The Smart Device Compare comparison

Sonoff Orb-ZBDIM Zigbee Dimmer Wall Switch vs TP-Link Kasa HS220

Understand the differences. Decide what matters to your home.

Build another comparison →

Before you compare every specification

Key differences between Sonoff Orb-ZBDIM Zigbee Dimmer Wall Switch and TP-Link Kasa HS220

A summary of selected recorded differences between these wall switches. Check the full specification table below for details and conditions.

Feature differences among your selected devices
  • 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi (connectivity): Sonoff Orb-ZBDIM Zigbee Dimmer Wall Switch — No; TP-Link Kasa HS220 — Yes (IEEE 802.11b/g/n, 2.4GHz 1T1R).
  • Energy Monitoring (features): Sonoff Orb-ZBDIM Zigbee Dimmer Wall Switch — Yes (Power metering shows the lighting circuit's consumption in real time, which the product page presents as "See Your Savings while Dimming".); TP-Link Kasa HS220 — No.
  • Inductive Load (power): Sonoff Orb-ZBDIM Zigbee Dimmer Wall Switch — No (The load compatibility panel on the product page warns that the dimmer is not suitable for fluorescent lamps, CFLs, LED strips or inductive loads such as motors and fans.); TP-Link Kasa HS220 — Yes (Dimmable LED up to 150 W, using leading edge (TRIAC phase cut) dimming).
  • Overcurrent Protection (safety features): Sonoff Orb-ZBDIM Zigbee Dimmer Wall Switch — Yes (Overcurrent protection is listed among the switch's built-in safeguards.); TP-Link Kasa HS220 — No.
Specifications to check side by side
  • Zigbee (connectivity): Sonoff Orb-ZBDIM Zigbee Dimmer Wall Switch — Zigbee Hub required (Zigbee over IEEE 802.15.4 on an EFR32MG21 MCU. It also acts as a Zigbee router and repeats the mesh for nearby devices, but it still needs a coordinator such as a SONOFF bridge, an iHost, an NSPanel Pro or a USB dongle to join.); TP-Link Kasa HS220 — No.
  • Apple Home (integrations): Sonoff Orb-ZBDIM Zigbee Dimmer Wall Switch — SONOFF Hub required (The Orb-ZBDIM has no native HomeKit profile. Its product page carries a "Works with Apple Home Via Matter Bridge" section: a SONOFF ZBBridge-U or eWeLink CUBE republishes the switch into Apple Home over Matter.); TP-Link Kasa HS220 — No (TP-Link's own model comparison lists the HS220 as compatible with Alexa and Google Home only, while its HomeKit dimmer (KS220) is listed as HomeKit/Alexa/Google Home).
  • Matter (integrations): Sonoff Orb-ZBDIM Zigbee Dimmer Wall Switch — SONOFF Hub required (The switch itself is Zigbee, not Matter. Its product page documents reaching Matter platforms through a SONOFF Matter bridge, the ZBBridge-U or eWeLink CUBE, and SONOFF sells the Orb-DIM as the native Matter version.); TP-Link Kasa HS220 — No (TP-Link's Matter compatibility list covers the KS205, KS225, TS15 and TS25 switches, not the HS220).
  • Ac Load Voltage (power): Sonoff Orb-ZBDIM Zigbee Dimmer Wall Switch — 220-240V (The specification table rates the switch at 220-240V~ 50Hz, and the product description warns that it is a 220-240V only device, so it is not intended for 110-120V wiring.); TP-Link Kasa HS220 — 120V (Input voltage 100-120VAC 60Hz).
Information still to confirm
  • 7 of 34 comparison fields lack a resolved value for at least one selected device. Missing information is not evidence that a feature is absent.
  • Check the full table and manufacturer documentation before ruling out a device.

These observations are derived from recorded catalog data and have not all been independently verified. Confirm details with the manufacturer before purchasing.

Compare capabilities, compatibility and setup requirements.

What the catalog tells us

Understand the tradeoffs.

These counts describe the available data, not a quality score. More features do not automatically make a better device.

12differences with recorded values for every device
7rows with missing or unspecified information

Consider your setup

Apple Home

  • Sonoff Orb-ZBDIM Zigbee Dimmer Wall SwitchSONOFF Hub required
  • TP-Link Kasa HS220No

Confirm which features appear in Apple Home and whether extra hardware or a subscription is needed for your intended use.

