
SONOFF Hub required
Catalog note

The Orb-ZBDIM has no native HomeKit profile. Its product page carries a "Works with Apple Home Via Matter Bridge" section: a SONOFF ZBBridge-U or eWeLink CUBE republishes the switch into Apple Home over Matter.

Lutron Caseta Original Smart Dimmer Switch
Lutron Hub required
Catalog note

Lutron lists Google Assistant among the platforms Caseta works with, through the Lutron Smart Hub

Sonoff Orb-ZBDIM Zigbee Dimmer Wall Switch
Yes
Catalog note

The retail listing is titled "Compatible with Alexa & Google Assistant", and SONOFF's distributor documentation describes setting a brightness percentage by voice through Google Assistant.

Lutron Caseta Original Smart Dimmer Switch
Lutron Hub required
Catalog note

The core Lutron Caseta integration talks to the Lutron Caseta Smart Hub (L-BDG2-WH) and exposes wall dimmers as lights

Sonoff Orb-ZBDIM Zigbee Dimmer Wall Switch
Yes
Catalog note

The product page has an "Easily Integrates with Open-Source Platforms" section for Home Assistant through the SONOFF Dongle series, and owners report running the switch under both Zigbee2MQTT and ZHA.

Lutron Caseta Original Smart Dimmer Switch
No
Catalog note

The CSA certified-product database holds no Matter certification for Lutron (only two Zigbee 3.0 Aurora dimmers), and Lutron's own Caseta compatibility page never mentions Matter

Sonoff Orb-ZBDIM Zigbee Dimmer Wall Switch
SONOFF Hub required
Catalog note

The switch itself is Zigbee, not Matter. Its product page documents reaching Matter platforms through a SONOFF Matter bridge, the ZBBridge-U or eWeLink CUBE, and SONOFF sells the Orb-DIM as the native Matter version.

Lutron Caseta Original Smart Dimmer Switch
Lutron Hub required
Catalog note

Lutron publishes a Caseta page for Samsung SmartThings: lights and shades are controlled from the SmartThings app once the Lutron Smart Hub is connected

Sonoff Orb-ZBDIM Zigbee Dimmer Wall Switch
Yes
Catalog note

SONOFF's distributor documentation lists Samsung SmartThings among the supported platforms, and a buyer reports the switch joining a SmartThings hub and appearing as a dimmable light.

Power

Lutron Caseta Original Smart Dimmer Switch
120V
Catalog note

Operating voltage 120 V~ 50/60 Hz

Sonoff Orb-ZBDIM Zigbee Dimmer Wall Switch
220-240V
Manufacturer source

The stated operating voltage is 220–240 V only.

Sonoff Orb-ZBDIM Zigbee Dimmer Wall Switch — manufacturer product description →
Source section
Product description / feature descriptions
Model
MINI-ZBDIM-E
Region
Manufacturer listing for the named model/variant; regional equivalence has not been established
Firmware
Not specified by this source
Checked

Check the specified variant, required hub and installation instructions. Manufacturer claims are not independent performance tests.

Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.

Catalog note

The specification table rates the switch at 220-240V~ 50Hz, and the product description warns that it is a 220-240V only device, so it is not intended for 110-120V wiring.

Lutron Caseta Original Smart Dimmer Switch
Yes
Catalog note

Dimmable CFL up to 150 W, per Lutron's in-wall dimmer specification submittal 369804c

Sonoff Orb-ZBDIM Zigbee Dimmer Wall Switch
Yes
Catalog note

Dimmable LED drivers and dimmable electronic transformers for ELV fixtures are both listed as supported loads.

Lutron Caseta Original Smart Dimmer Switch
Not recorded
Sonoff Orb-ZBDIM Zigbee Dimmer Wall Switch
Not recorded
Lutron Caseta Original Smart Dimmer Switch
150W
Sonoff Orb-ZBDIM Zigbee Dimmer Wall Switch
200W
Catalog note

The product page caps dimmable electronic transformers at 200W and dimmable LED lighting at 200VA.

Lutron Caseta Original Smart Dimmer Switch
Yes
Catalog note

Dimmable LED rated for 120 V~, up to 150 W with LED+ forward-phase dimming

Sonoff Orb-ZBDIM Zigbee Dimmer Wall Switch
No
Catalog note

The load compatibility panel on the product page warns that the dimmer is not suitable for fluorescent lamps, CFLs, LED strips or inductive loads such as motors and fans.

Lutron Caseta Original Smart Dimmer Switch
1.25A
Catalog note

Amazon's Product Information lists the dimmer's current rating as 1.25 A

Sonoff Orb-ZBDIM Zigbee Dimmer Wall Switch
Not applicable / unspecified
Lutron Caseta Original Smart Dimmer Switch
150W
Sonoff Orb-ZBDIM Zigbee Dimmer Wall Switch
Not applicable / unspecified
Lutron Caseta Original Smart Dimmer Switch
No
Catalog note

Two-wire dimmer designed for retrofit, so no neutral wire is needed in the wallbox

Sonoff Orb-ZBDIM Zigbee Dimmer Wall Switch
Yes
Catalog note

SONOFF's own FAQ answers it directly: the Orb-ZBDIM requires a neutral wire for proper installation and operation.