Inspect the specifications

Consider your setup

Matter

  • Sonoff Orb-ZBDIM Zigbee Dimmer Wall SwitchSONOFF Hub required
  • TP-Link Kasa HS220No

Confirm the exact device type and the features exposed in your chosen platform. Protocol support does not establish feature parity across apps.

Inspect the specifications

Your priorities, side by side

Focus on what changes.

Mark the specifications you care about. Open manufacturer sources for verification scope; fields without citations remain catalog data. Expand notes for other qualifications.

Showing 34 of 34 rows. “Not recorded” does not mean “No”.

Connectivity

Sonoff Orb-ZBDIM Zigbee Dimmer Wall Switch
No
TP-Link Kasa HS220
Yes
Catalog note

IEEE 802.11b/g/n, 2.4GHz 1T1R

Sonoff Orb-ZBDIM Zigbee Dimmer Wall Switch
No
TP-Link Kasa HS220
No
Sonoff Orb-ZBDIM Zigbee Dimmer Wall Switch
No
TP-Link Kasa HS220
No
Sonoff Orb-ZBDIM Zigbee Dimmer Wall Switch
No
TP-Link Kasa HS220
No
Sonoff Orb-ZBDIM Zigbee Dimmer Wall Switch
No
TP-Link Kasa HS220
No
Sonoff Orb-ZBDIM Zigbee Dimmer Wall Switch
Zigbee Hub required
Catalog note

Zigbee over IEEE 802.15.4 on an EFR32MG21 MCU. It also acts as a Zigbee router and repeats the mesh for nearby devices, but it still needs a coordinator such as a SONOFF bridge, an iHost, an NSPanel Pro or a USB dongle to join.

TP-Link Kasa HS220
No

Features

Sonoff Orb-ZBDIM Zigbee Dimmer Wall Switch
Not recorded
TP-Link Kasa HS220
Yes
Catalog note

LED Status is a configurable entry in the Kasa app's Device Settings page

Sonoff Orb-ZBDIM Zigbee Dimmer Wall Switch
Yes
Catalog note

Schedules, timers, preset brightness scenes and cross-platform scene linkage through the eWeLink app or the Zigbee gateway the switch is paired to.

TP-Link Kasa HS220
Yes
Catalog note

Schedules with fade rate, countdown timer, Away Mode, brightness presets and Smart Actions in the Kasa app

Sonoff Orb-ZBDIM Zigbee Dimmer Wall Switch
Yes
Manufacturer source

Power measurement is provided.

Sonoff Orb-ZBDIM Zigbee Dimmer Wall Switch — manufacturer product description →
Source section
Product description / feature descriptions
Model
MINI-ZBDIM-E
Region
Manufacturer listing for the named model/variant; regional equivalence has not been established
Firmware
Not specified by this source
Checked

Check the specified variant, required hub and installation instructions. Manufacturer claims are not independent performance tests.

Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.

Catalog note

Power metering shows the lighting circuit's consumption in real time, which the product page presents as "See Your Savings while Dimming".

TP-Link Kasa HS220
No
Sonoff Orb-ZBDIM Zigbee Dimmer Wall Switch
Not recorded
TP-Link Kasa HS220
No
Catalog note

TP-Link states the default-on option exists in its smart bulbs but not in its plugs or smart switches

Sonoff Orb-ZBDIM Zigbee Dimmer Wall Switch
Yes
Catalog note

SONOFF's pairing FAQ describes holding the button until the LED indicator starts blinking rapidly, so the unit carries an indicator for its network state.

TP-Link Kasa HS220
Yes
Catalog note

A brightness indicator plus two status LEDs that change colour according to the switch state

Sonoff Orb-ZBDIM Zigbee Dimmer Wall Switch
1
TP-Link Kasa HS220
1
Sonoff Orb-ZBDIM Zigbee Dimmer Wall Switch
Not recorded
TP-Link Kasa HS220
No

Integrations

Sonoff Orb-ZBDIM Zigbee Dimmer Wall Switch
Yes
Catalog note

SONOFF's description states the switch works across Home Assistant, Alexa and other smart home platforms through a Zigbee gateway.

TP-Link Kasa HS220
Yes
Sonoff Orb-ZBDIM Zigbee Dimmer Wall Switch
SONOFF Hub required
Catalog note

The Orb-ZBDIM has no native HomeKit profile. Its product page carries a "Works with Apple Home Via Matter Bridge" section: a SONOFF ZBBridge-U or eWeLink CUBE republishes the switch into Apple Home over Matter.

TP-Link Kasa HS220
No
Catalog note

TP-Link's own model comparison lists the HS220 as compatible with Alexa and Google Home only, while its HomeKit dimmer (KS220) is listed as HomeKit/Alexa/Google Home

Sonoff Orb-ZBDIM Zigbee Dimmer Wall Switch
Yes
Catalog note

The retail listing is titled "Compatible with Alexa & Google Assistant", and SONOFF's distributor documentation describes setting a brightness percentage by voice through Google Assistant.

TP-Link Kasa HS220
Yes
Sonoff Orb-ZBDIM Zigbee Dimmer Wall Switch
Yes
Catalog note

The product page has an "Easily Integrates with Open-Source Platforms" section for Home Assistant through the SONOFF Dongle series, and owners report running the switch under both Zigbee2MQTT and ZHA.

TP-Link Kasa HS220
Yes
Catalog note

The official Home Assistant TP-Link integration lists HS220 among its supported Kasa wall switches

Sonoff Orb-ZBDIM Zigbee Dimmer Wall Switch
SONOFF Hub required
Catalog note

The switch itself is Zigbee, not Matter. Its product page documents reaching Matter platforms through a SONOFF Matter bridge, the ZBBridge-U or eWeLink CUBE, and SONOFF sells the Orb-DIM as the native Matter version.

TP-Link Kasa HS220
No
Catalog note

TP-Link's Matter compatibility list covers the KS205, KS225, TS15 and TS25 switches, not the HS220

Sonoff Orb-ZBDIM Zigbee Dimmer Wall Switch
Yes
Catalog note

SONOFF's distributor documentation lists Samsung SmartThings among the supported platforms, and a buyer reports the switch joining a SmartThings hub and appearing as a dimmable light.

TP-Link Kasa HS220
Yes
Catalog note

The HS220 user guide points to Samsung SmartThings under Work with Kasa, and the retail box carries the Works with SmartThings badge

Power

Sonoff Orb-ZBDIM Zigbee Dimmer Wall Switch
220-240V
Manufacturer source

The stated operating voltage is 220–240 V only.

Sonoff Orb-ZBDIM Zigbee Dimmer Wall Switch — manufacturer product description →
Source section
Product description / feature descriptions
Model
MINI-ZBDIM-E
Region
Manufacturer listing for the named model/variant; regional equivalence has not been established
Firmware
Not specified by this source
Checked

Check the specified variant, required hub and installation instructions. Manufacturer claims are not independent performance tests.

Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.

Catalog note

The specification table rates the switch at 220-240V~ 50Hz, and the product description warns that it is a 220-240V only device, so it is not intended for 110-120V wiring.

TP-Link Kasa HS220
120V
Catalog note

Input voltage 100-120VAC 60Hz

Sonoff Orb-ZBDIM Zigbee Dimmer Wall Switch
Yes
Catalog note

Dimmable LED drivers and dimmable electronic transformers for ELV fixtures are both listed as supported loads.

TP-Link Kasa HS220
Yes
Catalog note

Dimmable CFL up to 150 W

Sonoff Orb-ZBDIM Zigbee Dimmer Wall Switch
Not recorded
TP-Link Kasa HS220
Not recorded
Sonoff Orb-ZBDIM Zigbee Dimmer Wall Switch
200W
Catalog note

The product page caps dimmable electronic transformers at 200W and dimmable LED lighting at 200VA.

TP-Link Kasa HS220
150W
Sonoff Orb-ZBDIM Zigbee Dimmer Wall Switch
No
Catalog note

The load compatibility panel on the product page warns that the dimmer is not suitable for fluorescent lamps, CFLs, LED strips or inductive loads such as motors and fans.

TP-Link Kasa HS220
Yes
Catalog note

Dimmable LED up to 150 W, using leading edge (TRIAC phase cut) dimming

Sonoff Orb-ZBDIM Zigbee Dimmer Wall Switch
Not applicable / unspecified
TP-Link Kasa HS220
Not recorded
Sonoff Orb-ZBDIM Zigbee Dimmer Wall Switch
Not applicable / unspecified
TP-Link Kasa HS220
150W
Sonoff Orb-ZBDIM Zigbee Dimmer Wall Switch
Yes
Catalog note

SONOFF's own FAQ answers it directly: the Orb-ZBDIM requires a neutral wire for proper installation and operation.