Lutron Caseta Original Smart Dimmer Switch
Yes
Catalog note

Incandescent and halogen loads, 25 W minimum and 600 W maximum when not ganged

Sonoff Orb-ZBDIM Zigbee Dimmer Wall Switch
Yes
Catalog note

Rated for incandescent and halogen bulbs up to 400W each, with leading-edge dimming reserved for legacy fixtures under 100W.

Lutron Caseta Original Smart Dimmer Switch
Not recorded
Sonoff Orb-ZBDIM Zigbee Dimmer Wall Switch
Not recorded
Lutron Caseta Original Smart Dimmer Switch
600W
Sonoff Orb-ZBDIM Zigbee Dimmer Wall Switch
400W
Catalog note

SONOFF's specification table reads "220-240V~ 50Hz 400W Max Resistive load", and the label on the back of the unit repeats the same figure.

Safety Features

Lutron Caseta Original Smart Dimmer Switch
No
Sonoff Orb-ZBDIM Zigbee Dimmer Wall Switch
Yes
Catalog note

Overcurrent protection is listed among the switch's built-in safeguards.

Lutron Caseta Original Smart Dimmer Switch
No
Sonoff Orb-ZBDIM Zigbee Dimmer Wall Switch
Yes
Catalog note

Overheat protection is one of the four safety badges on the product page, and the description says power is disconnected automatically when an abnormality is detected.

Lutron Caseta Original Smart Dimmer Switch
No
Sonoff Orb-ZBDIM Zigbee Dimmer Wall Switch
Yes
Catalog note

Overload protection is listed among the switch's built-in safeguards, alongside overcurrent and overheat.

Lutron Caseta Original Smart Dimmer Switch
No
Sonoff Orb-ZBDIM Zigbee Dimmer Wall Switch
No
Catalog note

SONOFF lists overload, overcurrent and overheat protection for this model and no surge or overvoltage cut-off.

Specifications for Lutron Caseta Original Smart Dimmer Switch versus Sonoff Orb-ZBDIM Zigbee Dimmer Wall Switch
SpecificationLutron Caseta Original Smart Dimmer SwitchSonoff Orb-ZBDIM Zigbee Dimmer Wall Switch
Connectivity
No
Catalog note

The dimmer talks to the Lutron Smart Hub, Pico remotes and motion sensors over Lutron's own Clear Connect RF technology instead of Wi-Fi, which is why the lights keep responding when the router is down

No
NoNo
NoNo
NoNo
NoNo
NoZigbee Hub required
Catalog note

Zigbee over IEEE 802.15.4 on an EFR32MG21 MCU. It also acts as a Zigbee router and repeats the mesh for nearby devices, but it still needs a coordinator such as a SONOFF bridge, an iHost, an NSPanel Pro or a USB dongle to join.

Features
No
Catalog note

Lutron documents the LED behaviour on this model as fixed, with no brightness setting or off option (the newer Diva line uses an adjustable light bar instead)

Not recorded
Yes
Catalog note

Scenes, schedules, geofencing, Smart Away and timers from the Lutron app, plus up to 10 Pico remotes or motion sensors paired directly to the dimmer

Yes
Catalog note

Schedules, timers, preset brightness scenes and cross-platform scene linkage through the eWeLink app or the Zigbee gateway the switch is paired to.

NoYes
Manufacturer source

Power measurement is provided.

Sonoff Orb-ZBDIM Zigbee Dimmer Wall Switch — manufacturer product description →
Source section
Product description / feature descriptions
Model
MINI-ZBDIM-E
Region
Manufacturer listing for the named model/variant; regional equivalence has not been established
Firmware
Not specified by this source
Checked

Check the specified variant, required hub and installation instructions. Manufacturer claims are not independent performance tests.

Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.

Catalog note

Power metering shows the lighting circuit's consumption in real time, which the product page presents as "See Your Savings while Dimming".

Yes
Catalog note

Power failure memory: if power is interrupted, the control returns to the level it was set to before the interruption

Not recorded
Yes
Catalog note

Green status LEDs show the load level and glow softly as a night light when the load is off

Yes
Catalog note

SONOFF's pairing FAQ describes holding the button until the LED indicator starts blinking rapidly, so the unit carries an indicator for its network state.

11
No
Catalog note

The dimmer is wired to the load it controls; the wire-free half of the system is the separate Pico remote

Not recorded
Integrations
Lutron Hub required
Catalog note

Lutron lists Amazon Alexa among the platforms Caseta works with, through the Lutron Smart Hub

Yes
Catalog note

SONOFF's description states the switch works across Home Assistant, Alexa and other smart home platforms through a Zigbee gateway.