TP-Link Kasa HS220
Yes
Catalog note

A neutral wire in the wall box is required, and the switch works in single pole wiring only

Sonoff Orb-ZBDIM Zigbee Dimmer Wall Switch
Yes
Catalog note

Rated for incandescent and halogen bulbs up to 400W each, with leading-edge dimming reserved for legacy fixtures under 100W.

TP-Link Kasa HS220
Yes
Catalog note

Rated for 300W incandescent lighting

Sonoff Orb-ZBDIM Zigbee Dimmer Wall Switch
Not recorded
TP-Link Kasa HS220
2.5A
Catalog note

TP-Link's own model comparison lists the HS220 rating as 2.5A/120V

Sonoff Orb-ZBDIM Zigbee Dimmer Wall Switch
400W
Catalog note

SONOFF's specification table reads "220-240V~ 50Hz 400W Max Resistive load", and the label on the back of the unit repeats the same figure.

TP-Link Kasa HS220
300W

Safety Features

Sonoff Orb-ZBDIM Zigbee Dimmer Wall Switch
Yes
Catalog note

Overcurrent protection is listed among the switch's built-in safeguards.

TP-Link Kasa HS220
No
Sonoff Orb-ZBDIM Zigbee Dimmer Wall Switch
Yes
Catalog note

Overheat protection is one of the four safety badges on the product page, and the description says power is disconnected automatically when an abnormality is detected.

TP-Link Kasa HS220
No
Sonoff Orb-ZBDIM Zigbee Dimmer Wall Switch
Yes
Catalog note

Overload protection is listed among the switch's built-in safeguards, alongside overcurrent and overheat.

TP-Link Kasa HS220
No
Sonoff Orb-ZBDIM Zigbee Dimmer Wall Switch
No
Catalog note

SONOFF lists overload, overcurrent and overheat protection for this model and no surge or overvoltage cut-off.

TP-Link Kasa HS220
No
Specifications for Sonoff Orb-ZBDIM Zigbee Dimmer Wall Switch versus TP-Link Kasa HS220
SpecificationSonoff Orb-ZBDIM Zigbee Dimmer Wall SwitchTP-Link Kasa HS220
Connectivity
NoYes
Catalog note

IEEE 802.11b/g/n, 2.4GHz 1T1R

NoNo
NoNo
NoNo
NoNo
Zigbee Hub required
Catalog note

Zigbee over IEEE 802.15.4 on an EFR32MG21 MCU. It also acts as a Zigbee router and repeats the mesh for nearby devices, but it still needs a coordinator such as a SONOFF bridge, an iHost, an NSPanel Pro or a USB dongle to join.

No
Features
Not recordedYes
Catalog note

LED Status is a configurable entry in the Kasa app's Device Settings page

Yes
Catalog note

Schedules, timers, preset brightness scenes and cross-platform scene linkage through the eWeLink app or the Zigbee gateway the switch is paired to.

Yes
Catalog note

Schedules with fade rate, countdown timer, Away Mode, brightness presets and Smart Actions in the Kasa app

Yes
Manufacturer source

Power measurement is provided.

Sonoff Orb-ZBDIM Zigbee Dimmer Wall Switch — manufacturer product description →
Source section
Product description / feature descriptions
Model
MINI-ZBDIM-E
Region
Manufacturer listing for the named model/variant; regional equivalence has not been established
Firmware
Not specified by this source
Checked

Check the specified variant, required hub and installation instructions. Manufacturer claims are not independent performance tests.

Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.

Catalog note

Power metering shows the lighting circuit's consumption in real time, which the product page presents as "See Your Savings while Dimming".

No
Not recordedNo
Catalog note

TP-Link states the default-on option exists in its smart bulbs but not in its plugs or smart switches

Yes
Catalog note

SONOFF's pairing FAQ describes holding the button until the LED indicator starts blinking rapidly, so the unit carries an indicator for its network state.

Yes
Catalog note

A brightness indicator plus two status LEDs that change colour according to the switch state

11
Not recordedNo
Integrations
Yes
Catalog note

SONOFF's description states the switch works across Home Assistant, Alexa and other smart home platforms through a Zigbee gateway.

Yes
SONOFF Hub required
Catalog note

The Orb-ZBDIM has no native HomeKit profile. Its product page carries a "Works with Apple Home Via Matter Bridge" section: a SONOFF ZBBridge-U or eWeLink CUBE republishes the switch into Apple Home over Matter.

No
Catalog note

TP-Link's own model comparison lists the HS220 as compatible with Alexa and Google Home only, while its HomeKit dimmer (KS220) is listed as HomeKit/Alexa/Google Home

Yes
Catalog note

The retail listing is titled "Compatible with Alexa & Google Assistant", and SONOFF's distributor documentation describes setting a brightness percentage by voice through Google Assistant.

Yes
Yes
Catalog note

The product page has an "Easily Integrates with Open-Source Platforms" section for Home Assistant through the SONOFF Dongle series, and owners report running the switch under both Zigbee2MQTT and ZHA.

Yes
Catalog note

The official Home Assistant TP-Link integration lists HS220 among its supported Kasa wall switches

SONOFF Hub required
Catalog note

The switch itself is Zigbee, not Matter. Its product page documents reaching Matter platforms through a SONOFF Matter bridge, the ZBBridge-U or eWeLink CUBE, and SONOFF sells the Orb-DIM as the native Matter version.

No
Catalog note

TP-Link's Matter compatibility list covers the KS205, KS225, TS15 and TS25 switches, not the HS220

Yes
Catalog note

SONOFF's distributor documentation lists Samsung SmartThings among the supported platforms, and a buyer reports the switch joining a SmartThings hub and appearing as a dimmable light.

Yes
Catalog note

The HS220 user guide points to Samsung SmartThings under Work with Kasa, and the retail box carries the Works with SmartThings badge

Power
220-240V
Manufacturer source

The stated operating voltage is 220–240 V only.

Sonoff Orb-ZBDIM Zigbee Dimmer Wall Switch — manufacturer product description →
Source section
Product description / feature descriptions
Model
MINI-ZBDIM-E
Region
Manufacturer listing for the named model/variant; regional equivalence has not been established
Firmware
Not specified by this source
Checked

Check the specified variant, required hub and installation instructions. Manufacturer claims are not independent performance tests.

Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.

Catalog note

The specification table rates the switch at 220-240V~ 50Hz, and the product description warns that it is a 220-240V only device, so it is not intended for 110-120V wiring.

120V
Catalog note

Input voltage 100-120VAC 60Hz

Yes
Catalog note

Dimmable LED drivers and dimmable electronic transformers for ELV fixtures are both listed as supported loads.

Yes
Catalog note

Dimmable CFL up to 150 W

Not recordedNot recorded
200W
Catalog note

The product page caps dimmable electronic transformers at 200W and dimmable LED lighting at 200VA.

150W
No
Catalog note

The load compatibility panel on the product page warns that the dimmer is not suitable for fluorescent lamps, CFLs, LED strips or inductive loads such as motors and fans.

Yes
Catalog note

Dimmable LED up to 150 W, using leading edge (TRIAC phase cut) dimming

Not applicable / unspecifiedNot recorded
Not applicable / unspecified150W
Yes
Catalog note

SONOFF's own FAQ answers it directly: the Orb-ZBDIM requires a neutral wire for proper installation and operation.

Yes
Catalog note

A neutral wire in the wall box is required, and the switch works in single pole wiring only

Yes
Catalog note

Rated for incandescent and halogen bulbs up to 400W each, with leading-edge dimming reserved for legacy fixtures under 100W.

Yes
Catalog note

Rated for 300W incandescent lighting

Not recorded2.5A
Catalog note

TP-Link's own model comparison lists the HS220 rating as 2.5A/120V

400W
Catalog note

SONOFF's specification table reads "220-240V~ 50Hz 400W Max Resistive load", and the label on the back of the unit repeats the same figure.

300W
Safety Features
Yes
Catalog note

Overcurrent protection is listed among the switch's built-in safeguards.

No
Yes
Catalog note

Overheat protection is one of the four safety badges on the product page, and the description says power is disconnected automatically when an abnormality is detected.

No
Yes
Catalog note

Overload protection is listed among the switch's built-in safeguards, alongside overcurrent and overheat.

No
No
Catalog note

SONOFF lists overload, overcurrent and overheat protection for this model and no surge or overvoltage cut-off.

No

Know what’s behind the comparison.

The table matches specifications by section and field. It preserves notes, separates missing data from explicit “No” values, and keeps qualifications attached to their values. No overall winner is assigned from feature counts.

Read our comparison methodology