Lutron Hub required
Catalog note

Lutron states the smart hub itself contains Apple Home technology, so Siri controls the lights once the dimmer is paired to it

SONOFF Hub required
Catalog note

The Orb-ZBDIM has no native HomeKit profile. Its product page carries a "Works with Apple Home Via Matter Bridge" section: a SONOFF ZBBridge-U or eWeLink CUBE republishes the switch into Apple Home over Matter.

Lutron Hub required
Catalog note

Lutron lists Google Assistant among the platforms Caseta works with, through the Lutron Smart Hub

Yes
Catalog note

The retail listing is titled "Compatible with Alexa & Google Assistant", and SONOFF's distributor documentation describes setting a brightness percentage by voice through Google Assistant.

Lutron Hub required
Catalog note

The core Lutron Caseta integration talks to the Lutron Caseta Smart Hub (L-BDG2-WH) and exposes wall dimmers as lights

Yes
Catalog note

The product page has an "Easily Integrates with Open-Source Platforms" section for Home Assistant through the SONOFF Dongle series, and owners report running the switch under both Zigbee2MQTT and ZHA.

No
Catalog note

The CSA certified-product database holds no Matter certification for Lutron (only two Zigbee 3.0 Aurora dimmers), and Lutron's own Caseta compatibility page never mentions Matter

SONOFF Hub required
Catalog note

The switch itself is Zigbee, not Matter. Its product page documents reaching Matter platforms through a SONOFF Matter bridge, the ZBBridge-U or eWeLink CUBE, and SONOFF sells the Orb-DIM as the native Matter version.

Lutron Hub required
Catalog note

Lutron publishes a Caseta page for Samsung SmartThings: lights and shades are controlled from the SmartThings app once the Lutron Smart Hub is connected

Yes
Catalog note

SONOFF's distributor documentation lists Samsung SmartThings among the supported platforms, and a buyer reports the switch joining a SmartThings hub and appearing as a dimmable light.

Power
120V
Catalog note

Operating voltage 120 V~ 50/60 Hz

220-240V
Manufacturer source

The stated operating voltage is 220–240 V only.

Sonoff Orb-ZBDIM Zigbee Dimmer Wall Switch — manufacturer product description →
Source section
Product description / feature descriptions
Model
MINI-ZBDIM-E
Region
Manufacturer listing for the named model/variant; regional equivalence has not been established
Firmware
Not specified by this source
Checked

Check the specified variant, required hub and installation instructions. Manufacturer claims are not independent performance tests.

Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.

Catalog note

The specification table rates the switch at 220-240V~ 50Hz, and the product description warns that it is a 220-240V only device, so it is not intended for 110-120V wiring.

Yes
Catalog note

Dimmable CFL up to 150 W, per Lutron's in-wall dimmer specification submittal 369804c

Yes
Catalog note

Dimmable LED drivers and dimmable electronic transformers for ELV fixtures are both listed as supported loads.

Not recordedNot recorded
150W200W
Catalog note

The product page caps dimmable electronic transformers at 200W and dimmable LED lighting at 200VA.

Yes
Catalog note

Dimmable LED rated for 120 V~, up to 150 W with LED+ forward-phase dimming

No
Catalog note

The load compatibility panel on the product page warns that the dimmer is not suitable for fluorescent lamps, CFLs, LED strips or inductive loads such as motors and fans.

1.25A
Catalog note

Amazon's Product Information lists the dimmer's current rating as 1.25 A

Not applicable / unspecified
150WNot applicable / unspecified
No
Catalog note

Two-wire dimmer designed for retrofit, so no neutral wire is needed in the wallbox

Yes
Catalog note

SONOFF's own FAQ answers it directly: the Orb-ZBDIM requires a neutral wire for proper installation and operation.

Yes
Catalog note

Incandescent and halogen loads, 25 W minimum and 600 W maximum when not ganged

Yes
Catalog note

Rated for incandescent and halogen bulbs up to 400W each, with leading-edge dimming reserved for legacy fixtures under 100W.

Not recordedNot recorded
600W400W
Catalog note

SONOFF's specification table reads "220-240V~ 50Hz 400W Max Resistive load", and the label on the back of the unit repeats the same figure.

Safety Features
NoYes
Catalog note

Overcurrent protection is listed among the switch's built-in safeguards.

NoYes
Catalog note

Overheat protection is one of the four safety badges on the product page, and the description says power is disconnected automatically when an abnormality is detected.

NoYes
Catalog note

Overload protection is listed among the switch's built-in safeguards, alongside overcurrent and overheat.

NoNo
Catalog note

SONOFF lists overload, overcurrent and overheat protection for this model and no surge or overvoltage cut-off.

Know what’s behind the comparison.

The table matches specifications by section and field. It preserves notes, separates missing data from explicit “No” values, and keeps qualifications attached to their values. No overall winner is assigned from feature counts.

Read our comparison methodology